We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ashok
Nearby Hotels
$137
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$148
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$134
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$101
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$174
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$181
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$272
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$172
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveler rating
104
206
155
93
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
206
155
93
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrontier restauranthuge hotellobby managergrand hotelrooms are bigroom service isoudhembassiesambience
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 655 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Hotel Ashok is a big hotel in the diplomatic district of new delhi (that is not close to any tourist destination !). it has many restaurants and shops and the lobby is Ok, But Ashok hotel was nothing near being five star. I would rather call it something in between one and two star hotel. "Cleanliness" had no definition in that hotel : my bed sheet was dirty and stained. the minibar refrigirator didn't work and it was empty. The toilette mirror was rusty. I really didn't dare touch anything in that hotel as it seemd that it had not been cleaned for the past 20 years.
Although I have to admit that there were two parts in this hotel and the other part seemed to be Ok.
I stayed there in Feb. 2006 for 3 nights and I would not be back there ever again.

5  Thank Nader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fremont, California
12
Reviewed February 24, 2006

We stayed at the Ashok for one night in February as our Tour Company (Compass Tours) told us that the Park hotel was not available due to President Bush's visit to India. We were sent to dirty rooms that seemed like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks. We spent our afternoon trying to get cleaner rooms rather than sight seeing. We finally got some rooms that were a little cleaner than the ones we first saw and ended up staying there. We had paid the same rate as the Park Hotel (we had stayed at the Park earlier in our tour)where the rooms were a 100% better than the Ashok. The management was neither friendly nor helpful. Try to avoid staying here at all cost.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

We stayed at the Ashok in Feb 06 for 3 nights there was 2 adults, 2 teenangers and a toddler. We stayed in a suite on Floor 5, this was well sized and we had 2 single beds put in the spacious living room. It seemed that there are 2 types of rooms, standard and superior, the superior ones are accessed by marble lined floors, the standard is by carpet. On our floor was an attendant 24/7 who was very attentive. The room was good (uk 4 star std) the bathroom was not as good but adequate. The hotel overall is quite dated but in Delhi is probably quite modern. There is a lot of staff around, who we found very helpful particularly with our toddler. The restaurants are ok, but I would recommend eating out. One night we ate at the hotels Frontier restaurant, food was northern indian fare, very good but at western pricing, later in the week we ate out for the same quality at 1/4 the price. There is a health club which is actually not owned by the hotel, it has very good facilities but if you want to use the gym only, they make you use the basic outdoor changing rooms as opposed to the clubs impressive facilities. Overall we enjoyed our stay but you must try and get a superior room/suite, it is worth paying a bit more.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank domdosanjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

What a dump.

Stay at hotels such as Oberoi which are in a similar price range but deliver first-class amenities and services on all fronts.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MentalMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2006

General: There is a big gap between terrible and okay but some problems. This property falls somewhere in the middle but closer to bad.

Front desk: To small and unorganized to handle more then three guests at a time. Took 25 minutes with a reservation to check in even after I got to interact with the miserable woman working behind the counter.

Interior: Carpeting in hallways threadbare and dirty.
Room: International plug did not work, no internet cable as purported, and remote was non functional. So working or relaxing was more complicated then it should be. The scale is so big that if the hotel is not full it is almost depressing eating in a 300 person restaurant during the only hour you have with a business guest and you are the only two in the house.

Restaurants: Lots of options lots of range in quality. Korean rest was good, Chinese was not so good, the breakfast place could not handle the volume even a small event on the property. The new bar Steel is the best option this place had it was freshly done with good staff that tried and a great relaxed scene. It was the only real haven there where I did not dislike my stay.

Conclusion: I travel the world and this was part of a 10 day trip in India and I had much better results at other hotels so this is not about India or cultural differences. Everything in this hotel seemed to be old and tired and interactions with the staff were harder or more complicated than it needed to be. If you do anything other than sleep there as a business guest the frustration took more than it should out of you by the end of the day. It was an exercise in patience all day.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bham211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews