We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashok..1st night in India”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #202 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ashok Hotel for 2nts in September, 2012. I stayed in one of the renovated rooms. It was lovely, however there were no face cloths, and no top sheets on the bed. Canadians, or North Americans do not want to be next to a comforter that hasn't been cleaned daily, as sheets are. It is not hygenic. You need to address this. Also the rooms near the front/night club..left me without sleep for 2 nts. Very loud. The staff was very attentive, the breakfast staff very helpful, dinner was excellent..I don't understand the food complaints. I hope to bring a group to this hotel Oct. 2013..I hope all goes well. Wifi. was non existant for my stay. All in all though a lovely hotel, despite poor bedding..get some sheets!

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room, not near the night club...disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 587 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a conference in this hotel in October 2012. The organization of the conference was excellent; the services provided by the hotel met international standards and there was a great cultural show one evening. The food was excellent.

We hired a car from the hotel to tour the city. The cost was reasonable , the car clean and comfortable and the driver as crazy as any other driver in Delhi. The tour desk was helpful to suggest places to visit. They did not offer any group sightseeing tour, only a private hiring of a driver. So you had to choose your own itinerary and places to visit.

There are several good restaurants in the hotel, including a vegetarian one where the food is excellent. Unfortunately, oyu cannot charge your meals on the room, and they don't take credit card nor US dollars. So you have to pay cash in rupees.

They have a large number of shops that sell local handicrafts and fabrics. Strangely enough, there is no place where you can buy practical things like toothpaste for example.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's not the worst place I have ever stayed but the shine on the Ashok is wafer thin at times.

I stayed in what I think was a renovated room. Excellent bed, good pillows, working amenities and reasonable food tried to make the stay good, but management needs to look beyond the foyer to understand how a guest may feel.

The biggest beware I would provide to any occupant is to watch the room doors. This is an old building, so some things can be overlooked but hotel door rooms that self close should fully close, not snag on the latch. I was initially alerted when I realised in the middle of the night that there was too much light coming in around the door. A quick push fixed things but made me alert. I noticed that almost half of the doors on my floor were not latching properly as staff wandered in and out doing the cleaning.

The other issue is noise. The hotel has an active nightclub, and staying in a room overlooking the entry is absolute murder between midnight and about 4am. The exit strategy for night club patrons is to spill out, start and rev the car with the music fully up, then talk for around 30 minutes. There are plenty of staff around who must know how loud it is, so this appears to be part of the marketing strategy. Noise management is then perfecetd with the hall vaccuming strategy which starts at about 630-7am, killing off whatever other sleep you were hoping for.

My final issue would be the sheer number of staff. I know this is a government run hotel in India, but the sheer numbers of people hanging around the halls is creepy. I don't think I successfully made it out of my room and to the lift without being scrutinised once. While some might find this reassuring, I found myself worrying about my every movement.

This is a lovely building with some great assets, but desperately needs some professional attention both inside and out to get it near the rating they believe is warrented. There is no point wiping the pool benches, when the pool edges are caked in pidgeon poo.

Room Tip: NOT - NOT overlooking the arrival driveway or nightclub entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My last two nights in India were spent at the Ashok, a 5 star hotel, with great safety in mind, and services internationally travelers should have. Points to notice is that staff were gracious, and willing to help, but for a top graded hotel, were slow at times, and front of house staff were not fully able to converse in english. The plus sides to staying, was the newly decorated rooms (make sure you ask), which were the gem of the hotel, with the most comfortable bed I had during my whole stay in India. Room service was fast (20mins), and food was as exactly as hoped, with kitchen request handled well. If you are looking for a safe, and a hotel that is closer to international standards, this is a good place. With a few changes, this could be great hotel but not yet a 5 star at it's current room rate, nether the less, a pleasant stay at the end of my himalayas trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly decorated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstantTravelerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place look grand, has been built very well but service is a big let down. The reception staff, specially the check out guys never got a training even of basic courtesy.
The rooms are of a nice size and comfortable. They have a good big lcd tv and a cool bose audio system. Complimentary wi fi in all rooms. The rooms are the best part of the hotel. Although doors get jammed sometimes and they dont bother repairing them.
Breakfast looks good but the attitude of the staff, barring an exception, is careless. No glasses for fruit juice, no one bothers. Many times they are busy chatting among themselves.
The business centre was a real shocker. They make you stand and wait and no one bothers to ask why you are there. After 20 minutes on your persistent query, they tell you it is closing in 10 minutes and the best part, they ask you to get a photocopy of your photo id if you want to make use of the facilities available.
It is a pretty costly place, well built but the service needs a drastic change of attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldoc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stay there during a large international conference and I saw the 2 other comments that I share the same view. The rooms are outdated and really need renovation. 2 other friends of mine has to switch room as the utilities are not working. The small safe in the room is just placed there and can be removed easily. The breakfast choice is limited and no one was serving coffee on one day. I stayed in another international well known chain hotel the day before and the difference s obvious and they are even less expensive. The reception has only 2 staffs working and just not able to handle the flow of guest, they need to take your passport for photocopy elsewhere with no photocopier on site at the reception desk. I do not want to mention Internet and wi Fi access that is so important for international business travellers, it's simply not working and not able to handle the number of guest logging on at the same time. I can only assess it 6 am in the morning.

I agree with the other comment that I would not stay there again

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Homantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Ashok hotel for a recent conference. The hotel is huge, with several restaurants in it and many rooms. You feel completely safe in the hotel, although it is advised that you keep your precious belongings in the safe, which is very easy to use. The beds are very comfortable. However, the internet is not reliable at all. They have decided to have wifi only, so if the wifi is not working there is no other option. If you do manage to get the wifi to work it often stops after a little bit and is quite slow. The breakfast buffet is very nice, with an omelette station. Overall an ok experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a refurbished room as they have very nice and clean modern decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#421 of 715 in New Delhi
151 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,964 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#236 of 715 in New Delhi
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,095 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 715 in New Delhi
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#66 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $91 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing