We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vile hotel masking as a grand one”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #182 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“vile hotel masking as a grand one”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

from the insulting woman at reception who barked "Passports!" without bothering to greet us, to the four men who escorted us to our room and then held out four palms for their exquisite help in opening the door to our tomb - sorry, room - to the three women who came out of the their cubbyhole near the elevators to hold out their palms each time we passed, to the shower handle that came off in my hand, to the bath that flooded the bathroom, to the comped split of 'champagne' that tasted and smelled of nail polish, to the surly man in charge of currency exchange, to the foul breakfast buffet, the Ashok makes a total mockery of the "luxury hotel" concept. It's like putting up for the night with a gang of extortionists.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank netsukeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    189
    127
    80
    79
See reviews for
67
70
51
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Ashok Hotel by itself is not extraordinary, however we found about F-Bar Nightclub (also known as Fashion Bar by FTV) through a website called www.indiasbestbars.com. I checked the site India's Best Bars to find out about various clubs in India and found Fbar in the most detailed format with images, events, and virtual tours.. Fbar was one of the most international clubs in India, and to my surprise it was at a Hotel which was one of the most average hotels. Then I find Fbar Delhi is only a rental at Ashok Hotel and not owned by the company. Still, if you want to stay at Ashok Hotel, Fbar Delhi is the best thing that can happen to you every night! Which makes other hotels boring. If you want to know more about Fbar and Ashok, visit www.indiasbestbars.com.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vick_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

chandigarh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2010

nice to stay for short time

  • Liked — in centre place
  • Disliked — about neatness and services
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raj2010Chandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathinda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

the hotel is so beautiful and clean.i really loved the hospitality and cooperation of hotel staff. would like to visit again and again.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manikg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadakpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Oh this was a hard time initally as when i reached there i lost my luggage keys.

The staff was helpful and really helped me out. This hotel is on my list whan am in a mood of savings. its an economical and yet not compromising at all.

It has everyhthing one wants ofr a papering stay but who cares if the bathroom is not 20 by 20 its fantastic and serves all your needs.

I am glad opted to stay there.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank sayitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

There is nothing particularly fantastic about this place but all the small atmospheric tidbits add to a wonderful stay. The rooms are small but just the whiff of the lobby as soon as you enter is enough to make you forget your worries and just relax. I'm not sure how that happens but it nearly always does. I've been coming to this place for many years now and I still come back.
PS: Don't forget to take a sniff of their cafeteria/restaurant.

  • Liked — All the aromas
  • Disliked — Rooms can be bigger
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank walkingaroundintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I frequently visit New Delhi but chose this hotel for a new nights in particular because of it's famous 'F-Bar', a club which is considered to be one of the best in New Delhi. The hotel is said to be a 5 star and upon entering I did not see that. Carpets were musty and when we took the elevator to our room, it shook, made noise and was extremely slow. The twin room was ok. There was a LCD tv, desk, armchair, lots of lamps, free wireless internet. The rooms had low ceilings and the bathroom was quite small which was a little disappointing. We found that it was temperature of the room was always too cold, despite turning the a/c off at some points of time. We dined at Sagar Ratna on our first night which was a good south indian restaurant. We also ordered some snacks (pakoras, samosas, fries) from room service which were also very tasty. We ate in the coffee shop on our second night. We had the buffet, which was actually terrible. The food seemed like it had been cooked hours ago and there was little choice for a vegetarian such as myself. Also had the chance to dine at Mashrabiya which had incredible lebanese cuisine. Food here was a little more expensive, but well worth it. In the night, my friend fell ill and we needed a some over the counter medicine. Upon asking the concierge, he told me that I would be charged 2500 rupees if I wanted this medication (which is extortion for a couple of pills which cost 50 rupees!). The concierge told me it was because he would send somebody to retrieve it in a taxi, which is ridiculous in a country where taxi rides and labour is cheap. I honestly did not expect this to be 5 star service, especially in a time where we really needed some help. In addition, major renovation work was being done so on our way to 'F-Bar' so we passed rubble and sheeted areas which was unpleasant. F Bar had a nice atmosphere, nice cocktails too, though the club played a lot of hindi music. All in all, this ‘5 star’ hotel was disappointing for the amount we paid for it. I always found Indian hotels to have the best service in the world, but with The Ashok, I was disappointed.

  • Liked — F Bar, Mashrabiya restaurant
  • Disliked — Terrible service, musty old rooms
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#458 of 716 in New Delhi
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#244 of 716 in New Delhi
96 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
2,020 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 716 in New Delhi
2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#63 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing