We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“economic satisfactory hotel”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #62 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Bhubaneshwar, Orissa, India
1 review
“economic satisfactory hotel”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

@mmt.review this is a very good hotel. the food was good enough and the staffs were helpful and cordial. neat and clean environment leads me to hygenic sense. i really like it and as it is walkable to railway station it pretty helps me in case ofply it is greaturgency also & communication facilities are also available to & from here. so simply it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank krishna_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good to know your enjoyed the food and found our staff friendly and helpful. Yes, we are close enough from the Railway Station to walk and far enough to avoid any station noise, a very convenient distance. Among other facilities we have a fast internet connection for our guests convenience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    681
    319
    132
    156
See reviews for
319
490
321
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hello) i was stay with this hotel not one time on my road to and from Himachal Its something special in old Delhi I will recomend to stay in this hotel) Rooms nice and staff very helpfull We was always asking this and that And they ws trying best to make everything to us Even we was think that we was loose key from room and they was for 1 hour help us to search it and then one of my friend was find it in her pocket) you know))this type of situations( but the stuff was only joking after all Thanks alot realy for all see you next season on my road for yatra))

Room Tip: when we was in hotel its was some reconstructions inside some rooms so ask on reception about wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tati36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our services and enjoying our Hotel.

We are happy to go to any length to see our guests happy.

Warm Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel has improved even since my last visit in 2012. Bathrooms and bedrooms have been upgraded. I was graded to room 302 which was quiet and spacious. It's only a budget hotel that I use when going to the airport but the staff and service is second to none for the price. Very old established. It is very safe and I would certainly recommend it even for lone female tourists.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HornyViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Yes, you are right our rooms are upgraded in terms of decor as well as facilities. And yes, we do have a lot of single women who come back because they feel comfortable and safe.

Glad you endorse this.

Thank you for your review.

We hope you give us another chance to pamper you with our hospitality.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Ajanta about seven times from 2007 to 2012 and I hope to stay there again this year. Each time there has been a good welcome, the staff have gone out of their way to be helpful, the room has been clean and comfortable and the food has been good. I don't agree with the comment from another reviewer about cheating. Once there was a mistake in my bill, but anyone can make an occasional mistake and it was easily sorted out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Tuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

An encouraging review from our regular guest is very flattering and welcome. Thank you and please be assured that our service will continue to be of the high standard that you are used to.

Thank you
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Every other person has a different thing to say. Have never seen suxh bad management at hotel. Neat rooms & good locality but the staff are cheat I believe. Foreigners and first time visitors beware. Make sure u fix your pacakage offered get it signed by the hotel staff this is my advice to anyone visting the hotel. I felt cheated. If anyone felt same before please leave your reviews so that they to know.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muffadal0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that found our rooms near and spacious.

We've been in hospitality since over the decades and we take care of our guests every which way. In this case there perhaps seems to be a confusion at your end. Please get in touch with us at info@hotelajanta.com and we shall resolve the issue to your satisfaction.

Regards,
Team Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited with family for a nite stay stop in del and we're upgraded to their suite.
Awesomely beautiful and the people were so friendly. Food was really excellent and for the price it was an experience of a lifetime with their beautiful large suite and a attached terrace.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. So very happy to know that you enjoyed the food and found it reasonably priced.

Yes, our suites are large & luxurious. Glad you had a great stay.

We hope you come back to enjoy our hospitality & service.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Situated in the backpacker area, its one among a series of similar hotels in the area, albeit a bit more legit than the rest. The basics were sort taken care of but I did face some problems with respect to lack of communication between the revolving front desk staff. That said, the room, the bathrooms and the hotel itself was clean; the attached restaurant serves some really authentic and good food; its located near the dividing line of old and new Delhi so one can experience the charms of both without too much effort. Its pretty close to some of the monuments (India gate, Old Fort) and from related touristy attractions like the Janpath, Rashtrapati Bhavan, North and South Block, Connought Circle, etc. Also really close to the metro and the railway station. All in all not a bad deal. Also check out the roof top restaurant...the view from there is simply mesmerizing...like being transported back in time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Glad you enjoyed the authentic food at our restaurant and our hospitality. The view from our hotel is indeed lovely . Glad you found us located close to all shopping centres , Museums & Monuments. Also the distance to the railway station & metro is walkable. Your communication issues will be looked at immediately.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,700 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,095 reviews
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#31 of 715 in New Delhi
714 reviews
Hotel City Star
#23 of 715 in New Delhi
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing