We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking time at the Ashok” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #158 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
A TripAdvisor Member
“Shocking time at the Ashok”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2006

I was staying at the Ashok hotel between the 11th and 16th of May 2006 for business reasons. During my stay I found the rooms to be unclean and unsafe! whilst moving the hairdryer I received an electric shock. I reported this to the duty manager and asked to speak with the general manager. I was informed that the general manager was in the hotel but was in a meeting and unable to see me! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    183
    124
    79
    76
See reviews for
64
69
50
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

The room was very large, the furniture was grubby and tatty. The bathroom smelled, the bath did not drain, the bidet did not work, the W.C. splashed your trousers when flushed. The mini bar was empty. The balcony was very dirty, paint peeling off wood work and no balcony furniture. The windows were cracked, putty coming away and dangerous to open.
The staff were rude, dismissive and unhelpful. I was pushed by one member of staff. The dining room was small and the food below par. There was no bar available to residents (closed for functions). One could not obtain a drink without going into a restaurant.
All this for 315$US per night B/B!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

Location: In Between Airport, Sites and Central City
Service: Above Average
Price: High for location, but worth the rating
Room: Within the rating

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomeoCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2006

Hotel Ashok is a big hotel in the diplomatic district of new delhi (that is not close to any tourist destination !). it has many restaurants and shops and the lobby is Ok, But Ashok hotel was nothing near being five star. I would rather call it something in between one and two star hotel. "Cleanliness" had no definition in that hotel : my bed sheet was dirty and stained. the minibar refrigirator didn't work and it was empty. The toilette mirror was rusty. I really didn't dare touch anything in that hotel as it seemd that it had not been cleaned for the past 20 years.
Although I have to admit that there were two parts in this hotel and the other part seemed to be Ok.
I stayed there in Feb. 2006 for 3 nights and I would not be back there ever again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Nader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2006

We stayed at the Ashok for one night in February as our Tour Company (Compass Tours) told us that the Park hotel was not available due to President Bush's visit to India. We were sent to dirty rooms that seemed like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks. We spent our afternoon trying to get cleaner rooms rather than sight seeing. We finally got some rooms that were a little cleaner than the ones we first saw and ended up staying there. We had paid the same rate as the Park Hotel (we had stayed at the Park earlier in our tour)where the rooms were a 100% better than the Ashok. The management was neither friendly nor helpful. Try to avoid staying here at all cost.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2006

We stayed at the Ashok in Feb 06 for 3 nights there was 2 adults, 2 teenangers and a toddler. We stayed in a suite on Floor 5, this was well sized and we had 2 single beds put in the spacious living room. It seemed that there are 2 types of rooms, standard and superior, the superior ones are accessed by marble lined floors, the standard is by carpet. On our floor was an attendant 24/7 who was very attentive. The room was good (uk 4 star std) the bathroom was not as good but adequate. The hotel overall is quite dated but in Delhi is probably quite modern. There is a lot of staff around, who we found very helpful particularly with our toddler. The restaurants are ok, but I would recommend eating out. One night we ate at the hotels Frontier restaurant, food was northern indian fare, very good but at western pricing, later in the week we ate out for the same quality at 1/4 the price. There is a health club which is actually not owned by the hotel, it has very good facilities but if you want to use the gym only, they make you use the basic outdoor changing rooms as opposed to the clubs impressive facilities. Overall we enjoyed our stay but you must try and get a superior room/suite, it is worth paying a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narnia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2006

What a dump.

Stay at hotels such as Oberoi which are in a similar price range but deliver first-class amenities and services on all fronts.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MentalMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#480 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#257 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#23 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#73 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing