We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #35 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a fabulous tine here. Friendly staff, beautiful hotel and rooms. Amazing food - we ate in the Mediterranean restaurant (Sevilla) which was excellent and outdoors which was lovely. We were with small chldren (hence not eating in the indian restaurants!) and the staff could not have been more helpful. They let the kids make rehire own pizzas which is ome of the highlights of their trip! The breakfast was also fabulous as was the bakery. The gardens were very relaxing and serene.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on The Claridges New Delhi, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We are pleased to know that you and your kids enjoyed your stay with us and our Mediterranean restaurant Sevilla highlighted your experience. The team extends their warm thanks for your special mention of their service.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,560 - 1,566 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is not a five star hotel - more like a 3-4 star. First night we arrived, we had a hard time falling asleep because of the noise. The hallways are not carpeted so the noise gets amplified. There is a gap under the door and you can hear people coming in and out of their rooms, even walking on the hallway. Sometimes there is smoke coming through under the door. We put some pillows down by the door to minimize this issue. The first room they put us in had no window and there was a tile coming off in the washroom. We asked for a different room and for our last 2 days we had a better room with a balcony and a view of the pool. The restaurants are very expensive especially for India. Connaught Place is only 5 minutes away by taxi and you can get much cheaper good options there. Also, the Wi-fi is not free and quite expensive, but they have 2 computers in the business room downstairs which are free to use. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was really good. They had this beautiful flower arrangement made in the lobby each day and the location of the hotel is really nice and close to the metro station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on The Claridges New Delhi.

Your feedback is important to us as it helps us identify our strengths and areas for improvement. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the breakfast, flower arrangement at the lobby and our staff made you feel comfortable. However, we are sorry for the services shortfalls that affected your overall stay experience with us and we have also noted your comment on the Wi-fi. I and my team are taking necessary measures to rectify the issues you have addressed.

We hope that there will be an opportunity in the future to deliver a better stay experience to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed just before Easter and had no complaints. Luxury feel and nice intro to India. Lovely,Indian restaurant well worth a go, with superb service. Food a bit pricey as you might expect (not least due to the add on taxes) but all good quality and service. Lovely room, a Claridges, with good size balcony. Cleaners also excellent

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for staying at The Claridges New Delhi. It was a pleasure having you with us.

It was rewarding to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed our hospitality. Also, our Indian restaurant – Dhaba highlighted your experience. We have noted your comments on the prices and will share it with the relevant department. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here before our golden triangle tour and after, friendly staff and great breakfast, very safe area for walking around, its away from hectic real Delhi which is good to escape from. Stayed in poolview room which was 5 star but on the way back we had a room looking over the outside resturant which kept me awake with the music and late at night with them cleaning up

Room Tip: Ask for room away from outside resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for the feedback about your stay at The Claridges New Delhi. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We are pleased to know that the hotel location was very convenient to you and you enjoyed the breakfast and service. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with the music/ work during late in the evening; the team has since taken steps to address and rectify these issues. We hope to see you again when you next travel through New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Billed as 5 star but just falls a little short.

Well located in spacious and attractive New Delhi near the embassies. Walking distance to India Gate, the Ghandi museum (a few hundred metres along the road) and Khan Market.
Pleasant garden area to the front, good outdoor pool and terrace (see photos).
Good sized, well appointed rooms. Our second visit saw us installed in a family room overlooking the pool (photos), but it had a slight damp smell suggesting it wasn't used often.
Couple of themed restaurants used by the locals. We only ate in the small, rather cramped, buffet restaurant. Food quality and choice was generally good, better on our second visit, but not very warm.
Posh pattiserie and adjoining coffee area that doubles as an extra breakfast area in the mornings.
Staff were helpful and smiling. Good English spoken.
Very small lounge area.
Largish, rather dark and chilly bar area that was underused. Expensive drinks - similar to London hotel prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oxonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at The Claridges New Delhi, we appreciate your candid review.

Whilst it is rewarding for the team to realise that their good service highlighted your experience with us, we are sorry that the hotel fell below your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we are progressing with our enhancement plans through on-going reviews of our products and services to ensure that our guests enjoy their experiences with us. We look forward to once again extending our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited Delhi at both the start and end of our Golden Triangle Trip. I was nervous about visiting India, but the worries faded when we arrived at Claridges. It was spotless, the entrance and hall were fantastic, the room had every little extra you could want including dressing gowns and a good view of the pool from the veranda, a nice pool to swim in, beautiful garden out front for afternoon tea and 4 restaurants (tried 2 - both excellent, especially Dhaba), and the service couldn't have been better. Only small gripe was the food and drink was on the expensive side. (Only a small number of rooms have a veranda overlooking the pool)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank believe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for posting your review about The Claridges New Delhi, I and my team are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay.

We appreciate your feedback on our location, services and restaurants. It is encouraging for the team to learn that their warm and professional service made you feel comfortable. We have noted your comments regarding the prices and will share them with our team. It was our pleasure to have you all with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the service is out of this world, the rooms are comfortable and well serviced. Food and drinks are on the expensive side - but what hotel isn't expensive. Shopping and central Delhi is just an brief exciting tuk tuk ride from the gates. Alternatively the Metro is 5 minutes walk down the road - a must experience in Delhi

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at The Claridges New Delhi. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We are pleased to know that you find our hotel very convenient and its location well connected to the city. Also, we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 736 in New Delhi
2,978 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 736 in New Delhi
2,160 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,992 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $121 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing