We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #34 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not first class”
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I was told this was a first class hotel, but it certainly isn't. It might have a marble entrance hall, but that's about it. We stayed here twice at the begiinning and the end of our holiday. The rooms were tired, smelled of smoke and were grubby. Ours wasn't even ready when we checked in at 7 o'clock at night! The food is pretty awful and certainly not what you would expect of a supposedly smart hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    650
    197
    82
    57
See reviews for
339
782
133
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JJ0001
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I was part of a group that attended a meeting at the hotel last month. The airconditioning in the rooms was hopeless and switched on and off automatically with the result that the room temperature was either cold or hot - not ideal if one wishes to have a good night's sleep. The hotel was also very noisy with workers working through the night and making so much noise that it seems that they were determined that no one else should sleep. During the meeting, the power went off several times and the back up power supply did not seem to work. But this was not the worst experience. After a couple of days of long and tiring field trips outside Delhi, we came back to the hotel for our last night to find that the rooms were not ready and several of us were asked to wait until the guests had checked out for their after-midnight flights. We could understand this happening when one arrives in the morning but at 11pm, this was never heard of, considering that each one of us had booked weeks ahead. As this affected several of us, it was clear that this was not a mistake but a deliberate management ploy to make money by renting each room twice in a single night. So any body thinking of staying at the Claridges, be warned!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, erratic air conditioning and power supply and double occupancy of rooms in a single day
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Lovely hotel with a colonial feel. Good location within easy access to the sights of New Delhi and Old Delhi. The breakfast we had was the best of anywhere we stayed with a good choice, lots of fresh fruit and best of all soya milk. The only negative was the bar which was dark and dingy and very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed in the Claridges in Delhi as a first stop on our honeymoon trip through India.
When we arrived at the hotel, we noticed it looked quite nice and well laid out for it's hotel class, until we went to the room.
At this stage it appeared the claridges had lost some of it's former charm.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay, so from that aspect they do have that part down and organised.
However, the rooms were small and wearing down. From our room we had a view over the inner-courtyard and swimming pool, and the rest of the building appears just as run-down and worse for wear.
the bathroom although well equipped and neatly furbished, was still on the small side.
the outside pool area was also a bit on the small side, and sat on an inner courtyard overlooked by the hotel from all angles. The pool itself was well maintained otherwise and served it's purpose.
We had a chance to wander round the rest of the hotel, and found some restaurants connected to the hotel which look interesting and appealing, although we had dinner plans elsewhere for that one night, thus did not get a chance to try them.
As for breakfast, this was well managed and nicely spread, with a good choice of continental and Indian fare.
Overall it's obviously a five-star service, but in a building that is quickly running down and not being maintained.
The hotel needs a refurbishment to match it's staff's efforts.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Run-down building and small rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johno.franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2008

this was a disappointing experience.... on arriving we had to change the room as the first option stank of smoke... the new room had a leaky bathroom and noisy aircon, although was otherwise decent... the breakfast was good, although there is no excuse for clearing it away at 10.25, when they are meant to be serving till 1030... the staff were generally pleasant and aspired to be helpful, though were often clueless about delhi... the amenities were poorly staffed and substandard: dirty pool, unstaffed business centre, not very good massage... while this wasn't a disaster, I thought for the price they were charging it should have been a lot more slick...

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank benwoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This hotel was nothing more than average - but quite expensive.

The food was good but average too - but very expensive. We ate out after the first night at a 1/3 of the rate! The rooms were clean but the AC was quite noisy.

They should offer free wifi at the room rates they charge.
The gym is small but well equiped, the sauna average, the whirlpool doesn't work.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

A little background first: My husband has been working in India. I flew over to join him in Delhi for a week. Thus we arrived in Delhi from different directions at different times. I arrived at 2am from Australia while my husband arrived at 7pm that evening via an internal Indian flight.

I booked a Club Room with twin beds. The charge including buffet breakfast for two in Pickwicks Restaurant & taxes etc was $368 Australian dollars per night.

As arranged with the hotel via email prior to my arrival, there was a chauffeur-driven car waiting with my name on a sign for me at the airport. This service costs about AU$56 one way.

The hotel check-in service at 3am was well managed and took place in the room rather than the front counter.

A hostess showed me to my room on the first floor which looked exactly as it did on the website. However the photos do not provide smell. As I stepped into the room there was an overpowering musty damp carpet smell. I informed them that I would not be able to stay in the room with this smell. We tried to open the window but this was not possible. Another room - across the hall - was immediately offered as a replacement for the remainder of the night. This room also had carpet and a lingering musty smell but it did have an opening glass door onto a landing overlooking the pool so it was possible to get fresh air. I believe this was a Claridges Room.
As this room had a king sized bed instead of twin beds I informed them that it would not be suitable once my husband arrived. They assured me that another Club Room would be available for me in the morning. When I followed this up after housemaid service in the morning - a Club Room on the 2nd Floor was offered to me. This room had marble floors - no musty smell at all. It was fresh, clean and spacious.

Also, the bathroom in a Club Room is larger than in the Claridges room. It has a separate bath and shower with a large vanity. Whereas in the Claridges room the shower was over the bath and the bathroom was only large enough for one person at a time.

Breakfast in Pickwicks Restaurant had everything you expect in a western buffet breakfast. Fresh & tinned fruit, French yoghurts, cereal, cook your own toast, pastries, breakfast cakes, eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms and also Indian breakfast. Staff are eager to please and attentive and even provided us with a container of pastries & cakes when we advised that we were driving to Agra for the day.

Note: It takes 5 hours to drive to Agra from Delhi.

There is a very good Bakery in the hotel. The prices are a little cheaper than in Australia but pricey by Indian standards. However the quality was excellent and ideal if you want a light snack in your room instead of a full meal for lunch or dinner.

Mini bar items are overpriced like every hotel. Although the bottled water was probably the most extreme. I think it worked out at AU $5 for 1 litre bottle. You can buy the same cold at a roadside stall for less than 40 cents. (15 INR).

However 3 x 500ml bottles of water are included in the daily room rate. One in the bathroom to brush your teeth and 2 with the complimentary tea/coffee items.

The staff at Claridges were polite and efficient but I couldn't help feeling that they were always waiting for a tip. Being Australian I am not accustomed to tipping and do it badly. I feel uncomfortable when someone hangs around like a bad smell waiting for a tip. I also felt that they were doing no more than their job and did not warrant a tip (but perhaps that is an Australian attitude)

The housekeeping facilities are very good, with sheets & towels changed daily and toilettries replenished. The only issue I had was with the quality of the towels. I must admit to a towel fettish here, so you may discount my comments if you don't have the same fettish. The towels at Claridges were not up to spec. While they were soft, they were not particularly absorbent and you were left with a slightly damp feeling after using them.

We didn't use the evening turn-down service as it was at 6-6.30pm when we were either in the shower or getting dressed for dinner and didn't want hotel staff in the room at that time.

The internet speed in the Business Centre (3 computers and a dodgy printer in a shabby basement room) is very slow. It was not possible to attach photos or word documents to emails. The system would crash while trying to upload. Short emails were all that was possible. This was a pay per hour service.

So overall: A beautiful, clean, well maintained hotel. The "look" of the hotel is opulent. Staff are polite & efficient as long as your request is within their past experience. The negatives are the poor Internet facilities and the towels.

  • Liked — Immaculate presentation. Cleanliness. Marble & wood features. Manicured gardens.
  • Disliked — Price, but that's India. Accommodation is either extremely cheap and horrible or overpriced and of an acceptable standard.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
The Claridges Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing