We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Claridges New Delhi
Nearby Hotels
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$110
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$157
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ITC Maurya, New Delhi(New Delhi)
$177
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$184
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$187
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$287
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,475)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveler rating
1,278
781
240
98
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
781
240
98
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdhaba restaurantvodka barfront lawnjade restaurantsevilla restaurantkhan marketlodhi gardensclub roomlovely hotelchoice of restaurantsdiplomatic areabreakfast roomnice poolgolden trianglean oasisindia gatefive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,824 - 1,829 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Entrance, lobby and stairs leading up to the first floor are truly spectacular and make you wish to see more. Unfortunately this is where the charm of this hotel ends. I was staying in a superior room which had the most boring and uninspiring decoration I've seen in any 5 star hotel (By the way I agree with previous comments in saying this is not European standard 5 star). Food is extremely pricey and the restaurant rather small, again unusual for the level you would expect on this category. Breakfast is just ok. Staff is friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank AcoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at The Claridges New Delhi and sharing your feedback with us.

As we continue to strive for excellence in the quality of our products and services, your valuable feedback is much appreciated. I wish to assure you that contrary to the experience you have gained from your stay, the team continues to work hard to deliver the quality service and experience to all our guests. We are also taking steps to address and rectify the issues that you have pointed out.

We really appreciate your feedback on the rooms, restaurants and food, and look forward to being of service to you again on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed for three nights, the room was excellent, spacious, well adorned and very comfortable.

The staff is top notch and very accommodating. Service is what you would expect from 5 star, from the door man to the security folks everyone was friendly, courteous and truly interested in making my stay comfortable.

On sight resteraunt, The Seville is top notch

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of The Claridges New Delhi, it is a pleasure to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We appreciate your positive feedback on our guest rooms, service and Sevilla – our Mediterranean restaurant. The team extends their warm thanks for your special mention of their service.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Claridges hotel in Delhi for six nights in March and would highly recommend. The rooms are quite large, clean and well appointed. The hotel staff was very professional and friendly. The breakfast buffet offers a good choice. The hotel also includes a few restaurants. The Dhaba restaurant (indian fare) was particularly good.
Most of all you could not get a better location. The hotel is set in a quiet, leafy neighborhood, within walking distance of the India Gate and the Lodi gardens, where you can enjoy a lovely walk before sunset. The hotel is a haven of peace afer a day of touring. The Khan market which offers a good choice of lively restaurants and cafes if ou want to venture out of the hotel in the evenings is just a 20 min walk. Many hotels are in the Connaught place which is not as nice. We would definitely stay again at the Claridges if returning to Delhi,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of The Claridges New Delhi, we are happy to learn that your stay with us left you with a positive impression.

We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our guest rooms, service, breakfast buffet and also very glad to learn that the location was very convenient to you. The team extends their warm thanks for your special mention of their service.

We are delighted to know that our Indian restaurant – Dhaba highlighted your experience at The Claridges New Delhi.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that made your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a tasteful, well-appointed hotel in a lovely, leafy part of Delhi. Its location means that you're pretty near all the main sights of the city, and can also happily step out beyond the confines of the (very attractive) hotel grounds: it's within an easy stroll of the lovely Lodi Gardens, and the excellent Khan Market (shops & restaurants). We stayed for 3 nights altogether and were really impressed by the attentive and efficient service. All queries were dealt with promptly and graciously. After our initial 2 night stay in a lovely room, we returned for one night and were disappointed with the rather gloomy and fairly small room we were initially shown to: after querying this, we were offered a much nicer room with a balcony overlooking the pool. So - the only possible problem with this hotel (as with many of this type) is that your experience can vary hugely, depending on the quality of the room you're offered. Insist on a 2nd or 3rd floor room overlooking the pool & you should be fine. There are several dining options within the hotel itself, which cater for most tastes & budgets: Dhaba, in particular, is a really excellent restaurant, styled as a roadside Punjabi diner: great fun and superb food, full of locals enjoying an evening out (so do book, or you won't get a table!). I'd take issue with the reviewer complaining about the prices: we found them to be exactly in line with all hotels of this standard in a good location in a capital city: not cheap for India, but not too expensive for the Western traveller! One thing to note is that the hotel is currently upgrading its spa, with the usual noise & activity this involves, so make sure you ask for a room away from the area concerned...All in all - a stylish, comfortable oasis in this hectic city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the internal pool area - 2nd or 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayGBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for posting a detailed review of your stay. It is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant experience with us.

We are pleased to hear your positive feedback on our service, rooms and that the location was convenient for you. We appreciate your feedback on the spa which has been taken into consideration as we plan future enhancements for the hotel. Also, we are delighted to know that our Indian restaurant – Dhaba highlighted your experience at The Claridges New Delhi. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

As this was my first trip to New Delhi, I am glad I stayed at this hotel. I stayed for 2 nights with my family.
The staff all spoke English and were extremely polite and helpful, even when we returned at around 1 am from a round trip to the Taj Mahal.
We even ordered french fries for the kids before they went to sleep at around 1.15 am, and were very pleased when they arrived promptly at such a late hour.
The hotel itself is very well decorated and provides all the ammenities you would expect from a hotel like this, however the pool was unfortunately, 'broken' during our stay, so we did not get to try it. We still had a peek around the pool area and it seems like a nice place to unwind after a tiring day.
Overall I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel, even though the prices for food etc. may be slightly unreasonable...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlefish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your kind review of The Claridges New Delhi. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us.

It is good to know that you were happy with our warm hospitality, comfortable guest room and especially the room service for their prompt action. However, we are sorry to learn that you and your family could not enjoy the access to the pool due to the maintenance work. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews