We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed and Chai Guest House
Ranked #23 of 1,109 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Bed and Chai for 3 weeks in December and had the best time. The area was very space and in close proximity to several markets as well as the metro. The Bed and Chai itself was clean and homey, a fabulous place to come home to each day. Clara, Cora and Madu will make sure you have the best stay and yummy chai every morning. Between the two balconies to watch the chaos that is Delhi and the two kitchen/living spaces, there is plenty of space to spend time outside of your own room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Meegan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 198 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location is great - near M and N block market and centrally located so anything is just a 20 minutes car ride away. The place is wonderful - warm and welcoming, SUPER CLEAN, and surprisingly quiet at night. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who is on a budget and wants a nice and centrally located place to stay. I stayed first in a standard room and then superior room, and both were just great (with attached bathroom). Great for people traveling alone because you get to meet people and have a nice chat over dinner. There are a couple of common rooms and kitchen for making your own meals and save some money while traveling. Much better than booking an anonymous hotel and spending the night watching TV. I will definitely come here on all my next trips to Delhi. Don't hesitate to book this place!!! And the staff is friendly and super helpful. Oh, and the decorations in the rooms and common rooms are so cute and tasteful! I really can't say enough good things about this place!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Crampini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I ended up staying two weeks in Delhi mainly because of how comfortable Bed & Chai was and how wonderful Clara and Cora were. Without a doubt the best hostel experience I've ever had. I stayed in the dorm where the beds are more comfortable than my own bed at home and where a constant stream of interesting travelers came through, mostly staying for just a few days. I took a Hindi course at Zabaan near Kailash Colony market, just a 15 minute walk from the hostel, and took some yoga classes at the Sivananda yoga centre nearby too and it all made a really good experience in Delhi, despite Delhi's many and obvious drawbacks for the as-yet-uninitiated traveler in india that I was and still am.

Room Tip: Go for the dorm if you're traveling alone - really great beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sendos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Bed and Chai.
- Helpful staff
- Very clean hostel
- Good breakfast
- Comfortable rooms
- Hot shower
- Great atmosphere
It truly felt like home.
Thank you!!

PS : the hostel is a bit hard to find, I recommend you to reserve a pick up from the airport!

Laura C.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraaaa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was looking for a nice place that I could call home after busy and crazy days in Delhi, and B&C was just like this. Wonderful people, clean, at a nice neighborhood (far from the main spots, but more calm and peaceful). My special thanks for Madhu, that was more than a employee of the guesthouse - he's just a great guy that will do everything to make you feel home, and that became a very friend of mine.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very clean and welcoming hostel. The staff is really nice and friendly and they try to help you with anything. The only thing you should consider is that it is situated not in the center of Dehli but further outside so you'll always need to use transportation to get to the sights. It's a tad bit expensive for Indian standards but it was definetly worth it. Definetly would recommend it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Libruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was my first trip to India (my first trip to Asia for that matter) and arriving alone in Delhi was rather difficult. My stay at Bed & Chai and the kindness and help of Clara, Cora, and Madhu really helped me. I stayed here 3 times during my 2 month trip in India, every time I was passing through Delhi on my way to another destination I made sure to come relax at Bed&Chai. The place is really small which I find very pleasant, it gives you an opportunity to easily get into contact with other travellers staying there and the wonderful owners and Madhu, the Nepalese guy that works there. The whole place is cleaned every day so it's spotless; cleanest place I've seen in all of India! The breakfast is great; fresh fruits and eggs every morning! The hostel is in a relatively (for Delhi standards) quiet neighbourhood, close to the metro station and markets.

I was staying at Bed&Chai during Holi Festival this year (2013) and the party I was going to was cancelled last minute. Clara & Cora took me with them to the Lodi Gardens to celebrate Holi with them and their French friends which was really lovely. Madhu is also a great guy, very helpful, sweet, and noble. This place may cost a little more than some others in Delhi but it is 100% worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Grace Home
#10 of 1,109 in New Delhi
226 reviews
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,109 in New Delhi
300 reviews
Jugaad Hostels
#1 of 971 in New Delhi
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
#6 of 1,109 in New Delhi
206 reviews
Maya's Nest
#5 of 971 in New Delhi
316 reviews
The Madpackers Hostel
#2 of 971 in New Delhi
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Chai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Chai Guest House

Address: Bed and Chai Guest House Bed And Chai Guest House R - 55 | Second Floor, New Delhi 110048, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,109 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $12 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bed&Chai, a cozy and modern accommodation located in one of the most attractive areas of Delhi, to enjoy the best Chai (Indian tea) of the city.We are two French women who have been living in India for several years. With our experience and numerous trips all over India, we know exactly what level of comfort you need to enjoy your stay in India. We offer several facilities: - Free Wi-Fi - Breakfast included with your stay - Fully-equipped kitchen facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Chai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing