We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOTEL AJANTA”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #60 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Tinsukia, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“HOTEL AJANTA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is located very near the New Delhi Railway station. The hotel arranges pick up from the IGI Airport. The escort is very courteous.The Vagabond Restaurant is small but offers quality food. Visitors not allowed in rooms for security reasons.Rooms small but comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for an A/C room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farouk_alam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying at Hotel Ajanta and we are pleased to read such kind comments about our property. Hotel Ajanta has a long standing reputation among national and international guests because of its prime location in the city and we hope that it proved to be opportune for you as well. It is our goal as a hospitality provider that our guests enjoy an ‘at home’ experience in New Delhi without having to lift a finger. Therefore we offer add-on services like airport pick up and drop, great quality food at our reputed Cafe Vagabond, along with our very attentive staff and comfortable accommodation. Also, maximum security of our guests and property is paramount to us and we hope that it did not cause any inconvenience to you.

Once again we appreciate your helpful review and would be delighted to be your hosts in New Delhi once more.

Best Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    666
    315
    132
    154
See reviews for
303
479
317
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I arrived at Delhi International Airport a couple of weeks back now at around 3am after numerous legs and layovers. I failed to find my driver with sign in hand at the airport and ordered a less than honest taxi and finally when arriving at Ajanta, they paid for the taxi and upgraded my room with apologies. My room was tastefully decorated with a monster flat screen, couch, snacks and cold drinks. No hot water yet great AC and fans, I slept like the dead that night and enjoyed their very reasonable buffet and internet down by the lobby in the morning.

Room Tip: Get Deluxe and I verified airport service pick up by phone but be sure to make sure they have a sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sejayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Ajanta Hotel during your recent trip to New Delhi. While we sincerely regret that you were not able to avail our airport pick up, we are very pleased to learn that your overall experience at our property ended up as a satisfactory one. It is great to know that your room and its amenities were able to meet your expectations. We strive to provide a great stay experience for our guests and ensure that they enjoy all attributes such as the accommodation, restaurant, and customer care at Ajanta Hotel.
Once again we appreciate your feedback very much as this is how we can evaluate our own services and eventually improvise to ensure our visitors an even better stay experience. We would be very delighted to be your hosts in New Delhi once again.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very prompt in their services, were polite and courteous in dealing with queries posted and tried to deliver their best, Room were maintained very clean, Housekeeping was quick to answer the calls, Restaurant is good however feel the prices are little on the higher side. Hotel easily accessible from New Delhi railway station, provided free pick facility from airport and in case pick up was not availed they provide free drops to airport in cabs. Booking was very simple, just one phone call, room is blocked and confirmation is sent, payment can be made in person instead of doing online

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagesh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest
We are very happy to have been your host in New Delhi. It is a great pleasure to read such an encouraging feedback from our guests. We make it our top most priority to ensure that we provide an unmatchable hospitality experience right from the booking, arrival, stay, till the check out. And we are very delighted that your stay at Ajanta Hotel was overall a flawless process and we would like to express our gratefulness for your elaborate personal descriptions of our hotel facilities and services o n this prestigious public forum.
Once again, it is an honor to have such a review and we would love to welcome you back to New Delhi.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was an average hotel which had a good room. Since i was with my family and went for shopping and therefore was not in the room much of the time it was worth taking such a room because we only came back to sleep and it was worth for the price. It was also not very far from the shopping places so it was very convinient. Overall it was a good place if you are not planning to spend much time in the hotel because there is no many activites to do inside the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms were similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at Ajanta Hotel recently. We are pleased that you found your stay experience at our property satisfactory and agreeable. It is our special characteristics like comfortable spacious accommodation, great value for money, central location in New Delhi, and proximity to the main shopping centers and tourists’ spots make us a favorite among our esteemed guests. It pleases us to know that you were able to enjoy your trip to Delhi while staying at Ajanta Hotel.
Once again we appreciate all the kind words and would like to have you back at our property in future.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rourkela, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have visited Delhi during one conference at stayed in this hotel. The interior of the hotel as well as rooms are very nice; however there is very limited space in the lobby. The room is also not very good. Most of the time the lift was out of order. So, you have to have habit to use stair.

Room Tip: This is very good for budgetary hotel but don't expect star rated hotel facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehamoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at Ajanta Hotel during your visit to New Delhi. We are glad that you found the interior and the rooms impressive and we hope that you also felt comfortable during your stay. However we sincerely regret that you found some of the amenities less than perfect. We have made a note of your full feedback and we would improvise and keep striving to ensure a great stay experience for our guests in future.
Once again, thank you and we hope to be your host in New Delhi again.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked ths hotel on Make my Trip and were not at all impressed with it!! we arrived after midnight and when we saw the room we were socked to see how decieving it is on the website!! The room was so tiny and the bathroom even smaller!! the shower space was not more than 12 nches in width!! if to close the shower curtain it will stick to you when you are showering( i m not at the fat type, but still i had a problem!) We should learn space economy HERe! The next morning when we went for a shower there was no water!!! we complained an the staff pretend that only our room had some problem!!! Well we had to use water in a bucket and COLD water(lucky it was summer). In the evening the power went off and there was no generator nor did they have candles in the room or the courtesy to supply all the rooms with candles or torches!!! When the power went out the intercom also stop working as it also had no back up power system so we couldn't even complain!!! We were on the fourth floor so going down in the dark was also dangerous as they had some work going on on the second floor. We were there for two nights! I can NOT RECOMMEND this Hotel.

Room Tip: dont choose this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheetal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
First and foremost thank you for the feedback and also for choosing us as your host in New Delhi. We sincerely regret the undesirable events that you had to experience during your stay at Ajanta Hotel. A prompt inquiry has been sent in to the management regarding the incidences that you have described and we would be taking all the necessary steps without any further delays to ensure that our guests do not have to go through such inconveniences during their stay with us.
Once again we genuinely regret that your stay at Ajanta Hotel was met with unfortunate events on this occasion and we hope to provide you with a better stay experience in future.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is good and value for money. But once you enter the hotel the hotel staff is gunning to get money for every possible thing. The staff is okay filled with expat Nepalese people who hardly seem to be professionals but more of like amateurs. The location is pathetic and all the time filled with goons so the hotel earns heavily by giving you taxi service at twice the rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pushkar_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for staying at Ajanta Hotel. We are pleased that you found our property agreeable and good value for money. However we regret that your experience with the support staff did not meet your expectations. We believe in ensuring a great stay for our guests in terms of customer care, our amenities such as restaurants, room service, our taxi pick up and drop facilities. So it is an uncharacteristic account that you had to experience such inconveniences. We would be certainly investigating these incidences and ensure that the same is not repeated in future.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#53 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#31 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing