We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with poor service and grimy rooms!”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #209 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Lesson learned: Never stay at a government-run hotel. The Ashok is a tired, grimy, grubby hotel. The rooms are dirty and dated, the service is surly and unatentive. I couldn't beleive this hotel was given a 5-star rating....until I found out that it was government-run/owned....The Taj hotels (Taj Mahal and Taj Palace) are FAR more pleasant at around the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TonySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 611 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2006

I can't believe how bad this hotel has gotten. I originally was here in the early 80s when it was one of the best hotels in Delhi. With the exception of cable TV, I don't think the rooms have been updated since then. The beds are uncomfortable, the hot water is almost non existent, the paint is peeling , the internet service is one of the worst I have had in India and to top it off the food is awful at best and expensive. The sad thing is I originally was excited to be able to stay here after so many years. Between the lousy food, the crappy rooms and the creepy guys (security & maids) in the hallways - this is one hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sookiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Latvia
411
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We where surprised arriving at 5* hotel, where we found grey towels and bed linen. All over the hotel were signs of government ownership - too much of staff, equipment out of order, etc. I expect for that price you can get much better deal.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow Scotland
14
Reviewed May 18, 2006

I was staying at the Ashok hotel between the 11th and 16th of May 2006 for business reasons. During my stay I found the rooms to be unclean and unsafe! whilst moving the hairdryer I received an electric shock. I reported this to the duty manager and asked to speak with the general manager. I was informed that the general manager was in the hotel but was in a meeting and unable to see me! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hove, England
12
Reviewed April 15, 2006

The room was very large, the furniture was grubby and tatty. The bathroom smelled, the bath did not drain, the bidet did not work, the W.C. splashed your trousers when flushed. The mini bar was empty. The balcony was very dirty, paint peeling off wood work and no balcony furniture. The windows were cracked, putty coming away and dangerous to open.
The staff were rude, dismissive and unhelpful. I was pushed by one member of staff. The dining room was small and the food below par. There was no bar available to residents (closed for functions). One could not obtain a drink without going into a restaurant.
All this for 315$US per night B/B!!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Location: In Between Airport, Sites and Central City
Service: Above Average
Price: High for location, but worth the rating
Room: Within the rating

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomeoCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Hotel Ashok is a big hotel in the diplomatic district of new delhi (that is not close to any tourist destination !). it has many restaurants and shops and the lobby is Ok, But Ashok hotel was nothing near being five star. I would rather call it something in between one and two star hotel. "Cleanliness" had no definition in that hotel : my bed sheet was dirty and stained. the minibar refrigirator didn't work and it was empty. The toilette mirror was rusty. I really didn't dare touch anything in that hotel as it seemd that it had not been cleaned for the past 20 years.
Although I have to admit that there were two parts in this hotel and the other part seemed to be Ok.
I stayed there in Feb. 2006 for 3 nights and I would not be back there ever again.

5  Thank Nader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#427 of 736 in New Delhi
154 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#283 of 736 in New Delhi
102 reviews
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#45 of 736 in New Delhi
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,139 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#76 of 736 in New Delhi
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $116 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing