We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scams!”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #61 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scams!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Services was very unprofessional and unfriendly. Check the bill twice in the end! Even though you booked on a discount rate you will be astonished of how high the bill gets in this hotel at the end. Be aware of the hotel-owned travel agency. They constantly try to misinform you that the trains you have booked are not running, and that you should take their car service instead - not what you expect from professional hotel staff!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thereasonnables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are concerned that you found our travel consultant’s advisory on your pre booked waitlisted railway tickets as case of over reach.

You stayed with us for 3 days and didn’t point out your unhappiness over any issue Infact you took a car to pick up your partner from the airport for your extended stay.

As regards your reservation amount please speak to your booker directly.


Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    675
    317
    132
    154
See reviews for
315
483
321
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I traveled with my friends .We searched online for a hotel and came across the Ajanta which was well located as well as being close to many forms of transport. clean hotel with a good buffet,the heart of paharganj and everything nearby, good local food joints and near by railway station. Rooms are good though they are a bit small ...
Anyone who wants to see local culture take the balcony room.. but if want to live quietly go for back rooms as the road is busy till midnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveguruBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

although i felt the staff were very hospitable and helpful, and i even got a nice room across the other side of the road.but since the room was just across the road, it was full of noise pollution..even at 3-00am at an ungodly hour there was too much of noise which didn't let me have any sleep.
one needs to choose rooms which are not facing the road..
otherwise, the rooms. are nice, and breakfast is good, but over crowded they need to expand the area to accommodate more guests during breakfast hrs.
they have a nice coffee cum bakery area which is fabulous.
i would really make a second stay provided i am staying in one of the inner rooms.

Room Tip: please dont take a room which is facing the road, or else u will have sleepless nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faisaldaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was travelling with my family and another family of five in India and we based ourselves in Dehli.We searched online for a hotel and came across the Ajanta which was very well located to the key sights around Dehli as well as being close to many forms of transport. To be honest we did not know what to expect but decided to book some rooms at this hotel. From the moment we got to the hotel the experience was fantastic. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and were always willing to help and give us advice when we needed it. The service was great. The hotel was clean and the rooms were very good. We were pleasantly surprised! The exemplary service provided by the staff was personified when we wanted to organise a few tours around the country. Two of the trips were organised for us by one of the hotel staff Mr Rashid. He was great and organised the tours to our exact requirements. He was very knowlegeable and experienced in terms of what the best things were for us to see when we got to various destinations.We had an incredible time in Rajastan and Goa thanks to some well organised tours. Thankyou Mr Rashid. I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location (close to everything), fantastic staff who were very helpful and good accommodation / facilities.
Thankyou very much

Hassan - Sydney Australia

Room Tip: We booked some family rooms which were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hassan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

When you say Paharganjh, you expect to SEE a average hotel, as this is close to railway station. However this was a surprise and the hotel looked pretty good from outside. The front office was very similar to any star hotel..very professional, courteous and helpful.

However the family room that we were allocated was very small and cramped and no ventilation. A small exhaust fan provided in the room went out to the lift shaft!!!! The room was also very dusty when we checked in, We had to bring this to the notice of the housekeeping staff about it, who got the room cleaned the next day

When we went around the floor, we found that the almost all the rooms in the floor did not have ventilation, except one room which had a balcony.

I was surprised to see plenty of Non Indians in this hotel, could not find a genuine reason to justify the same. Cost?? Hmmm no as for the same price you can get a better hotel with better location else were...Location?? may be.

The only positives, very close to railway station, good front office. Negatives, very small property with cramped rooms & stuffy

Room Tip: Go for a room on higher floor, to avoid noise and air pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Must say that this hotel has every thing a modern traveler need.The location is great as its near to the railway station.Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet selection can be improved.
The front office team was very helpful .The hotel is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Take a suit room,request for and upgrade .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varghese22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after an overnight flight from London and were tired and just wanted ti get to our room. However the hotel had other plans. The check in process was extended to almost an hour whilst two male members of staff, one ironically wearing a 'may I help you' badge, interrogatecus about our travel plans for our trip to india declaring them infeasible before proceeding to scare us in relation to trains being cancelled and our plans would lwave us stranded. They suggested they would sort internal flights and new hotels for us-we refused so they said theywould getus a driver and new hotels-we refused. Then incredibly they suggested I cancel all ofmy confirmed first class rail tickets and they would get my money back and they would get me 2nd class tickets on a new itinerary and new hotels. They put us under some serious and in my view nasty pressure and kept this up for an hour before realising we were standing firm to our own plans. Nice welcome to india and this level of intimidation is totally unacceptable and I feel I wanted to warn the trip advisor community to avoid this hotel or at least approach it with due warning.
No doubt the hotel will deny this but that should not come as any surprise given the dishonesty I experienced in their efforts to prise money from me and cause myself and my wife unnecessary stress and indeed distress.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meiskha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Upon your check in while you had welcome destressing tea, you had wanted to know about the train schedules and cancellation due to fog in the northern region of India.

You were shown the actual position of departure of trains & delayed on the Indian railway website.Other options were explained to you, were suggestive in nature.

We are a coveted finest budget class hotel & while we do take all criticism as a tool to improve ourselves.

But this time round we don’t agree with you remarks “Threats & intimation”.

Also you left a positive feedback form on your departure.

Warm Regards

Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Wood Castle
#14 of 715 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#31 of 715 in New Delhi
681 reviews
Hotel City Star
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing