We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“must visit”

Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan)
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Private Day Tour of Delhi's Grand Temples
Ranked #22 of 416 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

a must visit location at delhi. sheer splendor of the place is worth a trip. visit with family or solo. very well maintained

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    386
    128
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple, poor upkeep of the grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I remember Birla Mandir to be a place where even our parents as kids used to go for worship and fun, as did we - the institution was a must-visit place earlier.

What we saw this time when we took our own kids there was sheer disappointment. We first went behind the main temple for the kids to run around, go into those caves and up those fountains and steps, etc. - the entire place has been cordoned off for no apparent reason, there was no civil work in sight. The place was enshrouded in thick dust all around, the water channels were dry and dirty, and you didn't need to think twice before realizing you can't sit anywhere. We crossed the barricades just like all the others to reach the animal statues and such, stayed maybe for 15 minutes before deciding to go into the temple for the evening aarti.

The aarti was nice, temple clean. You can't carry footwear/ cameras/ phones etc. inside, the temple has provided for lockers outside for safe-keeping. It was nice being inside the temple for until as long as one wants, before you make your way to the outside, collect your belongings and run for the ice-cream stalls!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NisheethSrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellence redefined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent art work on stones. A very good place to visit especially for the religious people. Here you can feel the rich heritage of Hindu religion.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANIL_KUMAR_GUPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice looking temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The temple was nice colorful and pretty looking from our view in the outside. we did not get a chance to go inside so I dont have really much to say, but for people visiting Delhi it is worth visiting the temple since this is one of the famous area to see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lolita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“The Best Birla Mandir”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This an inspiring very clean temple with marble stairs,wall inscriptions and scriptures as well as shrines. It has an imposing frontage,gracious attendants and a very good shop.A great place to get upto date with the myriad of Hindu gods and stories..well worth
the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya_vyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan) also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing