We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Damp rooms, Inefficient service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Ranked #128 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We were only in this hotel for one night and thank god for that. We were supposed to get a pickup service from the airport, but did not see the driver there. When we arrived at the hotel by cab, we were told this was there but we must have missed him. Some contact or communcation would have been nice. But our main complaint was the fact that the rooms were damp to the point we had to change rooms as soon as possible; the second was slightly better. However the first room had mould growing on the walls, ive posted a picture on here as proof. The final complaint was that given the location is poor and taxis are not easily obtainable, the hotel car is the only real option, which is more than 3 times the rate of a taxi, complete rip off. Don't waste your money, a scandal they claim to be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickylstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 415 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the pick up service and the reception area.
Rooms however are a total disaster. We felt dampness in our 15 C degrees room as soon as we walked in. Beds were like rocks and after 20 minutes of being fully dressed, we realized that it is too cold to stay. The housekeeping provided small electric heater (which did not heat but produced a lot of noise) and 2 thin blankets. We went to bed fully dressed and when we finally managed to ignore the noise from the AC next door (we turned off our AC which was laud and was not heating) we were awaken by rats in the ventilation. Yes, rats. So we had to get up time to time and bang the ventilation to scare the rats away. Sleepless, freezing night for a whooping 120 USD.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on upper floors have less humidity and some heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValterPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on New Year's Eve before a flight the next day; it's not too far from the airport but was hard for the taxi driver to find (we were coming from Nizamuddin railway station) and phoning for directions was like calling the DJ in a club as the bar is next to Reception and the party was in full swing... The hotel itself was OK when we got there and the staff helpful, but the rooms were a little faded (and smelled damp as another reviewer noted); the heating in the room didn't work too well. The breakfast buffet was OK but quite limited. Internet was not free, and the transfer to the airport the next morning, although efficiently arranged, was expensive considering the short distance. Overall, this wasn't as expensive as the two other Delhi airport hotels we stayed at recently but I would choose a different one next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After being promised a free transfer to airport when booking found out on arrival that we had to pay, which for a hotel taxi was more than it would be for a taxi from the city. The staff were rude and told us to go to bed when we complained because we were tired. Got to room and it was freezing cold and had to request a heater as the Aircon heating was not working. The room was set up for single occupancy so we had to ask for double of everything to be brought to room. It was late so we ordered room service, which was so disgusting it was inedible. Breakfast was ok. When checking out I asked for a taxi to be called to hotel because I didn't want to pay extortionate rates for the short airport transfer with the hotels own taxi and after some argument it was arranged by the extremely rude staff on reception. I was ignored when we left and said goodbye. Will never stay at the upaal again and would strongly encourage anyone else not to stay in this very dated and tired looking hotel. Especially as the rates are not cheap either.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexellenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

N H location so decided to try it out. In terms of facilities and quality of room, i would rate it as average 4 star. It is well kept but dated and needs major overhaul. TV did not work properly, internet was slow and bed was not really comfortable. Service is good .
good but can be better

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baddinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile


After reading some good reviews on trip advisor we decided to use this hotel as a stopover between flights from the airport.

We had an airport transfer included with our booking. We found the driver easily at the airport and he was friendly and efficient.

The rooms are well appointed and decorated, however watch out for the DAMP. We had to change rooms twice because of the damp smell and MOULD growing on the wall. Our third room did not have damp problems... But there was some scurrying in the air vent which must have been a mouse or rat (as the review of 17th dec suggested).

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. Dinner was good, but too expensive for what it was.

Whilst the nightly rate is reasonable and the proximity to the airport is convenient, I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of the damp / mouse issues.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egnorth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

For the first time I went to India on nov. 3 2012. Although the plane was delayed for more then an hour and there was a long queue at the customs and luggage band, the man who picked me up from the hotel was still there waiting for me. He had been waiting for 3 hours!
Furthermore the room, breakfast and hotelservice were very good. The garden is lovely and very quiet.Good to escape for the busy city of Delhi. And near the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soraya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Uppal International
Hotel Uppal International
#529 of 715 in New Delhi
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Umrao
The Umrao
#54 of 715 in New Delhi
487 reviews
1.6 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton New Delhi, Airport Highway
1.9 mi away
Pullman New Delhi Aerocity
Pullman New Delhi Aerocity
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Address: National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 110037, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#95 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $74 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppal's Orchid Hotel
Uppals Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing