We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff , good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great staff , good hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

good hotel in a good position with excellent staff . could do with some better facilities ie pool .Rooms very large and most have a balcony. breakfast and room service were good too. Thought a bit expensive but most Indian hotels seem to be compared to Australia. Great exchange rate on $AUD

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    321
    142
    49
    31
See reviews for
150
112
96
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The Ambassador Hotel continues to amaze me with it's quality food,service and rooms.
This is my fifteenth stay at the Hotel but it it is the first occasion when I have stayed with my entire family.
Jack[12],Tom[10 and Chelsea[6] were amazed and delighted with the staff and rooms.The hotel also provided a comp.play station with games and at all times ensured the family was happy and comfortable.
The rooms are massive,the bathrooms excellent and if there is ever any problem or question the staff and management are all ways very keen to assist.
the breakfast ,is cooked to order and there is also a buffet of fresh fruits and juices plus ...
I can not recommend this hotel more highly!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

This hotel is nothing close to what it claims to be. I stayed here with a family of 9 and the service was appalling. The hotel looks tired and the upholstery is dirty. The rooms are big and spacious but there is no heating in the rooms. The lifts are so small that only 3 ppl can get in them.

This area has a lot better hotels for a slightly expensive price like the Imperial and Shangri-La please stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaphodneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Though the hotel is not very big, the place is very good.
Located right next to the posh market of Delhi-Khan Market, the place is just very good if you are visiting Delhi.
The rooms are well furnished and excellent.
One of the best things about the hotel is the food.The food is exceptionally good.
I had the opportunity to witness a wedding at the hotel too.
The arrangements in the Lutyens Lawns were very good.The ambience of the Lawns was amazing.Very Charming and aesthetic feel of the wedding!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
184 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This was my third extended stay at the Ambassador this year. The previous two visits went very well. But when I turned up at 3am after a long flight, everything started to go wrong. I had pre-paid for a Superior room 4 months before arriving, "guaranteed for late arrival". First the reception staff denied that it was pre-paid. They looked harder and admitted it was. They also accepted that I had paid for a Superior room (roughly 3 times the size of a Standard, with a sofa, armchairs etc). However they said that all the Superior rooms were now gone so I would be put in a Standard room! Amazingly they were unperturbed that a repeat guest should be treated this way at what was now 3.30am.

Eventually the next evening, after many conversations (no notes had been made by staff so I always had to start the conversation afresh) and much waiting, I was shown to the room I had paid for.

During my visit there was construction work in the hotel, in the internal courtyard onto which the quieter rooms face. Continual banging and drilling. No notice was given, no apology. On Saturday evening at 8pm I finally asked for it to stop. Again, the duty manager just looked very puzzled at my request, but to her credit she did stop the work.

The breakfast here is very basic, nothing like the other 5-star hotels in Delhi. Serving staff are poorly trained and the room is cramped though now there is an outdoor dining area which is an improvement. On my 10th day at breakfast, the staff who had served me all week suddenly said that breakfast was not included in my rate. Whether or not this was correct, there was no explanation why it should take the hotel so long to decide this.

I tried room service twice and the food was below the standard of other Delhi hotels, and not as good as on previous visits.

On my last evening, I complained to the manager. Profusive apologies and a kind offer to send a bottle of wine to the room. 15 minutes later, a written apology was slid under my door. No bottle of wine!

The next morning, the hotel computer was not working so my bill could not be printed out. They just presented a total figure to charge to my credit card. They have promised to email me the detailed bill. I won't hold my breath.

It is such a shame that this hotel is managed so badly. It is a nice building in a great location, next to Khan Market. The housekeeping staff is excellent and one day perhaps this will be a hotel which can be recommended. But for now, avoid it. The Oberoi, Imperial and Hyatt are far better choices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brandenburg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent 2 days in this hotel, which were very comfortable. We were upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant bonus! Service was excellent, my wife was unwell and the reception helped us to get a doctor immediately. The rooms were nicely furnished. Food was very good too but limited menu.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank linusevrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I reached the hotel, and Taj Ambassador is one of the best hospitalities that Delhi owns. The staff was great, humble, and available at disposal every time. It may be called as a luxury available at reasonable prices. An exceptional treatment given to guests by the staff is something I am taking with myself with my small duration stay at Taj.

The event was about a business conference, with several attendees. The staff took upmost care to bring all the possible comfort to us. The ambience, the food, the arrangements were great.

In my words, I may describe Taj as a true example of great hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amit7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#52 of 715 in New Delhi
548 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
1,994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,693 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing