We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family comfort in a big busy city”
Review of Grace Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grace Home
Ranked #9 of 1,095 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family comfort in a big busy city”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After experience gained through months of travelling my friend and I knew we wanted a homestay for our last few days in India! After a recommendation from another traveller we sought out Grace Home, and we were not disappointed!

Our room was on the top floor (not great for dragging heavy bags) and although it was quite small you have the rare luxury at Grace Home of having a nice kitchen and lounge space to use. Everything was very clean with plenty of hot water, towels, blankets (believe me you will need blankets if visiting there in December!) etc.

All three generations of the family were so kind, helpful and informative I only wish we had met them earlier! They are happy to give you advice on where to go, what to do, how to get there and will organise your transport to places too. These are the benefits of staying with a family rather than in a hotel. A hotel certainly wouldn't care about you enough to ask if you would let them know when you arrived home each night so they knew you were safe!

The breakfasts were delicious and HUGE, perfect to enjoy in a wonderful friendly atmosphere with the other guests and the family.

If I return to Delhi there is no doubt I will stay at Grace again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiddyKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It's equally enriching for us to experience nice people like you ... & Celebrate Cultures/ Mankind & Life !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    34
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
51
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The guest house location is one of its strongest feature. You can get to all the major tourist locatings within 30 mins by metro, even a movie theater, restaurants and the mall are located within walking distance. The rooms are clean, compact and very quite. They have an attached bathroom with water heaters. A lot of guest houses might have the above features, but this one has another feature and that is the Nagpal family who run the guest house. They make you feel like a part of their family and take very good care of you.
Overall I would highly recommend staying at this guest house if you are in Delhi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at Grace Home for a week while on a work trip in Delhi. The house is an excellent base and a wonderful place to come home to. I was very well cared for by the family and they even looked after me when i was sick! They helped me organise taxis when i needed it and gave me clear direcitons on how to use public transport. I will stay at Grace Home again when I return to Delhi. I highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Meeting people from different cultures builds respect for Mankind & helps us too to "Celebrate Life" -- thank you for your review & we'll work for improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Five years ago we stayed in a grotty hotel in Connaught place. Grace home was as far removed from this as we could imagine.
We got a Delhi police pre paid taxi from the airport (300Rs) and were welcomed very warmly.
Our room was small but very comfortable with tv, hot water and shared use of kitchen and lounge.
The staff and owners were more like family and nothing was too much trouble. They gave excellent advice on what to see and how to get there. Saket metro is a 5 min walk away and very cheap/convenient way to get around.
PVR centre opposite has lots of places to eat.
The Indian breakfast was superb and just kept on coming!!!
Fantastic place to stay our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eblair80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

More than the facilities which are great value... if you have the opportunity to stay at Grace Home for an extended period of time as have my wife and I, you truly become extended family. The Nagpal family have shared so much love with us in so many intangible ways. They are good people. We've made more friends for life :0)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacsonra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thankyou Cara & Rod -- your stay was mutally rewarding -- you are blessed to be doing good work for Humanity -- keep going :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a week of work to do in Delhi, I needed somewhere to stay that was peaceful, where I could catch up on the NZ workday in the evening so needed a good wifi connection. Grace Home was perfect. Close to buses and Metro, malls and movie theater. Nice quiet safe area. Lovely generous hosts. Commuted each day to RK Puram on the host's bicycle, excellent! Can't decide which was best, the wonderful Indian cooking at each meal time or sitting on the roof top garden with a cold beer watching the sun go down after a hard pedal home. Had a wonderful time, highly recommend you stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Barter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkina Faso
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I decided to stay here because of the location, and the fact that it was substantialy cheaper than other guest houses in the same area. I was initially somewhat dubious, since all (apart from 1 a couple of years ago) of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor came from people who had only reviewed one property - but now I see that they must have been legit.

Sanjeev and his mother Pritam (as well as the rest of the family) were excellent hosts! I took a prepaid taxi from the Airport and the driver got lost, but Pritam stayed on the phone with him until he reached the front door. They also invited me to eat meals with them, and breakfast was taken downstairs with the family rather than alone in the bedroom.

This is a four storey house - the ground level and first floor are occupied by the family, and the second and third floor contain guest rooms. The rooms were not brand new but were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Some rooms have private balconies, and each floor has a common balcony/sitting area (with an outside fan to keep cool and keep the mosquitoes away!). The A/C worked well and the shower was new, and there's satellite TV and decent Wi-Fi. There's also a nice rooftop terrace with views of Qutub Minar. The street, despite being so close to PVR, is very quiet - I didn't even hear any car horns which is pretty amazing for India!

Saket is an affluent suburb of South Delhi and feels very safe to walk around - there's no touts or scam artists around. This was a very welcome respite after walking around Old Delhi! The guest house is a very close walk to PVR which is a cinema complex with a lot of restaurants built around it. There are a mixture of decent restaurants around - including Indian, Italian, Lebanese and Chinese... but my favourite was the chaat stall opposite the convenience store! It's a 30 rupee ride (or 10-15 minute walk) to the big shopping malls, if you're into that kind of thing...

It's also a very quick walk to the Saket metro station - which was another deciding factor for me as the metro is a very fast, convenient way to get around Delhi. There's no need to get stuck in traffic and/or ripped off by taxi drivers. It takes about 25 minutes to reach the touristy stuff like Connaught Place (aka Rajiv Chowk) and Old Delhi. It's also very close (3 metro stops or an auto-rickshaw ride) to the Hauz Khas village, which is apparently the "Bohemian" area of Delhi.

Do away with the cheap hotels in dirty backpacker ghettos (or expensive hotels in semi-dirty areas) and stay here - you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Some rooms have private balconies for no extra cost (subject to availability)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev n, Owner at Grace Home, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Frequent traveller ( 65 reviews) -- good words from you certainly give us the extra pep to try do even better for our "guests" -- whom we prefer to call "family" . Thanks for your concern & care to give us some suggestions for improvement -- which really cherish & hope many others care to feed back . Wishing you safe journeys ahead -- you are really blessed to experience so many countries which allows such people to appreciate mankind & beautiful things in various cultures around the World.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,095 in New Delhi
285 reviews
Colonel's Retreat
#2 of 1,095 in New Delhi
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 1,095 in New Delhi
375 reviews
Tree Of Life
#5 of 1,095 in New Delhi
428 reviews
Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
#6 of 1,095 in New Delhi
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Home

Property: Grace Home
Address: D - 182 | (near PVR), New Delhi 110017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,095 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in lovely residential area of South of New Delhi. Safe/ quiet / treelined / parks / clean. The property is a four floor house with terrace garden. Ground & First floor are occupied by the family of your host (Doctor - engineer Couple widely travelled internationally); other floors + terrace garden is for guests. Each floor has a conference lounge + a furnished kitchen + washing mc / ironing facility. All cooking is by an Indian well trained cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grace Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing