We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe,quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #36 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
MT gambier
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safe,quiet hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here before our golden triangle tour and after, friendly staff and great breakfast, very safe area for walking around, its away from hectic real Delhi which is good to escape from. Stayed in poolview room which was 5 star but on the way back we had a room looking over the outside resturant which kept me awake with the music and late at night with them cleaning up

Room Tip: Ask for room away from outside resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for the feedback about your stay at The Claridges New Delhi. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We are pleased to know that the hotel location was very convenient to you and you enjoyed the breakfast and service. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with the music/ work during late in the evening; the team has since taken steps to address and rectify these issues. We hope to see you again when you next travel through New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    656
    200
    82
    61
See reviews for
354
796
135
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Billed as 5 star but just falls a little short.

Well located in spacious and attractive New Delhi near the embassies. Walking distance to India Gate, the Ghandi museum (a few hundred metres along the road) and Khan Market.
Pleasant garden area to the front, good outdoor pool and terrace (see photos).
Good sized, well appointed rooms. Our second visit saw us installed in a family room overlooking the pool (photos), but it had a slight damp smell suggesting it wasn't used often.
Couple of themed restaurants used by the locals. We only ate in the small, rather cramped, buffet restaurant. Food quality and choice was generally good, better on our second visit, but not very warm.
Posh pattiserie and adjoining coffee area that doubles as an extra breakfast area in the mornings.
Staff were helpful and smiling. Good English spoken.
Very small lounge area.
Largish, rather dark and chilly bar area that was underused. Expensive drinks - similar to London hotel prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oxonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at The Claridges New Delhi, we appreciate your candid review.

Whilst it is rewarding for the team to realise that their good service highlighted your experience with us, we are sorry that the hotel fell below your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we are progressing with our enhancement plans through on-going reviews of our products and services to ensure that our guests enjoy their experiences with us. We look forward to once again extending our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited Delhi at both the start and end of our Golden Triangle Trip. I was nervous about visiting India, but the worries faded when we arrived at Claridges. It was spotless, the entrance and hall were fantastic, the room had every little extra you could want including dressing gowns and a good view of the pool from the veranda, a nice pool to swim in, beautiful garden out front for afternoon tea and 4 restaurants (tried 2 - both excellent, especially Dhaba), and the service couldn't have been better. Only small gripe was the food and drink was on the expensive side. (Only a small number of rooms have a veranda overlooking the pool)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank believe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for posting your review about The Claridges New Delhi, I and my team are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay.

We appreciate your feedback on our location, services and restaurants. It is encouraging for the team to learn that their warm and professional service made you feel comfortable. We have noted your comments regarding the prices and will share them with our team. It was our pleasure to have you all with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the service is out of this world, the rooms are comfortable and well serviced. Food and drinks are on the expensive side - but what hotel isn't expensive. Shopping and central Delhi is just an brief exciting tuk tuk ride from the gates. Alternatively the Metro is 5 minutes walk down the road - a must experience in Delhi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at The Claridges New Delhi. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We are pleased to know that you find our hotel very convenient and its location well connected to the city. Also, we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

a lovely hotel, our family enjoyed our stay here, staff were helpful, we seemed to be quite a distance out of the city for shopping ect, on e negative point, the drinks and food charges were completely rediculously out ragous,

Room Tip: this hotel has a beautiful swimming pool, clean and privately located ; drinks and cold towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susielyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for sharing your recent stay at The Claridges New Delhi.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your family felt well-looked after during your stay. We appreciate your feedback on the pricing of food/ drinks, which has been taken into consideration as we plan future enhancements for the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Entrance, lobby and stairs leading up to the first floor are truly spectacular and make you wish to see more. Unfortunately this is where the charm of this hotel ends. I was staying in a superior room which had the most boring and uninspiring decoration I've seen in any 5 star hotel (By the way I agree with previous comments in saying this is not European standard 5 star). Food is extremely pricey and the restaurant rather small, again unusual for the level you would expect on this category. Breakfast is just ok. Staff is friendly and welcoming.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AcoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at The Claridges New Delhi and sharing your feedback with us.

As we continue to strive for excellence in the quality of our products and services, your valuable feedback is much appreciated. I wish to assure you that contrary to the experience you have gained from your stay, the team continues to work hard to deliver the quality service and experience to all our guests. We are also taking steps to address and rectify the issues that you have pointed out.

We really appreciate your feedback on the rooms, restaurants and food, and look forward to being of service to you again on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed for three nights, the room was excellent, spacious, well adorned and very comfortable.

The staff is top notch and very accommodating. Service is what you would expect from 5 star, from the door man to the security folks everyone was friendly, courteous and truly interested in making my stay comfortable.

On sight resteraunt, The Seville is top notch

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of The Claridges New Delhi, it is a pleasure to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We appreciate your positive feedback on our guest rooms, service and Sevilla – our Mediterranean restaurant. The team extends their warm thanks for your special mention of their service.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,938 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing