We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco friendly or Tourist trap?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Ranked #112 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eco friendly or Tourist trap?”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel promotes itself as an "Eco Friendly" place. I could not find anything "eco" about this place except for the "economy" in terms of providing service or even basic stuff that one would expect from a hotel that charged Rs 5500 plus tax.
To begin with was the rude check in staff with their strange requests for address proof and not Identity proof as all other hotels in India ask for. Anyway, once that was sorted out after a lot of haggling, it was off to a dingy room which smelt of mold. All through the night there was the sound of rats running around in the a/c ducts. The hotel's reaction... Sir, the rats live in the duct and they will not come out!
Breakfast next day...a small area behind the lobby with a few tables.. stale food and an absolute lack of service from the staff. It was full of chinese tourists who had occupied all the space. The only option...have breakfast standing up!. A request for tea did not materialize after even 10 min! What else is left to say about this place??

Room Tip: Run in the opposite direction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramnath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    152
    71
    43
    24
See reviews for
89
92
46
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We were only in this hotel for one night and thank god for that. We were supposed to get a pickup service from the airport, but did not see the driver there. When we arrived at the hotel by cab, we were told this was there but we must have missed him. Some contact or communcation would have been nice. But our main complaint was the fact that the rooms were damp to the point we had to change rooms as soon as possible; the second was slightly better. However the first room had mould growing on the walls, ive posted a picture on here as proof. The final complaint was that given the location is poor and taxis are not easily obtainable, the hotel car is the only real option, which is more than 3 times the rate of a taxi, complete rip off. Don't waste your money, a scandal they claim to be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickylstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the pick up service and the reception area.
Rooms however are a total disaster. We felt dampness in our 15 C degrees room as soon as we walked in. Beds were like rocks and after 20 minutes of being fully dressed, we realized that it is too cold to stay. The housekeeping provided small electric heater (which did not heat but produced a lot of noise) and 2 thin blankets. We went to bed fully dressed and when we finally managed to ignore the noise from the AC next door (we turned off our AC which was laud and was not heating) we were awaken by rats in the ventilation. Yes, rats. So we had to get up time to time and bang the ventilation to scare the rats away. Sleepless, freezing night for a whooping 120 USD.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on upper floors have less humidity and some heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValterPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on New Year's Eve before a flight the next day; it's not too far from the airport but was hard for the taxi driver to find (we were coming from Nizamuddin railway station) and phoning for directions was like calling the DJ in a club as the bar is next to Reception and the party was in full swing... The hotel itself was OK when we got there and the staff helpful, but the rooms were a little faded (and smelled damp as another reviewer noted); the heating in the room didn't work too well. The breakfast buffet was OK but quite limited. Internet was not free, and the transfer to the airport the next morning, although efficiently arranged, was expensive considering the short distance. Overall, this wasn't as expensive as the two other Delhi airport hotels we stayed at recently but I would choose a different one next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After being promised a free transfer to airport when booking found out on arrival that we had to pay, which for a hotel taxi was more than it would be for a taxi from the city. The staff were rude and told us to go to bed when we complained because we were tired. Got to room and it was freezing cold and had to request a heater as the Aircon heating was not working. The room was set up for single occupancy so we had to ask for double of everything to be brought to room. It was late so we ordered room service, which was so disgusting it was inedible. Breakfast was ok. When checking out I asked for a taxi to be called to hotel because I didn't want to pay extortionate rates for the short airport transfer with the hotels own taxi and after some argument it was arranged by the extremely rude staff on reception. I was ignored when we left and said goodbye. Will never stay at the upaal again and would strongly encourage anyone else not to stay in this very dated and tired looking hotel. Especially as the rates are not cheap either.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexellenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellary, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

N H location so decided to try it out. In terms of facilities and quality of room, i would rate it as average 4 star. It is well kept but dated and needs major overhaul. TV did not work properly, internet was slow and bed was not really comfortable. Service is good .
good but can be better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baddinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile


After reading some good reviews on trip advisor we decided to use this hotel as a stopover between flights from the airport.

We had an airport transfer included with our booking. We found the driver easily at the airport and he was friendly and efficient.

The rooms are well appointed and decorated, however watch out for the DAMP. We had to change rooms twice because of the damp smell and MOULD growing on the wall. Our third room did not have damp problems... But there was some scurrying in the air vent which must have been a mouse or rat (as the review of 17th dec suggested).

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. Dinner was good, but too expensive for what it was.

Whilst the nightly rate is reasonable and the proximity to the airport is convenient, I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of the damp / mouse issues.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egnorth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Umrao
The Umrao
#16 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrio A Boutique Hotel
Atrio A Boutique Hotel
#160 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton New Delhi, Airport Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier, Delhi Airport
1.7 mi away
Red Fox Hotel, Delhi Airport
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn New Delhi International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Property: The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Address: National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 110037, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#95 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppals Orchid Hotel
Uppal's Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing