We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place to enjoy like heaven”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #182 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
delhi
1 review
“awesome place to enjoy like heaven”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

"i stayed in Hotel Ashoka last year in nov 2009. i went there 4 my business meeting. all facilities at this hotel were very excellent. i fully appreciate there effort..."‎

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalitdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    189
    127
    80
    79
See reviews for
67
70
51
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

During my visit a felt that the service quality provided by the hotel was not as expected and also not worth the price they were charging. But overall the stay was satisfactory and comfortable

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank anky2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

The hotel needs a full upgrade. Although when you enter inside the common areas, you will get the impression that it's luxurious. But when you enter your room everything seems not as you thought. However there are a big mis of shops on-site and the swimming pool is nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qi_Energy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Some seasons you get a lot of rush in Delhi hotels, this govt hotel Ashoka might be a nice place you could find room.
Well connected place at Janpath, Delhi, the central business district is very closeby.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukesh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The Hotel is one of the best 5 star + hotels that I've ever frequented. It is located at Chanakyapuri very cloe to most of the Embassies & is truly one of the most posh areas of India's political capital.

The rooms are big & spacious, the room service, cleanliness is up to date.

The restaurant, & the breakfast spread is really good.

The hotel is also very nice to host seminars & conferences with a crowd of over 300 people.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kamran_kharbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

from the insulting woman at reception who barked "Passports!" without bothering to greet us, to the four men who escorted us to our room and then held out four palms for their exquisite help in opening the door to our tomb - sorry, room - to the three women who came out of the their cubbyhole near the elevators to hold out their palms each time we passed, to the shower handle that came off in my hand, to the bath that flooded the bathroom, to the comped split of 'champagne' that tasted and smelled of nail polish, to the surly man in charge of currency exchange, to the foul breakfast buffet, the Ashok makes a total mockery of the "luxury hotel" concept. It's like putting up for the night with a gang of extortionists.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank netsukeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Ashok Hotel by itself is not extraordinary, however we found about F-Bar Nightclub (also known as Fashion Bar by FTV) through a website called www.indiasbestbars.com. I checked the site India's Best Bars to find out about various clubs in India and found Fbar in the most detailed format with images, events, and virtual tours.. Fbar was one of the most international clubs in India, and to my surprise it was at a Hotel which was one of the most average hotels. Then I find Fbar Delhi is only a rental at Ashok Hotel and not owned by the company. Still, if you want to stay at Ashok Hotel, Fbar Delhi is the best thing that can happen to you every night! Which makes other hotels boring. If you want to know more about Fbar and Ashok, visit www.indiasbestbars.com.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vick_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#458 of 716 in New Delhi
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#244 of 716 in New Delhi
96 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
2,020 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 716 in New Delhi
2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#63 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing