We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcome to Delhi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grace Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grace Home
Ranked #9 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
1 review
“warm welcome to Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Grace Home and it was a pleasant beginning and end to my trip in India, thanks to Sanjeev and his family who is extremely helpful and did everything they could to make me feel at home. Good location in quiet residential area with few minutes walk to a metro station. Simple clean comfortable and quiet ac rooms with the access to wifi. Rooftop terrace has nice views. Delicious home cooked breakfasts. And most importantly people who will make you feel a part of a family

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jutaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It's two way -- warm people like you make our experiences equally joyful !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
46
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights early May 2013, paying 2200 INR per night. It is a nice place, but I do not believe it deserves five stars. Some remarks:
- We were given the smallest room of the house, even though several others were free, and even though we had asked for a room with a balcony. The bed is really hard, while the airconditioning is very loud and randomly turns off in the middle of the night (an electricity thing in Delhi). Sleeping without airco was impossible due to the heat at this time of the year, so we had some sleepless nights.
- The metro (Malviya Nagar station) is not SO close. It's about 10 minutes walking (700 meter), along a busy road with dirty sidewalks - but then again this is Delhi so you really can't avoid dirt or traffic. By autorikshaw (tuk-tuk) it is less than 2 minutes (plus 1 minute haggling to get to the price of 20 INR, the fair rate). Regardless, the metro is an absolute recommendation to get around in Delhi!
- The PVR is nice and very close, and has a McDonalds for those who have issues with spices and the questionable hygiene of street food.
- Breakfast was ok, and is prepared almost in front of you so the hygiene is reasonable. Choice between Indian style bread-potato-pancake + yoghurt, or western style omelet and toast + jam, with coffee, tea or filtered (reverse osmosis) tap water.
- The possibility to cook your own food in the upper floor kitchen is a bit of a joke, as the kitchens lack basic utensils, such as pots, pans, fork, knife, glasses, etc. You can of course ask for these things, and there is a microwave and fridge too.
- The family living in the guest house are nice and welcoming hosts. As Sanjeev was away during our stay, his elderly mother helped us to arrange a daytrip taxi to Agra, apparently using one of her contacts. Maybe we were just unlucky, but for 4500 INR we got treated to a tiny Tata Indigo and an incompetent driver who picked us up half an hour late. About 40km before Agra the car stalled and broke down, in the middle of the empty Yamuna Expressway in scorching 45° heat. Cause: the driver had forgotten to put gas in the tank. After the highway service filled the tank and repaired the car, we reached Agra, where the driver seemed wilfully ignorant of any of the sights, attempting to convince us to go home immediately after seeing the Taj Mahal. We could easily have purchased this kind of service for half the price on makemytrip.
- Two other taxis we took from the guest house were ok, but also a bit overpriced (compared to the prices of the prepaid taxi counters at the station and the airport).

In conclusion, the guest house is a good place to sleep in a nice area of Delhi, but it has some problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hagnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sanjeev and his mother are sweethearts that will make sure you have all you need in that home-like little hotel. Special mention to the delicious breakfast served in their own kitchen to all their guests in generous portions under grand-ma's supervision.

However, rooms are small and some are nicer than others. Each floor has a common kitchen and a living room decorated with taste, to make guests feel a little bit more at home and offer them the possibility to cook their own food. also a roof-terrace for those who want to smoke or have a drink (beer allowed :-)).

Definitely a good option if you are on a budget yet want calm in Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louzdelaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thankyou & it was equally rewarding for us to experience your warmth !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want a warm and relaxed experience in a true family environment out of the mayhem of the city, this is your place. Sanjeev, his mother, and two of his daughters live together in a three (maybe four...) story apartment complex in a middle class neighborhood if South Delhi. They are a more affluent and extremely well-educated and well-traveled family. It is extremely comfortable with plenty of quiet sitting areas, wifi, kitchen areas for guest use - and, you eat breakfast with the family. It is not decorated like a boutique hotel - more simple, a family home. The home is super close to the metro, a very convenient and cheap way to get around.

I was just there from April 18 - 22. I must say that as a single woman traveler coming to Asia for the first time, I was apprehensive. Well before coming, I had communicated via email with Sanjeev. His humor, kindness, and assurances about general safety in India (while giving me helpful tips once there), set my mind at ease. He even arranged a private taxi to pick me up at the airport (even though their driver was in vacation) for just slightly more than the prepaid taxi (500 rupees), which is quite a bit less than what most other accommodations charge.

The kindness this family showed beyond this was so wonderful. They helped me get set up with an Indian cell phone (not always quick and easy), invited me sometimes for lunch and dinner, brought me to have snacks at a nearby party, invited me to watch Indian soaps, gave me plenty of advice about sightseeing and
shopping, etc. They are very genuine and spiritual people, giving from their hearts. And, they've continued to check up on me via text as I've traveled around.

This introduction to the kindness of Indian people was better than I
imagined. And...they have the sweetest dog if you're an animal lover. In Delhi you will want somewhere peaceful to return to at night. This will offer peace while being affordable and close enough to the action. You'll be content.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Beauty lies in the eyes of the be-holder -- so equally rewarding for us to experience wonderful people like you ... together we lift humanity & Celebrate Life :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had initially arrived in Delhi four weeks before,to be shepherded into Parganj, the squalid centre of the City, noisy,overcrowded and very very dirty, which made me immediately want to go home again. So, after travelling for three weeks we decided that we should try and find a nice place for our last night in India and booked ahead at Grace Home, ..phew...thank you,what a difference!. The apartments are in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle but within a couple of minutes of the tube and a really nice shopping centre. We went to the nearby garden of five senses which was Ok, but had previously been to Lodi gardens which is really chilled and amazing, a great way to spend a hot day,walking through the gardens admiring the Moghul tombs.
Sanjeev and family were lovely, they took great care of us and gave us a lovely stay in a clean and quiet apartment at the top of the building, nice balcony and views over the city rooftops, hot water in the bathroom and cold filtered drinking water in the fridge,if i had known about this place before we would have had a few days there before heading out into the East, as it was it was such an oasis to return to after weeks of hard work and poor sanitation in Bihar. I guess it is quite expensive by indian standards, but I would happily pay for a few days there again just for a sane bolthole away from the sheer madness of the City. They were also very well traveled and helpful with any questions we had about getting around etc.
Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyebee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
thankyou & equally rewarding for us to experience loving persons like you ! Celebrate humanity ! Celebrate life !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The best part of this homestay is its location. It's a short walk from the Saket metro station. The neighborhood is clean and away from the chais of the bug city. The owners welcomed us with an Indian breakfast. They also went out of their way to call a taxi to pick us up at 2 am for our early morning flight. I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Our sincere desire is that "guests" feel at home & be treated as family .... & glad if you felt that way ... Compliments to loving persons like you aswell .. many thanks for caring to write a review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My son and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at Grace Home. Sanjeev and his mom are so kind and welcoming! I was a little unwell and they were very concerned and offered me some home made remedies! When in Delhi, stay nowhere else but @ Grace Home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thankyou for caring to write a review -- it's equally rewarding for us to experience warm persons like you ! Celeberate Life !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#16 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tree Of Life
Tree Of Life
#5 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#3 of 1,049 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Home

Property: Grace Home
Address: D - 182 | (near PVR), New Delhi 110017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in lovely residential area of South of New Delhi. Safe/ quiet / treelined / parks / clean. The property is a four floor house with terrace garden. Ground & First floor are occupied by the family of your host (Doctor - engineer Couple widely travelled internationally); other floors + terrace garden is for guests. Each floor has a conference lounge + a furnished kitchen + washing mc / ironing facility. All cooking is by an Indian well trained cook. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing