We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #46 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have been a frequent visitor to Delhi and frequent yellow brick restaurant at this hotel quite often. Yesterday I had visited a garment exhibition at their banqueting. Once again I dined at the restaurant since I was there for an exhibition. Food was excellent once again and I must pen down that their guest areas are very well maintained. Though I did notice couple of seepage affected corners in the old building but hats off to the cleaning team. Kudos to them. I also got a chance to meet their Executive Housekeeper Poonam in the lobby and complimented her for the good work done by the hotel management. I shall continue to visit this lovely hotel.

Cheers!!

Room Tip: Yellow brick food is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professionally9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It’s always a pleasure to receive a feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to all of us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    328
    146
    50
    31
See reviews for
159
112
96
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Its always a pleasure being back at the Ambassador
The cleaniness and the warm atmosphere is what you notice as soon as you enter the lobby with its signature Fresh Flower(s) arrangement
The oil lamps never extinguish nor does the attitude to lend a helping hand from the staff
I have been a regular from the lat 18 years+ and have never ever felt like looking for another hotel
The coffee shop and its chief chef Mr Mallik and his signature dish BCC are a fad among the local Delhites
The rooms are big and spacious and clean
Overall a value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garima66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like this is a great source of motivation for me and my team.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and us.

Team at Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I wanted to write about my last visit to the lounge bar - Insomnia, located in Taj Ambassador, however, there is no separate mention of the same on Tripadvisor, so I chose to write it along with the hotel's review.

Beyond doubt Taj Ambassador has an air of regalia and glory to it. Its strategic location at Sujan Singh Park, New Delhi next to Khan market is unparalleled and at times I find it more appealing than the next door Taj Mansingh, which is a luxury Taj Property. Recently, I was in Insomnia, which is next to very famous 'Yellow Brick Road Cafe' to spend an evening with my friend. The place is good and has a laid back appeal to it. There is no loud music, it is dimly lit, offers ample of space to have conversation. However, only regret is with the selection though the menu has ample of choices published but unfortunately most of the beers are out of stock, which to me is amusing, Our server was repeatedly taking order for one brand and coming back with a sorry face telling that it is not available, to a point that he stopped reporting back. Had to call the captain on duty Mr. Vikas, who was polite to admit the stock out and offered us from what is available in selection.
Overall a pleasant experience to be at Insomnia, but terribly sorry with the menu and the stock out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_Mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for your feedback for your stay at Vivanta By Taj- Ambassador, New Delhi.

I have made a note of your concerns regarding ‘Insomnia menu’. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. The issue highlighted by you has been taken sternly with the concerned head of the department. Trust this lone incident in no way would dilute your association with the Taj.

We will make sure that you carry back better memories of your stay with us in the future, and towards this please allow us to be of service to you once again.

Do kindly treat this as a one-off aberration, on our part and not a mark of the hospitality that Taj is known for.

I do look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you really want to experience Old Hi-Society Delhi ambience, you have found it in this hotel!
Old world charm, solid interiors, clean & secure along with Taj hospitality is writ large from the moment your car draws into the portico.
I have been using this as a preferred hotel for the past 10 years in my business visits to Delhi (which is almost 8 to 10 times every year) and continue to do so. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, and the bathrooms are equally large. Breakfast is sumptuous and the famed Taj hospitality and customer care shows up on every staff member you meet. The bar is stocked with a decent collection of single malts, though if you are a beer drinker, you may be disappointed with the selection. Bar interiors though, could do with a reflection of the same old world charm.
I ordered room service and the quality of food was good.
I have never been disappointed with the hotel in the past 10 years.
The Khan market complex located next door provides for a selection of over 50 bars & restaurants along with shopping opportunities for you ladies (bargain hard!). The Metro station is located just behind the hotel and so provides for excellent connectivity with any other place in Delhi...
Room rates are reasonable and certainly provide great value for money.
The only downer is they charge for wi-fi at an atrocious rate; your data plan on your mobile may be cheaper!!
As a hotel, it is certainly highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for an outward (or city) facing room, rather than a room with a balcony facing the insides of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuttyMalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By-Taj Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review for our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have noted your comments on the location of our hotel, food & services. Your feedback has been shared with the team; this sure would encourage our team to strive for better.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and us.

Your suggestions ‘bar stock collection & WiFi atrocious rate’ have been noted. I hope you will not hold these issues against us.

Thank you again for your comments; we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A mix of the old world charm with some of the modern amenities. Big size rooms, neat and clean. Buffet breakfast is a good spread. You can really have a sumptuous start to the day. Some draw backs - in today's world you would expect free wifi everywhere. They charge a bomb for it. Plus in a large room with the TV about 12-15 feet away you would expect a larger screen for comfortable viewing. So that needs attention. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor little away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdiddy250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review for our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made a note of your compliment on the room size, amenities & buffet breakfast spread. We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like yours is a great source of motivation for all of us.

Your suggestions regarding ‘complimentary WiFi and television in the room’ have been noted. I hope you will not hold these against us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had stayed in this hotel during July in one of my official visits. I was really impressed by the way the Hotel is being maintained in its old charms. From front desk to the housekeeping as well as the restaurant was good. The stay was made comfortable. Thank you guys. WOW TAJ!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PramilaManoharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It always feels good to receive feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to all of us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

You get the sense that this once was an old-style luxury hotel. Today it's a little worn around the edges. The location near Khan Market make it a good place to stay - within easy walking distance you reach the many shops, cafes and restaurants of this upmarket place. The staff are exceptionally friendly. My room faced an inner courtyard and was quiet. If you want a boutique-style experience then this is probably not the place for you, but you'll be comfortable and well taken care of. It gets minus points from me for not offering free wifi in the rooms. Today I think that is should be standard for a hotel of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By-Taj Ambassador, New Delhi

We thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I have made a note of your suggestion regarding ‘complimentary WiFi’. In regard to your comment ‘hotel little worn around’, please note the upgradation process is under way. The same has been taken as a suggestion.

Your compliment ‘friendly staff’ has been shared with our team. We strive every day to ensure our guests have marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to all of us.

The team at Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#52 of 715 in New Delhi
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 715 in New Delhi
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,793 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
#1 of 19 in Faridabad
877 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing