We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changing heart of a city” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Connaught Place

Connaught Place
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.22*
and up
Connaught Place Tour Including Janpath Market and a Dosa at Saravana Bhavan
Ranked #33 of 412 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Changing heart of a city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Connaught Place was the centre of town where, a decade ago, people came to walk, shop, eat and dawdle. Completely changed now. Difficult to walk - fast-moving cars everywhere. More office than shops. And no dawdlers. But still a must-see for a Delhi visitor because of its architectural character.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alive_and_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    793
    403
    135
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fascinating area with excellent resautrants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Connaught Place is like some magnet. No one can resist its charms, and the excellent restaurants in the area. Simply watching Delhi passing by on buses, cares, motorbikes, scooters, rickshaws, or simply on foot, is just amazing. I had the opportunity to be there during a monsoonal downpour at 4pm in the afternoon, and see the water getting to half a meter deep all around the Place... Fascinating! Then there's the food. Pick any restaurant, almost. It will be top enjoyment.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yakshaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mostly Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I think the marble and the shiny windows of shops like Nike and Body shop are enough to dazzle most people, but I am of the opinion that this place is largely overrated. The whole place is under construction of some sort, it is as dirty as any part of Delhi, there are people living in the walkways all around, there are still huge piles of rotting stinking... godknowswhat, stray dogs, touts and various pesterers, human effluence and the traffic around the outer ringroad is extra riotous. Seeing a Levi and Nike store just doesn't float my boat that much.

The inner circle and park are rather nice, and if you can find a rooftop to get away from the madness it is a good view to enjoy. That said, we had cocktails on the rooftop of QBA bar which set us back about £10 a peice!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sty1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

CP has been soo beautiful...but now for a few years with all he Renovation work happening, it has lost its beauty and charm...But its a shoppers paradise with flea maekets like Janpath , excellent estuarants in the inner circle and all state emporia just on the Baba kharag sigh marg.. i still love it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anjali40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Amazing Connaught Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

On my visit to Delhi, I had been recommended to go to Connaught Place. It is located in the heart of the city and was easily accesible with the prompt Metro service. It's a great place to spend your entire day as there is a variety of things to do there! The restaurants were great, I would suggest TAO located in E block- the food and ambience was unmatched. There are a wide selection of stores located in and around CP that would satisfy the need of every shopper! There is a mixed crowd of tourists as well as corporates and students. Connaught Place was an awesome experience and I would highly recommend it to all.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connaught Place also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Connaught Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing