We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Claridges New Delhi
Nearby Hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$214
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$101
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ITC Maurya, New Delhi(New Delhi)
$177
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$184
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,475)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveler rating
1,278
781
240
98
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
781
240
98
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdhaba restaurantvodka barfront lawnjade restaurantsevilla restaurantkhan marketlodhi gardensclub roomlovely hotelchoice of restaurantsdiplomatic areabreakfast roomnice poolgolden trianglean oasisindia gatefive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,865 - 1,870 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My holiday began in real style...I was met at the airport and taken to this hotel by a Kuoni car/rep: and after a drive through the fog...horns from taxi's cars and tut-tuts confusing,this hotel was an oasis of calm and tranquility. First impressions are so important and the 'police/security presence at the gates of the hotel was certainly impressive. It gave one the feeling of being 'looked after.' I was greeted by a huge turbanned doorman and several staff 'sallaming' me on entry into the spacious lobby and taken through to a lovely lounge-sat down and was offered tea etc while being ''checked in' by caring/efficient staff before being taken up to our room(my daughter was flying in from Perth to join me)and the twin-bedded room was clean and spacious - the bathroom with walk-in shower and all the usual amenities one requires more than sufficient and scrupulously clean. There was even fresh fruit and bottled water(courtesy of the hotel) and a well-stocked bar in the spacious bedroom.
I chose 'Pickwicks' for my evening meal and there were so many lovely dishes to choose from at the buffet; with service and help from the many staff around to help identify the lovely hot meals kept under the heavy-lidded dishes. Afterwards the coffe lounge was a lovely place to sit peacefully - and the bookshop next door a treasure! I bought postcards and a book here. Prices reasonable.
My daughter arrived in the early hours and we breakfasted in 'Pickwicks.' Again a large array of dishes to choose, or one could order eggs etc from the ever-patient staff who were always on hand - Both of us were more than satisfied with everything at this prestigious hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of a long corridor on the third floor - a long walk to & fro - (the only drawback as I am 82 years of age) but access by a lift took you down to the lobby with ease...depositing me right beside the Pickwicks. But on our second visit to the hotel(after our Golden Triangle tourI, had asked - and was given another room so did not have to walk so far.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenthewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at the Claridges for 3 nights on our arrival in India. Check in took ages and then the room smelled of smoke so complained. We were immediately given a room upgrade. The room was spacious and clean, comfortable and very large bed. Breakfast buffet was excellent, plenty of choice. Had a meal in the Jade restaurant, which was excellent if a little expensive. Problem with all the hotels is that 10% service charge and 14% Tax is added to the bill. The staff were very helpful, smiling and lovely.
Hotel was in a great location, really quiet and just a short walk from Lodi Gardens.
Reception staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Gave us breakfast packup for our early morning day trip to Agra on the train. Nice outdoor seating at the front of the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanneandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank for the honest feedback. We are grateful you liked our location and staff.

Also, apologies for the delay in check in and smell in the room. I take a note of your complaint and promise to rectify the same with immediate effect.

Look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to India.

Warm Regards,
Oliver C Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you are looking for nice and comfortable place to stay in capital of india delhi' after your travels around in india then this is just right place to be!
its 5 mins walking distance from khan market. 10 mins to connought place.
the service is great. there are few restaurants in the hotel i personnaly like the Dhaba:) love the food and for dessert they have almond halwa'can't wait to be there....

Room Tip: prefare facing pool...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDjavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments regarding our location. We are glad we met your expectations and loved our award winning Indian highway restaurant Dhaba.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Oliver C Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was spending some time in India to see where my father was brought up, travelling with family.
We started in Claridges where everyone was so sympathique.
The staff were helpful. the food was good. The rooms were clean and of a high standard.
We returned here after our sojourn and were remembered and treated like old friends.
No complaints - only good memories.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding our staff, location and service.

We are glad that we could exceed your expectations and you could re live all old memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Oliver C Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The service is very good. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Rooms were serviced regularly. A few nice touches like complimentary coffee with a wake up call, and shoe shine. And the room-rate was actually not too bad. Also, the business centre was good. The hotel is a nice oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Delhi.

However, everything in the hotel was extortionately priced, from the restaurants (which served pretty ordinary quality food), the bar, and especially the car service. Do not be fooled into taking the hotel cars anywhere - use the local taxis. The hotel car will cost you between 10 and 20 times the cost of the local car - e.g. 15,000 rupees for what a local taxi will charge you 1,300 (that is not a typo). I found this quite offensive actually.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding our staff, location and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Oliver C Martin
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews