We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once problems sorted out there was a vast improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #35 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Once problems sorted out there was a vast improvement”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Initially the lock was broken on the first room allocated to us. Taken to another room where the bathroom looked as if in need of a clean and renovation as tiles were broken etc. Rubbish left between bath and shower and not removed from the previous occupant(s)? This was down to housekeeping, who needs to do more checking! On complaining we were ungraded to the 3rd floor which was far superior. Ate in Pickwicks as all the other restaurants were full. The buffet had a good choice.

No breakfast next day as we had to leave early for the train to Shimla but hotel did us a packed breakfast which was better than nothing. After Shimla we returned as that is how our schedule was worked out and this time Claridges upgrades us to a suite which was gorgeous so all is forgiven, shame we were there for only one more day. B'ast was good but surprised at how small Pickwicks was considering how many guests the hotel holds. The choice was good, European and Indian and off the menu if you so wish. Staff attentive especially the porters who were very helpful.

Room Tip: Only gave the above ratings because of the suite not because of the initial room given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you liked our food and service. Also apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Your continued patronage is important to us and promise to exceed your expectation during your next visit to Delhi.

Looking forward to see you again.


Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    654
    198
    82
    60
See reviews for
346
789
134
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is in a nice quiet area outside the city centre. Rooms and service are good but there is no hotel bar open during the day to welcome you back after a long day's touring, the only option is to order a drink in the hotel cafeteria/breakfast room - not terribly relaxing or user friendly. The vodka bar is open of an evening but has more of a chic corporate environment than somewhere relaxing and user friendly. It's a nice hotel but geared more to the corporate than tourist market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 316Shirley316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, Regional General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and stay. We appreciate your feedback on our location, rooms and staff. Regarding your concern about bar, I make sure that it is addressed to the management.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We only stayed one night here but we enjoyed every moment. Our room was beautiful with a huge comfortable bed, view over the garden and good sized bathroom with a large powerful shower perfect after our long flight! Free wifi in our room was a bonus as well.

The staff were friendly and helpful, we had an issue with our transport the next morning not arriving in time to take us to the airport and they guessed immediately what had happened without us saying a word to them and called the firm and sorted it out for us straight away.
We had arranged a ‘takeaway’ breakfast as we had such an early start (5am) it was a couple of small not so fresh sandwiches, fruit and some crisps with a carton drink. Nothing special but better than nothing.

We sat out in the garden early evening for a drink before dinner, non-alcoholic drinks are available there which seemed odd as they served alcohol inside. Having said that they were wonderful and really refreshing.

Be aware that the prices listed for drinks and food have taxes on top of them our bill arrived far bigger than we expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank youso much for your valuable feedback of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and stay. We appreciate your feedback on our location, rooms and staff.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this outstanding hotel for five nights and found it was an absolute delight. The breakfast was very good with a full choice of menu,the staff were very attentive and always on hand to serve you. We didn't eat in Pickwicks at night as we prefer to eat "native" but judging by the comments of my fellow travellers it was very good. Rooms were very comfortable and well equipped, very nice pool even in Feb. Just one draw back with the possition of the hotel not much around it and you can't really go out and have a good walk as it's in the diplomatic area so all you see are big houses or gates to estates. I would also like to see Claridges change to a collective or selective tip policy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83peterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and stay.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

After a long day flying from Sydney thru Singapore we were tired and frazzled. The staff at Claridges were warm, welcoming and friendly. The hotel has an olde worldly feeling, and as guest we felt pampered from the minute we arrived. Our room was charming and comfortable and there were lovely touches in the bathroom gifts. It overlooked the pool, as did most rooms I think. The breakfast was very good with a wide range to choose from. The gardens, although small, and pool area which is big, provide the visitor with a calm haven from the bustle outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are glad that overall you were comfortable in our guest room, and that you were happy with our breakfast and pool area.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Following a whistlestop two week trip to India, this was an extremely relaxing and luxurious way to end the holiday. Our room was stunning, while the staff were all extremely attentive and friendly. The food was delicious at Pickwicks for lunch and breakfast while dinner at Sevilla was absolutely top notch, and a great atmosphere

Room Tip: We went for the Club room - It was slightly cheaper via booking.com but well worth it - extremely ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you liked our breakfast and dinner.

Your continued patronage is important to us and it is rewarding for the team to learn that their service contributed well towards your stays with us.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We used this hotel twice - firstly for three nights at the start of a three week holiday in India and then for one night at the end of our holiday. For our first stay, we were upgraded to a suite which was a really large room, clean and comfortable. Our single night was not upgraded, but we had a Claridges Room which was a reasonable size, clean and with a balcony overlooking the garden. We used the Pickwick Restaurant for our meals and the food there was good - nothing particularly remarkable, but good. The restaurant is not very large however and one morning, when there was a coach party having breakfast, there was no room for us so we were served our breakfast just off the lobby - perfectly adequate but not really enough staff to cover the overflow. My main concern with this hotel was with the staff. On our first visit, the restaurant staff simply would not leave us alone - we kept getting asked if everything was alright, if we were happy with our stay, if there was anything we wanted. It was intrusive and obsequious and it made us uncomfortable. The reception staff, on the other hand, were neither welcoming nor friendly nor, indeed very helpful - gave the impression of not really caring. We asked reception if they could help us with an online check in for our flight out of Delhi and we were refused. Instead we were sent to a 'Travel Centre' in the hotel which was basically a car hire desk and the boy there could not speak much English and hadn't a clue what I wanted. In the end I did it all myself in the Business Centre (no charge made) but I thought the lack of help very poor given the other staff falling over themselves. It wouldn't hurt if the reception staff actually smiled occasionally and if their English wasn't that strong, they should be prepared to admit that they didn't understand. I asked one young woman a question about upgrading during our second check in and she simply didn't answer - carried on as if I hadn't spoken. She finally got the young man at the next desk to answer me so clearly did not have the necessary language skills. Shame really because the hotel is a reasonable base for Delhi although as previous reviewers have noted, there are a lot of functions catered for in the hotel. Don't be lured by the idea of a big garden either - the garden is a patch of lawn at the front of the hotel with a busy roundabout just outside and roads running alongside the hotel walls. The hotel is quiet at night though and we were not disturbed by traffic noise then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,726 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing