We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star stay in Delhi!”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #203 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed for one month at the Ashok Hotel and it was wonderful!! The staff took care of me and my room looked just perfect when i got back after a long tiring day...the location is just in the heart of Delhi and it is close to almost everything essential...a beautiful lady comes to talk to you every morning to check if everything is ok in the room and if you are enjoying your stay...Ashok is a great choice for a 5-Star stay in New Delhi!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel_Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from hotel The Ashok!

I truly thank you for taking out your valuable time & sharing your experience with us. It is always our earnest endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is most enjoyable. I am glad to note that your nearly a month long stay was enjoyable & you had a pleasant time with us.

Your kind words of appreciation about the services & facilities are encouraging for us in the quest of striving for excellence. Your generous praise has been shared with our guest relations department for whom your words are tremendous source of inspiration.

I look forward to welcome you again!

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 587 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Ashok probably is the largest but the most ill managed 5 star hotel in Delhi. Huge area, amazing structure & architecture but the stay at the hotel is a complete turn off. The staff is unconcerned with your arrival at the hotel. I had to carry my 3 pieces of luggage on my own, first to the reception, then to the room. The room carpet was dirty & stinky. The cupboards was open & needed repair. the tea kettle was dirty too. The bathroom is big but again, having a strange smell. The room service was pathetic, with no one appearing despite 3 calls. At the restaurant, I chose to order a-la-carte for dinner, than the buffet. Here again the service was very very slow. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for patronizing The Ashok and sparing your valuable time for sharing your feedback with us at length. I understand from your feedback that your overall experience with us was not up to your expectation & you were dissatisfied with certain services.

We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places of improvement. We will most definitely learn from the concerns highlighted by you and use this feedback as a tool to upgrade our product & services. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team to ensure that we do even better.

I look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again & assure you of our best services in future.

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashok.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Worst experience in a hotel !

- no electricity for half a day
- room cleaning will not clean until you are in the room. You can call as much as u like.
- requested a microwave in the room which didn't work .
- hair dryer doesn't work
- all lights go on and off in the night every 10 mins entire night
- room service will not keep your child's meds in their freezer as a hotel policy. Mrs Das the lady in charge of room service was v rude and said she didn't care if we complained she has been doing this for many years.
- the bathroom shower gels and soap tubes etc require a pin to open them each time or the liquid will not come out.
- bathroom gets flooded as flooring not level after each shower.
- 3 of our friends stayed with us on the same floor as we come to India together and they all hated the hotel. Even the US motels are better. Am sorry to have taken them here.
- cashier at the front will get annoyed if you change currency or get change with him as 'that's not his job'.

Go to India every year and stay in the ITC Maurya which is superb but this time stayed at Ashoka for a wedding there and have vowed never again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Radhikamathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from hotel The Ashok!!!

We thank you for your recent stay at The Ashok & sharing your valuable feedback. We value our guests and work towards providing the best services at all times & always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places of improvement.

While we apologize for the inconvenience caused, we assure you that we are looking into this matter. May we request you to kindly share your contact details as we would like to get in touch with you regarding each issue highlighted with you.

We do hope you stay with us again and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

was in this hotel for 2 nights and had the suite. the room was remodled and was nice and good.
the hotel is very big and rooms are big as well.
servise was good - no complains and everyone tried to do thiers best.
the breakfast was ok but not a 5 star hotel breakfast.
location is excellent.
gym is nice and good but pool was very dirty.
All in all - i have mix feeling about the hotel. it seems it had royal past and was needing the small things to be fix in order to have a great future.
someone need to think about the small details in this hotel in order to make it much better and it is not with a lot of work and efforth but with small touch -for instance the noise that you have always from outside...the speed of service (wanted iron machine and it took so lond that it was usless when it reached) the handle of the bathroom that was broken and no one care about...etc...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benny-rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

I thank you for sparing your valuable time & reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you liked our renovated rooms and various facilities of the hotel. Although we strive to ensure that our guests experience the best possible service during their stay it seems we fell a little short of our goals this time.

We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places of improvement. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team to ensure that we do even better. We will most definitely learn from the concerns highlighted by you and use this feedback as a tool to upgrade our product & services.

I look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again & assure you of our best services in future.

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night of 1St Nov 2013 and did not had good experience. This is a huge property with around 550 rooms. Check in was ok we were given room on 7th floor which was good and recently renovated. House keeping was ok
The hotel was almost empty with hardly any guests and their all restaurants were empty with not even a single guest neither at lunch nor at dinner time so we opted to have dinner outside
They have a nice pool and spa which has been leased to a private company the pool did not had any costumes neither on rent and nor available for purchase the guy asked us to purchase it from market which is around 10 kms far the staff at the pool were not too eager to entertain hotel guests and were concerned about their members only this gave me very negative feeling about their attitudes
the breakfast was just ok with more of staff around than guests. At the time of check out I was handed over the bill and to my surprise taxes were charged on their so CALLED rack rates. I was given room for 7k and was told that it's rate is 14k so I have to pay tax of 1400 whereas it came to 700 on the tariff. After much resistance and waste of time this issue was solved
This is a typical government run hotel where the property is huge but hospitality is missing, staff is like government babus it seems they are obliging us by giving service to us

This is a no no place will never stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitpartap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback with us.

I am glad that you shared your concerns with us and gave us an opportunity to explain. We regret for any inconvenience caused over the rates and taxation. However, we would like to clarify that all hotels across Delhi, including us, apply the same taxation structure which is a matter of government policy.

I, indeed, am pleased to learn that you liked the room, services rendered by front office &housekeeping staff and infrastructure of the hotel. Regarding the services extended by Spa, your feedback has been shared with General Manager (Amatrra) for thorough investigation and corrective action.

May I request you not to let this experience mar the impression of the hotel, as it is our earnest endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is truly most enjoyable.

Look forward for an opportunity to serve you!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed for 1 night. I stayed on 7th floor and room was front facing. Its room is spacious and has all the amenities. It lack a pleasant feel despite all amenities. It is an old hotel but look really very old. The bathroom is good but had no bath tub. I tried food at coffee shop and room as well. The food presentability can be better but breakfast lack variety at coffee shop.The room was noisy especially when the announcement about driver and car was made. I could hear announcement till 4am and early morning hence could not sleep peacefully. The best part is its location,very close to best sights of city and just opposite british embassy. It is a highly secure place and big lawns.

Room Tip: Swimming pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drparmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Ashok, New Delhi and I am delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay.

Set in the prime location of Delhi’s Diplomatic Enclave, The Ashok is located in the safest & centralized areas of Delhi. The hotel has got varied and large inventory of 550 well appointed rooms suiting the taste of every individual. We wish you had placed a request to us for a room with bath tub at the time of reservation or check-in & we would be happy to provide you the room of your choice. Nevertheless, we have made a note of it for future and we would ensure that you get room with a bathtub and not cubicles in your subsequent visit.

Regarding the variation of food menu, your valuable suggestions have been shared with our Executive chef & Coffee shop Manager. I am pretty confident that you would see a markable change when you visit us next.

I look forward to welcome you again!!!

Warm Regards,
Goutam Chatterjee.
Goutamchatterjee@theashok.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beatuful hotel, spaciaous rooms ,ample restaurant and well maintained lobby makes it one of best hotels in delhi . The staff is cooperative and helpful,service is excellent but only thing which was monotonous was the coffee shop breakfast which was same almost everyday staff is cooperative and helpful,service is excellent but only thing which was same almost everyday

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram15081990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

I thank you for sparing your valuable time & reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great time with us & liked various services and facilities of the hotel. Here, at The Ashok, it is always our earnest endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is truly most enjoyable.

Your feedback regarding the breakfast spread has been shared with the Executive Chef and Coffee shop Manager for necessary action.

We look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Regards,
Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#419 of 715 in New Delhi
151 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 715 in New Delhi
3,970 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#238 of 715 in New Delhi
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 715 in New Delhi
2,098 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#66 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing