We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Suryaa New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Suryaa New Delhi
Ranked #42 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The surya is an excellent place to stay.. Excellent service & prompt service and yummy food- !! only hitch was room was not sound proof enough so could hear ppl walking in teh corridor middle of night at times.. Except that the place is a sheer delight to stay :-) strongly recommended..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheetal R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    485
    217
    57
    41
See reviews for
209
361
103
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you have a good deal and simply need a decent room to stay -- this hotel should not be a problem. The rooms are ok -- a bit chilly in February.
But do not expect an international standard 5-star service.

Sometimes the cleaning staff will tell you that they are shifting duty tomorrow -- you would wonder why they are telling you this. You will soon find out that they want you to give them money (tip) today / now.

You often have to repeat your request for a coffee at breakfast or for a piece of soap to be brought to the room etc. At times, a cleaning staff may ring your doorbell and before you answer, just open the door with a master key and come in to clean your room.

It is something you may consider trivial -- try putting on a smily face as a way of saying hello at 0730 when you go for an early breakfast at the restaurant. You may sometimes feel like you are the staff and the waiters are indifferent or angry customers. Also, there are one or two staff with dark suits who feel grumpy to customers -- don't know why they are working in a hotel.

Also, aside from the basic accomodation, a lot of added-on services seem expensive and outsourced. For example, internet, transportation from airport to hotel... They seem to charge high price and quality was not too great. If you need the extra services, check the price and quality first.

I recommend this hotel for people looking for a decent place to stay.
But if you are expecting an international standard 5-star service, be aware.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7year3good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I Am Currently in my room here. Smell is poor no freshness in air which we do expect when u enter such a reputed hotel. When i checked my room Mini bar refrigerator was out of order. they got it replaced in about 25 mins . Bathrooms are too small for u if are blessed with good height bath tub is for kids not for you. carpet has a very bad smell.

I Purchased Internet Pack for 24 hrs but has a pathetic connectivity. I Have to call IT Team Again and again.
Again My Coffee maker was out of order and it took also about 20 mins
to replace
This is the worst experience i ever had in a 5 start hotel
Although Location is Excellent You can reach here without any pain.

Surprisingly Food here is of Excellent Quality.

I stayed in 402 and 324 . Both Rooms are good but are not Maintained properly by housekeeping .
Room was Booked for 3 persons but only a pair of sleepers provided.
We Have to call Again and the housekeeping staff for sleepers , toothbrushes , Extra bed

But Behavior Of staff is Excellent they are helping and Understanding.
I wish That Staff of this hotel should read review.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms Are GOOD
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sampurna03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nestled in the heart of new friend's colony and flanked by central market, the location could not be better for the Suryaa in New Delhi.
Central Market provided me one of the best bars and kebab dinners -it's really safe food since it's freshly cooked. My meals always ended with a 25 rupees sweet"paan" from the paan shop in central market..
Mc Donald's is less than a stone's throw from the hotel....
Only downside was no swimming pool during winter..gym was great with helpful staff...staff at reception did a fabulous job to direct me to Greater Kailash (GK)1 for my shopping and gastronomic needs...chapatti rolls, yum yum!
Room was clean and spacious but had to pay over 1,000 rupees for daily wi-fi and a poor breakfast spread were luckily not enough to dampen my spirit...

Room Tip: High floor gives a slightly picturesque view of delhi roads barring the fog
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalvin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The overall experience was good, worth trying for business stay as it is centrally located and aptly priced. The rooms were clean and well laid out, ample options for dinning though sometimes the service was a little slow but manageable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anshuman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night at the suryaa on new years eve. The hotel itself is very pleasant and I felt very secure considering the surroundings. It was only a 30min drive to all the tourist sites and that is only down to the crazy traffic in Delhi. We had a great Gala dinner at the hotel the staff couldn't be more attentive and polite. The food was really yummy too. We had good room service and as we had a 4 am start they provided us with a take out breakfast which was awesome. The only thing that did bug us was having one of the room cleaners watched us go into our room and then knock on the door to provide us with free slippers and shoe polish and expect us to tip him. Regardless I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kloug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first night in India, the hotel was not run down within its own location but everything is relative I suppose. The food was very good tasty curries and hearty breakfasts. a money changer just a few minutes walk away and also a handy place to buy beer and wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digbydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.5 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#41 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Today New Delhi Okhla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#58 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suryaa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suryaa New Delhi

Property: The Suryaa New Delhi
Address: New Friends Colony | Community Centre, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Suryaa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suryaa, New Delhi with its host of facilities and services is designed to meet your business and personal needs. Our 244 well-appointed guestrooms and suites are elegantly designed and the delectable dining options, technologically advanced conferencing features, exquisite recreation facilities as well as warm and attentive service are just some of the things that make The Suryaa, New Delhi a preferred destination.The hotel is in close proximity to the world-renowned Apollo Hospital & the Escorts Heart Institute. A Shopping arcade and other recreation facilities are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Suryaa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suryaa New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Delhi
Crowneplaza Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing