We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel in New Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Suryaa New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Suryaa New Delhi
Ranked #42 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
474 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in New Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent three nights at this large, stylish hotel, beginning our two-week trip to India this month (with Overseas Adventure Travel). The pros: the hotel has some grand, elegant common spaces, the dining room has excellent buffets for breakfast and dinner, the rooms had nice amenities. The cons: our room had two single beds (rather than a queen or king), food prices were a tad pricey, the outside noises were very apparent at night. Because February is smack into Indian wedding season, there were some elaborately decorated ballrooms in the hotel, which were fun to check out. The bar on the lower level is a nice place to have a gin and tonic, but beware of their "two for one" happy hour. It does not mean ordering two drinks for the price of one and serving two people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    488
    217
    58
    41
See reviews for
209
362
104
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only stayed a few hours- plane landed at 2:50am so we needed a place to stay until our tour in the morning. The hotel was very beautiful, confidently located and large rooms. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was good, and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Suryaa is very well priced( good value for money) and centrally located. about 20 minutes from the airport off peaktime, close to CP and Noida, about 15 minutes by car
The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly.
Their rooftop restaurant Sampan , has some great food.
They have a good spa too.
Its a good business hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rekkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The surya is an excellent place to stay.. Excellent service & prompt service and yummy food- !! only hitch was room was not sound proof enough so could hear ppl walking in teh corridor middle of night at times.. Except that the place is a sheer delight to stay :-) strongly recommended..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheetal R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you have a good deal and simply need a decent room to stay -- this hotel should not be a problem. The rooms are ok -- a bit chilly in February.
But do not expect an international standard 5-star service.

Sometimes the cleaning staff will tell you that they are shifting duty tomorrow -- you would wonder why they are telling you this. You will soon find out that they want you to give them money (tip) today / now.

You often have to repeat your request for a coffee at breakfast or for a piece of soap to be brought to the room etc. At times, a cleaning staff may ring your doorbell and before you answer, just open the door with a master key and come in to clean your room.

It is something you may consider trivial -- try putting on a smily face as a way of saying hello at 0730 when you go for an early breakfast at the restaurant. You may sometimes feel like you are the staff and the waiters are indifferent or angry customers. Also, there are one or two staff with dark suits who feel grumpy to customers -- don't know why they are working in a hotel.

Also, aside from the basic accomodation, a lot of added-on services seem expensive and outsourced. For example, internet, transportation from airport to hotel... They seem to charge high price and quality was not too great. If you need the extra services, check the price and quality first.

I recommend this hotel for people looking for a decent place to stay.
But if you are expecting an international standard 5-star service, be aware.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7year3good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I Am Currently in my room here. Smell is poor no freshness in air which we do expect when u enter such a reputed hotel. When i checked my room Mini bar refrigerator was out of order. they got it replaced in about 25 mins . Bathrooms are too small for u if are blessed with good height bath tub is for kids not for you. carpet has a very bad smell.

I Purchased Internet Pack for 24 hrs but has a pathetic connectivity. I Have to call IT Team Again and again.
Again My Coffee maker was out of order and it took also about 20 mins
to replace
This is the worst experience i ever had in a 5 start hotel
Although Location is Excellent You can reach here without any pain.

Surprisingly Food here is of Excellent Quality.

I stayed in 402 and 324 . Both Rooms are good but are not Maintained properly by housekeeping .
Room was Booked for 3 persons but only a pair of sleepers provided.
We Have to call Again and the housekeeping staff for sleepers , toothbrushes , Extra bed

But Behavior Of staff is Excellent they are helping and Understanding.
I wish That Staff of this hotel should read review.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms Are GOOD
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sampurna03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nestled in the heart of new friend's colony and flanked by central market, the location could not be better for the Suryaa in New Delhi.
Central Market provided me one of the best bars and kebab dinners -it's really safe food since it's freshly cooked. My meals always ended with a 25 rupees sweet"paan" from the paan shop in central market..
Mc Donald's is less than a stone's throw from the hotel....
Only downside was no swimming pool during winter..gym was great with helpful staff...staff at reception did a fabulous job to direct me to Greater Kailash (GK)1 for my shopping and gastronomic needs...chapatti rolls, yum yum!
Room was clean and spacious but had to pay over 1,000 rupees for daily wi-fi and a poor breakfast spread were luckily not enough to dampen my spirit...

Room Tip: High floor gives a slightly picturesque view of delhi roads barring the fog
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalvin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.5 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#41 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Today New Delhi Okhla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#59 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suryaa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suryaa New Delhi

Property: The Suryaa New Delhi
Address: New Friends Colony | Community Centre, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Suryaa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suryaa, New Delhi with its host of facilities and services is designed to meet your business and personal needs. Our 244 well-appointed guestrooms and suites are elegantly designed and the delectable dining options, technologically advanced conferencing features, exquisite recreation facilities as well as warm and attentive service are just some of the things that make The Suryaa, New Delhi a preferred destination.The hotel is in close proximity to the world-renowned Apollo Hospital & the Escorts Heart Institute. A Shopping arcade and other recreation facilities are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Suryaa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suryaa New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Delhi
Crowneplaza Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing