We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tour hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Suryaa New Delhi
Ranked #22 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
492 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“The best tour hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

On a week tour of Northern India. We flew up from Goa and toured Delhi before arriving at this very acceptable 5 star hotel. Smooth check in and off to very comfortable room for our overnight stay. We went down to buffet restaurant but this was rather chaotic with no visible Maitre d' (the only negative of this stay). Hence we departed for the rooftop Sampan Chinese restaurant for a high quality meal with a view over the city of Delhi. The last of the Diwalli fireworks helped the experience if not the outside air quality!
Sadly we were on the 6am train to Agra so missed breakfast. The packed one adequate but I would have liked to have a longer lie in my very comfortable bed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, me and my team are happy to know that you felt good staying with us. I have also taken note of your comments regarding the restaurant and have shared your feedback with the department head to ensure that the same is given due attention. It is comments such as yours that helps us to achieve even higher levels of perfection. Thank you for your patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Pankaj Mathur-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    523
    236
    62
    42
See reviews for
271
408
136
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel in very nice and the standard of food and service are excellent. The only minor problems are due to the fact that it is the heart of the city and there is noise from the traffic outside 24 hours a day and although there is an out door swimming pool there are no grounds.
The hotel could do with a bar in the lobby as there is no where to sit after dinner and have a drink and chat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricketmad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are happy for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, I have made a note of your comment regarding bar in lobby area and would like to bring it to your notice that our new restaurant is in a process of up-gradation and soon we will be having our all day dining restaurant and a lounge bar operational,
Thank you for showing your concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Pankaj Mathur-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great hotel to stay and dine in options. The rooftop restaurant , Sampan, is an excellent experience. One can enjoy the view of the glittering city and savor the wide choice gourmet offered. The location is great, just away from the center yet connected well. The rooms are comfortable and lets you have peaceful nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, especially the roof top restaurant. Sampan. Such comments are our greatest reward. Thank you for your patronage. We are delighted to have you with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Pankaj Mathur-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room! Incredible service! All the staff were helpful and warm. The highlight of our short stay was the buffet breakfast! It was the best we have had in India so far. The most efficient service and tasty food... The cone pancakes are to die for. Everything was so fresh and clean. We are going back to this hotel at the end of our tour and cannot wait!

If you want a comfortable and warm expert one after exploring the crazy streets of New Delhi, you can't go past Suryaa!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your encouraging feedback. Me and my team are overwhelmed to know about the wonderful things you have said especially about rooms, food, staff & service.
We are delighted to have you with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Pankaj Mathur-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a seven night ‘Golden Triangle’ tour of northern India. We booked the holiday via The Holiday Place which we had neither used nor even heard of before. Our booking stemmed from a Travelzoo recommendation and I am pleased to say that everything went like clockwork. We were met at the airport by a representative from Sita and this company handled everything from our arrival through to our departure. We had the same driver for the full week but had different guides in the various locations.
We arrived at the Suryaa Hotel in New Delhi at about 9am on Monday 21st October and the Sita rep took care of the check-in procedure which appeared to be quick and straight-forward; we were allocated Room 207 on the second floor. The room was clean and spacious but there were one or two areas of flaking paint on the walls which was not quite in keeping with the hotel’s five star rating. Nonetheless, the hotel was very nice and with excellent friendly staff it felt warm and welcoming.
Having travelled through the night we were tired and jet-lagged and in the evening we just wanted something to eat before having an early night. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant didn't open until 7.30pm so we ventured out at just after 6pm to try and find a local restaurant.
We dropped lucky and found the Dawat Khana, (reviewed separately).
The waiters were jovial and friendly and the place had atmosphere. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant and it’s very close to The Suryaa. Turn right as you come out of the hotel entrance/exit doors and go down the steps and across the car park to the security post and exit barrier. Turn left there and after about 50 yards there is a small car park and some market stalls. Turn left again here and the Dawat Khana is on the right about a further 50 yards away.
Whilst on this tour we stayed at the Wyndham Grand in Agra and at the Gateway Ramgarh Lodge near Jaipur, (again reviewed separately). Each hotel was completely different to the others but inevitably one draws comparisons. The breakfast at The Suryaa was by far and away the best we had during our tour, not just for the range of choice but also for the quality of food on offer.
My wife and I initially stayed at The Suryaa for two nights and then returned on Sunday 27th October for our last night of the holiday. On this occasion we were allocated Room 714 on the seventh floor. The room was quite a bit larger than Room 207 but our view was restricted by the rooftop restaurant and the restaurant music was also quite loud.
Both our rooms were equipped with hairdryers, a fridge, a safe, tea and coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board.
The opulence of the Wyndham Grand made The Suryaa look shabby by comparison. Looks aren’t everything though and my wife and I have decided that The Suryaa was excellent and the Wyndham Grand only very good. The defining difference was the staff. Staff members at the Wyndham Grand were pleasant enough but nowhere near matched the warmth and friendliness of the staff at The Suryaa.
Should a member of the hotel management read this review then please share our praise for your staff with them and pass on our thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyJimF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My heartiest thanks for sparing out time and writing such a detailed feedback, thank you very much for appreciating our hotel, services, food & staff. Such comments are our greatest reward. I have shared your experience with my team members and they felt happy & motivated by knowing that you were delighted. However I have carefully noted your concerns regarding restaurant and would like you to know that we do have an all day dining “Atrium” restaurant near lobby level (though that’s a temporary location as we are coming up with a brand new all day dining multicuisine restaurant “Ssence”) also we have a Chinese specialty restaurant “Sampan” at rooftop, though thank you so much for your concern. It is comments such as yours that helps us to further enhance our standards and achieve even higher levels of perfection. Your feedback is important for us.

Thank you for your patronage.

Regards,
Pankaj Mathur-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I have to say this hotel was very nice, especially after our stay near the station. Location wasn't great for tourists but the pool was very big and nice, apart from the unfortunate cow poop smell emanating from somewhere. But that smell was only at the pool, not in the rooms or inside the hotel. Unfortunately the staff let this place down. Reception I mean. Standing at check in, clearly next in line, a staff member started serving someone behind me over my shoulder!! Rude. She told me the wifi would be about $7/hour but I could go back in and out to use up the hour, not all at once. It wasn't true though, so i paid that for a quick photo upload on Facebook and 2 Viber messages! Of course it had expired when I went back later. Breakfast was not well catered for internationally. We didn't make good use of that as there wasn't much we liked. So if they could improve the manners of Reception staff and those seating and doing coffee at breakfast, as well as expanding the menu slightly, I would consider staying here again. There's a small shopping village next door with McDonalds, Pizza Hut and loads of Indian restaurants (great food - we ate local, not Maccas), as well as a cinema in that block where you can catch the latest Bollywood movie (book ahead at the ticket counter) and you don't get hassled on the street like in New Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Procidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. At the onset I will like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

I have taken note of your comment regarding staff at front desk, we always train our staff to be very sensitive to our guests, however it seems they missed meeting your expectations. With regards to the breakfast selection, though we do have varied variety of dishes available in buffet, however our chefs will be happy to take any special requests based upon your preferences for the same. Also I would like to update you that our all day dining restaurant is under upgradation and will take couple of weeks to get open. Should your travel brings you back to Delhi, you can reach me at pankaj.mathur@thesuryaa.com.

I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Regards,
Pankaj Mathur-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADUNA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in room 524 for 13 nights(15-10-13 to 29-10-13). It was a wonderful stay with my wife.
The room was very neat and spacious.All the Staff were excellently neat and ready
to assist joyfully. The ground floor restaurant was very good and food excellent varieties.
The location to Apollo hospital is close . My wife had come for a follow up at Apollo hospital.
I enjoyed the gym . The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was always kept excellently neat.
The air-condition system was perfect. This hotel is always improving because last year we were
here and stayed for 7 nights when my wife had her surgery at Apollo hospital.It has always been excellent services.I will always recommend this hotel to people and i will continue to stay
here any time i`m in Delhi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa New Delhi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services, I have shared your experience with my team and they also felt excited to know that you are happy, it is comments such as yours that help us to achieve even higher levels of perfection.
Thank you once again, we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Pankaj Manager-General Manager
The Suryaa New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.5 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#42 of 716 in New Delhi
1,091 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Today New Delhi Okhla
5.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jaypee Siddharth
Jaypee Siddharth
#19 of 716 in New Delhi
684 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,661 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#39 of 716 in New Delhi
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suryaa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suryaa New Delhi

Property: The Suryaa New Delhi
Address: New Friends Colony | Community Centre, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Suryaa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suryaa, New Delhi with its host of facilities and services is designed to meet your business and personal needs. Our 244 well-appointed guestrooms and suites are elegantly designed and the delectable dining options, technologically advanced conferencing features, exquisite recreation facilities as well as warm and attentive service are just some of the things that make The Suryaa, New Delhi a preferred destination.The hotel is in close proximity to the world-renowned Apollo Hospital & the Escorts Heart Institute. A Shopping arcade and other recreation facilities are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Suryaa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suryaa New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Delhi
Crowne Plaza Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Delhi
Crowneplaza Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing