We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but needs to be updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #25 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable but needs to be updated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed in a 2nd floor non-smoking room for 2 nights in Dec. 2008. The room was clean and the beds were super comfortable but the hotel rooms/bath had obviously not been updated in a long time whereas the lobby area and bathrooms in the lobby have recenlty had a facelift. Breakfast at the Pickwick's restaurant was outstanding as was the hotel staff/service. We had dinner at Dhaba ( in the hotel) the first night - excellent Indian food with just the right amount of spice. We ate at the hotel's outside restaurant Sevilla (mediterranean) the next night which was fine but nothing special - also a bit pricey for what it offered. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast at Pickwicks
  • Disliked — Sevilla restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    621
    193
    77
    56
See reviews for
324
761
130
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

We had booked a Claridges room but weren't informed in advance that all these rooms are smoking rooms. Also, the first room we were offered overlooked a massive air conditioning unit on the roof. The manager said they could remove the ashtrays and spray air freshner which would make it non-smoking!! We ended up paying for an upgrade which was a disappointing start to our holiday.

Apart from that, the hotel is okay. It is a lovely building and the bar and restaurants are pretty good, however we would not stay there again.

  • Liked — The building itself
  • Disliked — Annoying service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Tried as an alternative to the Imperial which is getting a litle bit above itself.. wish I had not. Had a second floor club room, the lift renovations included drilling until 8pm . Room ok but the cream carpet was filthy in one area and the huge tv was great except the picture was poor. The staff are arrogant, service slow and the "famous" bakery shut. I would have expected an explanation/ apology in the room. Trying to be something its sadly not.

  • Disliked — Renovation noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuffolkLucchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Stayed here three times during October '08. Some refurbishment being undertaken which was obtrusive to people in rooms around the pool area on the ground floor. One lift out of use causing huge queues when groups checked in. The decoration was good and I have no complaints about my rooms. The check in process was long and even at 7pm with a booking going back months, my room was not ready. The cashier needs to be watched, he tried to double charge me twice out of the three visits for my room bill. The rest of the staff were attentive without being obtrusive, the food was good, plentiful and varied. I would recommend this hotel as it is well located but with the caveats of being prepared to wait for your room and keeping a close eye on what you are charged.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Being chrged double on two visits
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snick175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

Great service and a lovely hotel. The rooms were large and well decorated. The bathroom decor could do with a freshen up but that is being a bit picky.

I thoroughly enjoyed.

Like a lot of Indian Hotels though. It was pretty expensive. The pool area wasn't anything to get excited about but the service was good around the pool.

The hotels retaurants were all good in their own way. My favourite was probably the Italian restaurant.

  • Liked — Small boutique like
  • Disliked — seemed expensive
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigtedMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

My experience was mixed with this hotel, having stayed for two nights seperated by a week. Overall I would consider it a fine hotel with one or two issues. The entrance and public rooms are appealling but I would advise anyone to avoid a ground floor room if possible, like other reviewers we had a dog of a room on the first night, clean but smelly, with the sheets on the bed feeling decidely damp and unpleasant, like sleeping in a puddle. The food in the Indian restaurant was, in my opinion, good and worth the cost and the informal breakfast room was also very acceptable with a varied range of food, staff in both were efficient and intent on providing a pleasant experience. Our second room was much better, airy, bright with good facilities and a small balcony. One gripe, I asked a member of staff to change some money before we had been allocated a room and it was as if I had asked him to solve the meaning of life.
Overall though I would reccomend this hotel as a stop in Delhi, good garden to sit and have coffee, good location, friendly staff (in general) but just avoid a ground floor room, and change some cash after you have booked in!

  • Liked — The public rooms
  • Disliked — The smelly damp room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

I was told this was a first class hotel, but it certainly isn't. It might have a marble entrance hall, but that's about it. We stayed here twice at the begiinning and the end of our holiday. The rooms were tired, smelled of smoke and were grubby. Ours wasn't even ready when we checked in at 7 o'clock at night! The food is pretty awful and certainly not what you would expect of a supposedly smart hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
2.8 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing