We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel to your Saves list
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 37, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stopped in the Uppal Hotel on our way back to Italy. It was a very nice surprise. And if you book in advance you can get a very favourable price. The Hotel is near the airport but you barely hear any noice. It is surrounded by a great park and if you take a room on the courtyard no noice from the traffice. Rooms are very elegant and clean, Dinner was excellent (a la carte) while breakfast good but not so great and the omelette so and so. And you get a free transfer to the airport. We were also very lucky as we happen to see a traditional indian wedding in the hotel. Like those you see in the movies. Fantastic. We strongly reccommend it if you need a stop for your flights to avoid spending your time in a car on your way from/to the airport.

Room Tip: A room in the courtyard, possibly with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eno53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    138
    55
    38
    24
See reviews for
83
79
42
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently situated from the airport (less than 15 mins by car). We were looking for a place to get refreshed and changed, before taking our domestic flight and for that, this was the perfect choice. The cab was waiting for us and the check in was pleasant. The staff were friendly. The room was quite nice but had a smoky smell. The bathroom is decent. We opted for the breakfast option and considering, we were visiting India after more than 3 years, even the soggy vadas and the greasy baturas tasted heavenly! On a serious note, the breakfast wasn't much to write home about. The spread was average. The property itself is beautiful. Lots of greenery and well spread out. We quite enjoyed our stay.When we come back and if we are again looking for a transit hotel, this would be our choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VS2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located very conveniently, the driver that picked us up was very pleasant and check in was easy. The property is older and the room was very cold. The windows are not sealed well and the cold air was entering the room. The next day we were provided with a heater which helped. The food is somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Per_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel promotes itself as an "Eco Friendly" place. I could not find anything "eco" about this place except for the "economy" in terms of providing service or even basic stuff that one would expect from a hotel that charged Rs 5500 plus tax.
To begin with was the rude check in staff with their strange requests for address proof and not Identity proof as all other hotels in India ask for. Anyway, once that was sorted out after a lot of haggling, it was off to a dingy room which smelt of mold. All through the night there was the sound of rats running around in the a/c ducts. The hotel's reaction... Sir, the rats live in the duct and they will not come out!
Breakfast next day...a small area behind the lobby with a few tables.. stale food and an absolute lack of service from the staff. It was full of chinese tourists who had occupied all the space. The only option...have breakfast standing up!. A request for tea did not materialize after even 10 min! What else is left to say about this place??

Room Tip: Run in the opposite direction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramnath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We were only in this hotel for one night and thank god for that. We were supposed to get a pickup service from the airport, but did not see the driver there. When we arrived at the hotel by cab, we were told this was there but we must have missed him. Some contact or communcation would have been nice. But our main complaint was the fact that the rooms were damp to the point we had to change rooms as soon as possible; the second was slightly better. However the first room had mould growing on the walls, ive posted a picture on here as proof. The final complaint was that given the location is poor and taxis are not easily obtainable, the hotel car is the only real option, which is more than 3 times the rate of a taxi, complete rip off. Don't waste your money, a scandal they claim to be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickylstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the pick up service and the reception area.
Rooms however are a total disaster. We felt dampness in our 15 C degrees room as soon as we walked in. Beds were like rocks and after 20 minutes of being fully dressed, we realized that it is too cold to stay. The housekeeping provided small electric heater (which did not heat but produced a lot of noise) and 2 thin blankets. We went to bed fully dressed and when we finally managed to ignore the noise from the AC next door (we turned off our AC which was laud and was not heating) we were awaken by rats in the ventilation. Yes, rats. So we had to get up time to time and bang the ventilation to scare the rats away. Sleepless, freezing night for a whooping 120 USD.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on upper floors have less humidity and some heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValterPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on New Year's Eve before a flight the next day; it's not too far from the airport but was hard for the taxi driver to find (we were coming from Nizamuddin railway station) and phoning for directions was like calling the DJ in a club as the bar is next to Reception and the party was in full swing... The hotel itself was OK when we got there and the staff helpful, but the rooms were a little faded (and smelled damp as another reviewer noted); the heating in the room didn't work too well. The breakfast buffet was OK but quite limited. Internet was not free, and the transfer to the airport the next morning, although efficiently arranged, was expensive considering the short distance. Overall, this wasn't as expensive as the two other Delhi airport hotels we stayed at recently but I would choose a different one next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Umrao
The Umrao
#55 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton New Delhi, Airport Highway
1.8 mi away
ibis Delhi Airport
ibis Delhi Airport
#102 of 691 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Fox Hotel, Delhi Airport
Red Fox Hotel, Delhi Airport
#35 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrio A Boutique Hotel
Atrio A Boutique Hotel
#119 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn New Delhi International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Property: The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Address: National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 37, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#95 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppal's Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel
Uppals Orchid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing