We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dramatic experience”
Review of Hotel Monarch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monarch
Ranked #729 of 1,134 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I spent 2,000 rupees to have a bed since 5AM to 10AM after being cheated about transfer from airport (nobody came) and waited for a couple of hours on a dirty couch to obtain this room available even if I obviously booked it for the whole night. No credit cards accepted. No running water for some hours.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giuseppe_Mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one evening. The place was dirty: roaches and broken glass under the bed.

Most of the staff can not speak English.

We were taken on a city tour which the hotel arranged. We saw none of the promised activities (closed, or not time according to the driver), but we were forced to go shopping at specific show and dine a specific restaurants. The driver couldn't speak English which did not help.

The place is cheap and close to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikusPrinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booking agents showed this hotel as 2 star hotel. i was attracted by the price. But i had a horrible time there except for the manager. They have AC in the rooms but always kept switch off, they have only one person who is sweeper, cook, room attendant, etc. They say they offer complementary breakfast but in my seven days stay (I had to stay so long because payment was made in advance & they wont refund) I took breakfast only once which was horrible. They are type of hotel who stand on the street & lure the innocent customers offering very low price in name of discount. They offer their rooms at price as low as 500/- which was booked by me at 1730/- YUK!!!! If you dont believe me just try for yourself!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bopek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Recently, I had to travel to Delhi for a short meeting and I needed a hotel for just 7 hrs. I didnt want to pay lot for just 7 hrs. I wanted the hotel near the airport. The Monarch hotel fulfilled it all. The was room service even late night food. Its a renovated hotel. Best for short stay and backpacker.

I enjoyed a wonder, a peacock knocked my door to wake me up.

Room Tip: Take the a/c room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErnestJeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

this hotel is small compare to otherhotels in mahipalpur but its great , price are very comfortable and rooms are fantastic , you can not find any hotels which have clear view of the city , from this hotel balcony you can see very quite chirpping of birds and green trees .

its not a luxury hotels but is great for short stay in delhi .

Room Tip: take room with balcony which have amazing view and very quite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capricon1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

On my first trip to delhi, heard so much about con artist but this hotel changed my opinion about delhi. Following the directions, its very easy to reach. Very close to airport. The hotel room is clean and the staff is very helpful and courteous. The service is very fast and got everything that was promised.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed there in the month of May 2013. I was overwhelmed by the service of the Hotel. Mr Hari Shankar Jah, the owner, was very friendly. Even the Manager, Mr. Ajay was very nice spoken and provided a brilliant service. All the aminities were available in the hotel. The staffs were also very good. They even run their own Tours and Travels business and arrange for the same at a very reasonable budget. So if you are planning to go for a trip out of Delhi then they will do that in a matter of seconds. The cost of the rooms, according to the large rooms, are very reasonable. Delhi Arport is very near. Staying there was a very good experience for me. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank vishalr555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 733 in New Delhi
782 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 733 in New Delhi
2,990 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 733 in New Delhi
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 733 in New Delhi
4,136 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 733 in New Delhi
1,748 reviews
Hotel Shree Ram Deluxe
#369 of 1,134 in New Delhi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monarch

Address: 3 Road No 2, New Delhi 110049, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #729 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $11 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monarch 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing