We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”
Review of Humayun's Tomb

Humayun's Tomb
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Tour: Different Moods and Modes of Delhi
Ranked #4 of 422 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This tomb, built in 1570, is of particular cultural significance as it was the first garden-tomb on the Indian subcontinent. It inspired several major architectural innovations, culminating in the construction of the Taj Mahal and many other Mughal architecture and garden complexes in India.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Never been here before, Anu, our guide said I would like it and he wasn't wrong, it's fantastic! Trying to work out the water system must have been a nightmare

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John from sunny Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,168
    2,715
    429
    45
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A quiet, serene place to visit. Beautiful reflection ponds and shady trees. Nice example of early Mughal architecture.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Tomb dedicated Humayun by his Wife”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We really enjoyed walking around the grounds of Humayuns tomb and wish we would have hired a guide since there are surrounding tombs that don't really have any explanations and our guide books didn't really talk about. There's one tomb that apparently an entire village lived in but we couldn't find out more info on it. Just be aware because the "really nice" people that show you where the best photo opportunities are will ask for a tip after. We had that happen twice at this attraction. It's also undergoing renovation right now but is definitely worth seeing!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sichot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“beautifully renovated and worth the visit”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is beautiful place and well kept. The grounds well maintained. Entrance fee Rs250/- well worth the visit. Foreigners pay more and we are ok with that. Historical site and excellen view of the surrounding city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank winefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth a couple of hours”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Another 'must see' on the limited circuit of historical sites in Delhi. Well maintained by The Archaeological Survey of India

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humayun's Tomb also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Humayun's Tomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing