We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #38 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Here came my holidays....and the selection was Hotel Claridges in Delhi for my trip to the Golden Triangle.
Great hotel , great people, and great services...all being met at one place.
Our stay at this hotel inspired us to come back to our native place and ofcourse...we will definitely stay at Hotel Claridges Delhi

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techsavvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

We had two stays here at either end of a Golden Triangle tour. The hotel was very plush, we had a deluxe room which was spacious and well decorated. Also impressed by the slippers / bathrobe in the wardrobe!

The pool and surrounding area was lovely, just a shame the sun went behind the surrounding buildings pretty early!

Renovations were ongoing during our stay, however did not cause us any real disturbance aside from hearing drilling one afternoon by the pool.

The service was a little variable, and it's this which prevented me rating this as a 5. The door staff, porters & housekeeping staff were excellent - very friendly and chatty. The reception staff were polite but indifferent, and the Pickwicks restaurant staff did not seem particularly interested at all.

We tried the food in the Jade chinese restaurant which was superb, also Pickwicks for breakfast and an evening meal. The food here was excellent, however the service let the place down. Our drinks were forgotten, we asked for extra butter at breakfast which never arrived & the service was extremely slow.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen120640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

this is an oasis! Near the house where Ghandi was shot but you have to turn the gauntlet of beggars,tuktuk drivers and performing kids just to get there!
It is a 20 min taxi ride to Red Fort and other attractions.
Service very good and rooms fine.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left ab fab.Could not fault hotel.If to make a minus it would be the price of food in the restraunt.Other than that perfect

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank aido56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We booked two separate nights at The Claridges; one at the start and one at the end of a two week trip north to the Himalayas. Both arrival times at the hotel were early in the morning. Expecting to wait around for the midday check in, we were greeted by friendly, efficient and polite staff and were found rooms almost immediately - one at 7 o'clock in the morning. Whisked up to our room by a smiling floor manager in an impeccable suit we were given a clean comfy mini suite with a huge bed and huge screen TV. There were no extra charges for the early check ins.
The two restaurants we used were well staffed by smiling, helpful people. Breakfast was a fresh and plentiful buffet with hot choices cooked in front of you. For dinner we chose the European option (there are 4 restaurants). We were escorted by a delightful chatty receptionist to the rear of the building where we were seated on an atmospheric terrace with a stream and billowing muslin drapes. The food was excellent, not quite Michelin, but my steak was cooked just right and a reasonable French red wine at about 20 GBP completed the evening.
Having an afternoon to fill, we walked towards a New Delhi local market. We were stopped by a Tuc Tuc man who promised to show us Delhi. A bit wary but with the assurance of a friendly passer by, we bit the bullet. Kamal, our Tuc Tuc man, as he turned out to be called did show us Delhi. Safely, patiently and with good English he took us to a few of the best sites and to the best place to buy a great silk Kashmiri rug. We can thoroughly recommend Kamal as a reliable and knowledgeable driver. He charged us 300 rupees for the round trip (about 3.75 GBP) including waiting for us when we went sightseeing. He can be found on his mobile - 9899041746 - give him a ring!!
Overall a great Hotel experience - good security (24 hour armed police presence in the background) - lovely staff - everthing worked - good food - a real oasis of calm and charm in the madness that is Delhi.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

What a dreadful experience! We had previously stayed at the Taj Palace - incomparably superior - and found The Claridges grossly inadequate. The refurbishment wasn't complete, we had to have the plumber TWICE in one evening, there was no storage in the bathroom, and the shower soakaway was unable to deal with the inout from the shower. Worst of all, there was hammering going on under our room until 4.30 a.m despite repeated calls to Reception and the Duty Manager. As a result we had a sleep-free night and were far too shattered to do the visits we had planned for the next morning. Totally unacceptable, and never a word of apology, let alone any compensation. The hotel should be thoroughly ashamed of itself.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sixfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

The Claridges hotel in New Delhi was superb, the food in each of the Restaurants was wonderful, the rooms have been refurbished recently and are extremely comfortable and well furnished. There are so many little touches that made it a fantastic stay, everything you need has been thought of and readily available.
I did find it unusual that the Spa was single sex at different times of the day, but this did not mar our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Delhi.

Stayed: August 2009
1  Thank AnneS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,120 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 779 in New Delhi
2,216 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,978 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 779 in New Delhi
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $126 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Claridges India
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Hotel Claridges
The Claridges Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing