We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“found it overrated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnatic Cafe

Carnatic Cafe
Ranked #45 of 12,552 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“found it overrated.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

i found it to be little hyped.
good's-fresh food ,live cooking.good chutneys, good option for tourist as food is really like home cooked and not spicy.
bad's - inspite of being vegetarian the use of onion ad garlic is extensive. no without onion sambhar. lacks spices. small space not comfy to sit. waiters have no proper dress.

all over rating according to me is 6/10.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank punu_jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    90
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best South Indian food in Delhi”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Loved their dosas, especially the Malleshwaram 18th cross and their almost home made chutneys. For all those who love South Indian food, THIS is the place to eat at when in Delhi :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ragini_Singh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Its authentic karnataka food.
I live it because:
1. Good taste
2.Clean environment
3. Authentic
4. Variety
5. Good service
6. Friendly staff who also have a recommendation

What I do not like:
1. Its a small place, one may feel claustrophobic

Bottom line - I love their food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Very Different - Very Likeable”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A great place to experience South Indian fare, which is so very different to the run of the mill Sagar's. Fantastic food and the numerous dining experiences we have had at this place, we have come out very pleased of choosing to dine here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elite_traveler_927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Food ”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My third visit to the place, really disappointed, terrible service and bad food. The place really disappointed me. My last visit here !!!

Helpful?
Thank doc963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnatic Cafe also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Carnatic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing