We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Place”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #182 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
NCR
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Business Place”
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Great Location
Best Food
Good Pool
Good Business Facilities
Great House Keeping
Helpful staff

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    189
    127
    80
    79
See reviews for
67
70
51
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2009

this hotel is situated in a good location....and can say...its value for money

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
Thank arnesh_sahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

As an invited participant of an' International Stakeholders' consultation,I was accommodated in 'The Ashok',Chanakyapuri,New Delhi.

An aristocratic name in the diplomatic enclave of the capital city raised our expectations to perhaps somewhat unreasonable limits.

There were major problems with the attitude and approach of the staff which started considering you as subjects of the royalty(a subject /Praja of Maharaja/Emperor Ashok) the moment they realized that for the 'second class guests' everything is on the house/to be paid by the organizers.

Even an offer to utilize the services against a payment was looked in a dubious manner with not so polite insistence on submission of all the details of credit card etc.

I am sorry but even after a passage of more than 3 years I do not remeber a moment after the seesions which I enjoyed there though it could have been very easily done.

I still cherish the time spent at Hotel Japhu,Kohima,Nagaland,Taj,Chikmaglur,Hotel Oberoi,Calcutta,Holiday Inn,Genva,Hotel Kigali,Rwanda and Taj Colombo Sri Lanks etc. mainly beacuse of the welcoming and accomodating attitude of the respective staff.

Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Orjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

The thing that is going for The Ashok is the fact that at ~Rs.5K a night (inclusive of taxes), it is still cheaper than more of its counterparts in this part of the city. Nothing can take away from the superbly central and convenient location in Delhi.

The 24x7 cafe (where I have had to eat aplenty given the mostly overnight stays here) is mediocre, but I hear the other restaurants are pretty nice.

The rooms are okay - glaringly old-style and old, although I hear some renovation was planned.

Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tempoeffects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

The ashoka hotel is one of the grandest hotels in India built by the govrnment. The hotel has exceptional facilties - the gym and swimming pool is very good. The price is very high though for the qulity of service and good. The service is more govrnmentish with people wanting tips for even small work. The gym is one of the best in India and attracts the political class and sportsmen. The food is good and has signficant variety. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to spend a short time in New Delhi and needs access to central delhi

  • Liked — Location, gym
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirayuwadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This is a very lousy place with nothing great about it and comes with a very high tariff rates. Everything is very costly and rooms are not well maintained. the only exception is the its Restaurant Frontier which serves good food.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hiadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

shabby, smelly , tired, and that was just the staff. Poorly trained they did not have a clue. The fixtures and fittings were poor, the views awful and generally just disappointing. Our deluxe room had a comfortable bed and that was about it. One scruufy towel each, a grubby bathroom and no sign of any love or care.
Of the six restaurants in the hotel only two were open and one of them was just vile. The other was average but top prices.Our 3 1/2 night stay cost £700 - do not stay here.
This was billed as a five star hotel with matching prices - I suggest they invest in some lessons from the Taj Group - felt completely ripped off and we were both very ill into the bargain. hope it loses down - would like my money back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#458 of 716 in New Delhi
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#244 of 716 in New Delhi
96 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
2,020 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 716 in New Delhi
2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#63 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing