We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #35 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Located at Aurangzeb Road, this 5-star luxury hotel is located in a very upmarket part of Delhi. I was very impressed with the décor, which seemed a blend of old-world charm and modern facilities. I spent a few hours there due to a business meeting, and also visited a business associate whose multinational bank employer operates out of a business suite in the hotel.

The breakfast spread was lavish, and the staff incredibly attentive and efficient.

I would certainly consider staying here the next time given its proximity to the business district, shopping and cultural centres and major landmarks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuj_Mithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

An Oasis of calm in this bustling city. The pool and spa are the perfect place to relax and the staff a complete delight, nothing was too much. Can't wait for another opportunity to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were here for 2 nights. The first night they gave us a room next to the service lift and area so the noise keep us awake till 2 am and woke us up at 7 am. We complain and as a result they upgrade us to a club room for the following night.The room and comfort were good but providing it is a 5 star hotel I could not believe the sheets were so rough due to so many washings. Breakfast on the firs night was very good, lots of selection and hot food. The club room breakfast was serverd in the posher "The Senate" were the air conditioning was so strong we asked them to turn it down. Still we had to get our jakets to stay there. The quality of the food "a la carte" in "The Senate" was definitely inferior. Very pricy internet and local phone calls (3.5 euros for a 1 minute local call). The hotel has a nice swiming pool.
The staff are correct and helpfull but stiff, not overly friendly. In conclusion, not as much as you can expect from a 5 star, old fashioned, good ordinary breakfast and nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Club room is a bit bigger but not worth the extra money. Club breakfast at The Senate is worst than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuriaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on holiday and this hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Delhi. The service was fantastic and the rooms were comfortable, clean and well light/sound proofed (great for sleeping off jet lag). The location is in a quiet, VIP, quarter of Delhi and we could walk to see some local sights (Lodi gardens and Kahn Market 0.5km away). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_McCNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is one of the "Grande dame" hotels of Delhi. Although not technically dating back to Imperial times it does have a flavour of the Raj, with a smart Sikh doorman and all the appearance of the early 20th century. But it does show its age at times (eg badly fitting basin plugs and some dodgy plugs, and there are weaknesses in the overall level of service which ought not to be expected at this level. The rooms are well fitted out and a good size. The breakfast room has a distinctly 80's feel and could do with a makeover. There are several other restaurants all good, if pricey. One bad feature, common to many but not all the upmarket hotels in Delhi, is that food and drink menu prices are shown net of tax. Since taxes vary bewilderingly from state to state, vary between food and alcohol, and between local and imported alcohol, it is very difficult to get a handle on the ultimate bill by looking at the menu. The mark-up on drink can easily top 30%. A tax inclusive price would solve the problem, and be more honest.

The location is good, in the heart of the Lutyens garden city, and it is pretty quiet at night. There is a pool and gym. One other major gripe is that 24 hour internet will set you back £10 which is a scandal which should be vigorously protested against until this pernicious practice is eradicated. Staff are obliging, mostly (but not always) well trained, but perhaps a little over zealous on receiving a tip for little more than a smile.....but this is India and over indulgent visitors have only themselves to blame for the spread of this attitude

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buffshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Please avoid this place.

I must mention that i had high hopes when i stayed at Claridges Delhi this weekend but was Dissapointed in all aspects.I have stayed at the newer property of Cartridges and thourughly enjoyed it. But this one was BAD.

The Food ordered took good 45-50 Minuted to come. Pool areas are leased out for Private Functions thus guests are uninvited. Beer was served without the Bottle Opener. Ice was served witouh the Tongs.
Some of the room sizes are so small that if you did have a guest coming in to meet you, there is hardly any place left to even walk.
Came back to room at 5:00 AM in the morning and ordered room service. Food did not come in for atleast 55 minutes.Even Though food was good for what ever its worth.

Not worth the price. I think TAJ or Merridian (All Close to these hotels) are a better bet

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HItesh_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here in October 2011
The hotel is situated on a busy road but this had no impact on thr quality of our stay. In fact its only a 5 min stroll to the Ghandi Museum which is well worth a visit and has free entry.
The food in Pickwicks resturant is of excellent quality if a little pricy beware of ordering food and drink outside in the front garden as they charge you extra for the pleasure, also when odering a tea from their extensive tea menu in the lounge make sure you ask them to leave the pot with you or they just pour you one small cup and dissapear with the rest of the pot (what a waste).
The rooms were very clean ,tidy and were equipt with everything we needed, i think we were upgraded as we had a separate seating area, but i would think all rooms would be as comfortable.
Unfortunalty though beware of rooms with adjoining doors our first night was very comfy and quiet but on the second night we eventually had to call reception as the "Western" family that moved into the room adjoining ours at 4am shouted, laughed and let their two loud and unrully children run around the room screaming and shouting for hours.
All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble even if the wait was a little long.
All in all out stay here was great and we would recommend it for a stay in Delhi just ask for a non adjoining room and promise me you will try some of the fantastic cakes in the old bakery you'll hate yourself if you don't

Room Tip: non adjoining door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 736 in New Delhi
2,979 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 736 in New Delhi
2,161 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,992 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $121 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing