We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Claridges New Delhi
Nearby Hotels
$116
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$205
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$218
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$296
$222
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$140
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Hari Piorko(New Delhi)(Great Value!)
$27
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$67
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,443)
Filter reviews
2,443 results
Traveler rating
1,261
772
237
97
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,261
772
237
97
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdhaba restaurantvodka barfront lawnjade restaurantsevilla restaurantkhan marketlodhi gardensclub roomlovely hotelchoice of restaurantsdiplomatic areabreakfast roomnice poolgolden trianglean oasisindia gatefive star hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,159 - 2,164 of 2,443 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2007

We (two couples) stayed here for our last night of a two week tour (basically the "golden triangle"). The hotel is in a peaceful , green and low density part of New Delhi - but fairly central. The check in was pleasant and efficient and our room much larger than expected and well equipped (TV, mini bar, bathroom) but surprisingly empty of furniture (bed, two chairs I think and that was about it). And, yes, we too had the "cat's urine" smell to contend with in the room (probably an ammonia-based cleaning product). I have experienced this before (in Puerto Rico) and the smell went after a few hours, but it wasn't great. We sat around the pool in the enclosed courtyard and were rather disappointed both by the time it took for tea to be ordered and arrive and by the somewhat surly refusal to serve beer "outdoors" (neither pool side nor on the front lawn). This was in stark contrast to The Park hotel a mile or so away where we stayed at the start of our holiday. There the pool side service was very rapid, very pleasant and without restriction. It seems that Claridges is subject to a local bye-law - but if The Park isn't bothered, why are they? On the plus side, the highlight of this hotel for us was Dharba, a mock-up of a truck drivers' road-side restaurant, with excellent food, very friendly (and humorous) staff and very reasonable prices. It was packed out the first night and almost as full the next - so book! The comparison with the appalling Bukhara restaurant (at the Sheraton) which we foolishly went to two weeks previously was extraordinary. At Dharba we paid something like 25% of the Bukhara's outrageous bill, for better food, much more efficient and friendly service and even got a knife and fork each (fingers are the rule at Bukhara!) We had to linger at the hotel after check out - until 11 pm - because our flight home was in the early hours. The hotel kindly allowed us to stay in the rooms till 2.30 pm without charge (we then went sight-seeing again). They also arranged two good modern cars to take us to the airport; without charging excessively. So, all in all, this was not quite as good as The Park but not a bad experience - and the Dharba takes some beating!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

We were meant to be starting and ending our honeymoon in India at Le Meridien-New Delhi but had to stay in The Claridges for the first couple of nights instead. We loved it straight away and didn't realise how spoilt we would be until we ended up in Le Meridien ten days later.
The service in The Claridges was simply sensational as was the food. The staff were not surly as in Le Meridien but very friendly and professional. When looking for the beauty parlour, my wife was taken by a restaurant manager (of the Jade Garden, which I found to be excellent in spite of my not liking Chinese food) all the way to the other side of the hotel - this being in the middle of dinner service.

We also had the best cocktails ever in the bar, where we were entertained by a thoroughly nice and very friendly barman. My wife said that their own "Sip and Swing" cocktail was the best she had ever had and I must admit I thought it was up there too. He even went to the trouble to arrange a table for us in one of their busy restaurants as we had forgotten to do this beforehand.

The food in the hotel was far superior to anything in Le Meridien - Dhaba was brilliant, especially when compared to the Pakwan restaurant in the latter but also because not only were the staff so very nice on a busy night, the food was out of this world. I can also recommend the Dal Makhani in the Pickwicks restaurant.

All-in-all, we wish we could have stayed here longer and definitely not in Le Meridien. The service there was disgusting and give me the 1930s-style elegance and far superior service of The Claridges over the really trendy but ultimately nothingness of Le Meridien anytime!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Reubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

Claridges Hotel was a standout on a recent trip to Delhi. The hotel is in a beautiful residential area of New Delhi and is a modern hotel that recalls the glory days of the British Empire. Definitely a perfect location for an Agatha Christie mystery. This is a small hotel with a large garden and seems to be overstaffed, so service is excellent. Don’t be surprised that many of the staff know you by name.

The tour desk can be contacted by email prior to arriving and all travel/touring arrangements can be made for the duration of a stay. Our budget room, booked through Asiarooms.com, was well-decorated and the size of a good-sized ship’s cabin. However, other rooms were quite large. There are several restaurants, but we only had time and energy to eat at the grill for breakfast and dinner, which was ala carte or buffet. Free wireless internet is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel.

In and around Delhi, the pace is quite hectic so after a long day it is refreshing to find the calm and restful atmosphere at Claridges. This hotel proved to be an excellent choice both in price, comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We spent our first two nights here of a 21 day India trip. We had booked a superior room, but were upgraded to a suite, although I am pretty sure the hotel was not fully booked. This is great service, that we much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank witenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

After staying at sub-par properties and viewing some downright disgusting hotels in India, we chose the Claridges as our last hotel in India. The room was clean and comfortable, the interior of the hotel is lovely and has character, but it could use some updating on the outside. That said, the Spanish restaurant was very good and the hotel bar was quite nice. We left paying US$400 for one night, a dinner and drinks for what I would consider a four star hotel. In India, apparently, this is a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmschaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews