We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #73 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at this property twice. The first time we had a lovely albeit small room on the first floor. It had a window with a view into the garden. To our horror the room we were given upon our return had no natural light. The "window" looked out onto a wall. To see in the room I had to ask for an additional lamp to be brought in. I was told we could have a different room the following day. That room also had no natural light! And inadequate lighting. To the credit of the staff they finally moved us to a suite which did have Windows and natural light although again the lighting in the room was poor. The staff kept saying the rooms had no Windows. The owners of this hotel should amend their website so that the fact that some of the rooms have no natural light is made clear. As things stand at present the website is misleading and would open the hotel to legal action in countries with consumer protection legislation. I would never have returned to the hotel had I been aware I might be placed in a windowless hole. For a hotel that charges the rates it does those rooms are a disgrace. The other issue is the lack of free wireless internet. If you pay you can only connect one device. On the positive side the location is nice as is the decor. The staff are pleasant although the wait staff could not answer questions about the wine. The notion of sweetness and dryness seemed alien. Some people may find the noise from the trains and nearby flyover disturbing. The food in the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Make sure it has natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pashmina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Manor is decorated in a modern, clean style. Everything in our room looked new and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower. The staff was very nice and helpful and there were treats including tea which was very nice after a long flight. The hotel was also very quiet when we were there.

The highlight of the stay, however, was the hotel restaurant. We ordered the tasting menu and it was divine! Very light, healthy and tasty. Some of our friends who live in Delhi met us at the restaurant and also confirmed its excellent reputation with the locals. The restaurant is also decorated in a modern design and was very comfortable and pleasant for dining and conversation. The staff was also excellent. The meal was expensive by Indian (but not western) standards but well worth it!!

The only word of caution is budgeting time for the traffic in Delhi. We took a taxi from the airport and the driver had trouble finding the place (I assume because it was outside of his neck of the woods--not that there are any woods left in Delhi). We had printed out the directions from the hotel and I had google map directions so we were able to help direct the driver to enter the right residential area, and then he asked some neighbors until we arrived at The Manor. Printing out directions and having the phone number handy would be a good idea if you are coming by random cab.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaturePark_ArchSites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review The Manor.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed dining at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is very charming, with nice details everywhere and situated in a quiet and safe residential area, with a garden and a big terrace.
But it took me 1 hour 30 min. from the airport and cost me 1400,- Rs (BOTH WAYS)

And this brings me to what annoys me = they are overpriced with everything!

The Standard-Room is nice but too small and too dark for the price I had to pay.

Before you confirm your booking, you must be aware that they will add 32.28% service charges, tax, … !!

The meals are also expensive but taste very good.
And you have to know that there is no chance to eat outside in the neighborhood.

The breakfast is only OK, with jam and butter in little plastic sachets, which I really not like at all!

AND, you have to pay for the WiFi and it is also totally overpriced and should be free in a hotel of this price.

Last but not least:
I had a good massage and the little Spa is nice and clean and all the hotel-staff is professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Not Ro.No. 11 because it is noisy from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Manor. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We regret that you found the wifi charges expensive, which has been shared with our management. However, we would like to mention that a lot of thought has gone into deciding the charges for the amenities offered and we have tried our best to keep it reasonable compared to other similar establishments.

Also, your feedback regarding the packaged condiments has been noted and our team will be looking into it.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

To find peace in this busy city is blissful. We were greeted like lost friends. Dinner was out of this world, especially the Chef's tasting menu. Our only disappointment was breakfast which we found lacked choice. The rooms were comfortable with very well equipped bathrooms.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms can be affected by guests leaving the restaurant and we did hear the trains. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 252Helen_F_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Manor!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your meal at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation. In addition, your feedback regarding the breakfast menu has been shared with our Chef, who regrets that it was not upto your expectations and would like to assure you that he would be looking into it.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Delhi.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in the manor back in November and I am rather ashamed that it has taken me so long to write a review. The hotel is - as many have already pointed out - a wonderful oasis of quiet in the chaos of Delhi. Rather than sing its many virtues (rooms and food are wonderful) I wanted to focus on the amazing staff..... Because unfortunately for me I ended up only staying one night as I was hospitalized and spent my time in ICU. My partner however had to extend his stay for 3 weeks at the hotel. In this time he stayed in almost every room with the staff finding spaces in between their bookings to allow him to remain in one place. They were incredibly caring, helping him wherever they could. I think they were truly concerned how we were both faring. Now hopefully no one else will have to go through this - but you can take away a sense of what a decent caring compassionate hotel this is.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

When you are about to enter the hotel you have no idea what it could look like and what warmth it can display, specially during the night hours. The lobby will just accommodate you while you are checking in. It has only 14 rooms, but with cosy atmosphere, and soothing ambiance. Go for the rooms with balcony. It will make your evenings great. Standard rooms are without balcony and are relatively small. Meals are little expensive, but claims to give rich culinary experience.`It is purely a South Delhi hotel ( conveniently located ), but do not expect any closeness with Conaught Place.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony like space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Everything perfect a lovely hotel. The food at this hotel was brilliant, not cheap compared with other Delhi prices but well worth it. It's worth staying at the hotel just for the food. Staff at the hotel very friendly and made our stay great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletch010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Shanti Home
#4 of 777 in New Delhi
1,164 reviews
Maidens Hotel
#9 of 777 in New Delhi
1,197 reviews
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#67 of 777 in New Delhi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nizamuddin
Devna
Devna
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
298 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#16 of 777 in New Delhi
225 reviews
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 777 in New Delhi
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony West, New Delhi 110065, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#40 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#72 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $128 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing