We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real comfortable stay!”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #63 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed December 3, 2013

we enjoyed the stay in that nice and good placed hotel! The hotel team always was very friendly
and competent! It was our 3rd stay in Delhi,and we checked a lot of hotels.The Ajanta was the best..
The rooms were clean+comfortable,the service was super!
Shurely want to come again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manfred h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ajanta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

very happy with our stay , the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and made our stay rather comfortable . This was our first time in Delhi and we were very happy to choose this hotel and location, railway station is right next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maheshjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This small well run hotel is in a good location near the Central Railway station, adjacent to the markets. We had excellent meals and service at their restaurant. THERE IS A LIFT, and we had an air conditioned room with bathroom and hot water shower.
The staff are pleasant and helpful and there is a travel desk.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay in Delhi.
Roz and bob Molloy

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I got an opportunity to stay in the Superior Category room of this hotel and believe me was satified during by stay and the reasons for this were as follows: We were earlier put in a family room with 42 inch LCD TV room as we insisted to give us a room away from the street hustle & bustle. Room though superior was spacious, confortable and contained 2 queen size bed. But there was no windows and no tea coffee maker etc and the bathroom was also leaking and after spending 1 night we requested the floor incharge to change the room next day and he was really very co-operative and courteous and showed us other rooms as per our need and this time we got what we wanted. The room was spacious, fresh airy, tea maker etc were there and we loved it. What we paid was fully justified by the Hotel. Also there co-operative behaviour pleased us as there was a small delay in reaching for complimentary breakfast but the reception courteous enough to provide us breakfast ala carte which pleased us a lot. The lobby was clean and hotel is very well located and the comlimentary airport transfer was also hassle free. There's also room for improvement so we would give some suggestion as follow: the Breakfast should contain more items as this is the first thing which creates a good and longlasting image of the hotel and the dining area should be made more spacious and airy as it appears a bit conjusted. We were informed that there is a roof top restaurant but no promotion was there from the hotel side to take their guests there . Atleast breakfast or dinner should be arranged there as it will give them a upper edge. REst fine and I definitely would love now to stay in their suite room as well. Thanks for the hospitality specially to the Floor incharge/Manager with spectacles.

Room Tip: take the superior room as they are value for money and if budget is there try the suite as well.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkhatuwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Very pleased to read your stay turned out most satisfying and that you would like to visit us again.
All your suggestions are appreciated and passed to the concerned persons.
Look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Overall a good standard of hotel for the price.

Very clean hotel, free internet and wifi. The room was a little noisy but then again that isnt the fault of the hotel, it is on a side street where people use their horns alot! The breakfast is satisfactory, nothing to write home about but tasty enough and again, served in a very clean restaurant area attached to the hotel.
There are plenty of staff who were very helpful and the hotel felt very secure. Official security guards on the door, 24 hour reception and a good exchange rate at the desk too. There is a Safe in the room and we felt fine leaving stuff in the room.

The location is ideal for the train station as well as venturing into Old Delhi and New Delhi. You are about a 15 minute walk from Connaught Place and there is never any shortage of Taxi's/TukTuks to take you where you want to go. The hotel offered a pick up at the airport and the transfer was roughly one hour.

Room Tip: We had a room on the road side that was a bit noisy at night but did have a balcony - swings & r...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Ajanta for your stay in Delhi and then for all your positive comments about our Hotel.
We have just added new dishes to the breakfast buffet.
We get a lot of guests for our good service and central location.
Glad you endorse this.
We hope you visit us again.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ajanta hotel is the best hotel in the area. Nice spacious room with clean bathroom. Free Airport pickup is an added advantage.Lovely staff & always help you whenever require. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank gambhir014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your very complimentary and encouraging review.
Yes, our guests really welcome the free airport pick up service.
We appreciate your recommending us to your friends.
Warm Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights first time online through Expedia. When I asked for the pick up from the airport in the early hours, the reservation desk told me to book the room for three nights because we were arriving very early the next day. It was a bad start right off the bat when we arrived at the airport. I asked the driver if he brought a bigger vehicle to receive a party of three. The driver lied right there. He brought a small car with his driver. We could not even put our luggage in the trunk. We had to put the luggage in the back seat with us. Eventually we got to the hotel by leaving our host at the airport. When we got to the hotel we heard a female with her family screaming at the reservation clerk. We didn't pay much attention to it. Soon as we got ourselves with our luggage inside the hotel, the same clerk took us to the management room. He made photocopies of our passports. He asked us which room we want. I told him that I booked the "FAMILY ROOM" ahead of time through Expedia. He gave us the dirtiest room with spider webs, dirty floor, dirty sheets, broken tiles and unfunctioning toilet. We were shocked to see this especially when I booked hotel for the top of the line room. I paid premimum price. When I complained the duty manager told that they rented out our room to someone else for the night!!!. After much complaining he switched us to different room, which was lot better. The next day he switched us to the room I booked online. My advise to all travelers is stay away but if you have to then please check your room first before you sign anything. DO NOT TRUST THE MANAGEMENT!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are checking all details before we can answer your review.

Please bear with us till then.

You could mail us at info@hotelajanta.com

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 712 in New Delhi
1,118 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#54 of 712 in New Delhi
1,711 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 712 in New Delhi
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#14 of 712 in New Delhi
1,128 reviews
Hotel City Star
#30 of 712 in New Delhi
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $25 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing