We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel - In Center of City with Amazing options & connectivity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #43 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - In Center of City with Amazing options & connectivity”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Taj Ambassador New Delhi - One of the old time structural buildings, centrally located on Humayun Road adjacent to the Metro Station. The rooms are very comfortable, big, soundproof and well ventilated.

Room Tip: all rooms have very good ventilations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By-Taj Ambassador, New Delhi

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have noted your comments on the location & rooms of our hotel. Your feedback has been shared with our team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    318
    137
    48
    31
See reviews for
147
110
93
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had to stay overnight at delhi before i could catch my connecting flight the next day. And what best option to spend the night at a 5 star heritage property. Its located centrally and within walking distance from khan market. The hotel stood the test of Taj Hospitality true in all sense. We were greeted by the hotel staff at the magnificent and grand lobby. The superior charm we were allotted was awesome. The room was well maintained, bathroom neat clean and hygienic. The dinner at yellow brick road was awesome. Chef made it a point to interact with the guests and was busy taking feedback from all. He pampered my daughter by specially preparing the kids favourite dishes for her. I knew that hotel occupancy was full, and even though all the tables at the restaurant were occupied I never felt that the service was delayed. The staff and the chef, everyone had a pleasing smile. I owe this trip to the special corporate package of Taj Group of hotels with Army. Taj Ambassador - Keep doing what you are best at and keep pampering us everytime we visit you. Waiting for an opportunity to visit Ambassador again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabirafrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room & bathroom well maintained. Thank you for your kind words and consideration about our hotel and central location.

Your kind words ‘the staff and the Chef had a pleasing smile’ has been shared with our team. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help them to strive for the better.

We ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and all of us.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This heritage hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in Delhi. It is in an ideal situation to visit other attractions and is beautifully looked after. It is difficult to notice that you are staying in the heart of the city because it is very peaceful. The staff are all very courteous and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast room, whilst very clean and well kept is not in keeping with the rest of the building but the food and service were very good.
This will be my choice on any future visits to Delhi

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It always feels good to receive feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to all of us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stay here when on business as this is close to the Government offices as well as to Khan Market. The ambience is really nice as it was built quite some time back - no kanjoosee on open spaces, even the bath rooms are huge. The AC was not functioning properly but was quickly set right when informed. The staff is courteous, gym small but ok for a short trip. Breakfast room is small and the attendants are extra courteous - all of them will come and ask you what you want. This may be altered a little. I like this hotel for its old grace, quietness and helpful staff

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to lift or else you have a long walk in store
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryavarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have made a note of your comment regarding ‘staff at the Yellow Brick Road & breakfast room’. The same has been taken up with our Food & Beverage Manager.

Thank you for your kind words and consideration about our hotel and central location. We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one.

We look forward to your next visit. Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,


Suman Gahlot
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I booked this hotel on sunday in Dec-13 for 1 day during a vacation trip with family.

This is a legacy hotel in TAJ chain of hotels, so expect older construction and refits, but like a heritage property it has its own charm with large and spacious rooms . This is right in Centre of Delhi in zone called as Lutyens Delhi and suitable for staying if you have to travel on all side of Delhi with equal ease. Also if want to really enjoy the beauty of Lutyens Delhi, this is the best place to stay

Metro Station is right 100 Mtr. from the Hotel, While at Hotel you can take a stroll to beautiful Lodhi Garden or spend some time exploring Khan Market.

Being a TAJ, Service and hospitality levels are extremely high and friendly, staff are always eager to help and finally food quality was top notch.

My recommendation, if you are regular business traveler to Delhi, with no work outside Delhi, You must also try this Hotel.

Room Tip: Superior charm room is almost a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shobhitdoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By-Taj Ambassador, New Delhi

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have noted your comments on the location of our hotel & services. Your feedback has been shared with our team; thank you for this encouragement this sure would help them to strive for the better.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like this is a great source of motivation for all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our stay in this hotel was fantastic. The hotel was recommended and had very good reviews. The service was impeccable! The staff were great - so helpful, friendly and very professional! I travelled with a friend and stayed at this hotel at the beginning and at the end out our trip in India - it has been an absolute pleasure coming back here. I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone coming to Delhi. We were very well looked after all along. This place is like a heaven.
Many thanks to everyone who looked after us! Brilliant! Excellent! Impeccable service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It always feels good to receive feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot all of us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel surroundings are covered by so many trees you would find it hard to locate the building from the main road at night. The rooms are big with spacious bathrooms. Unique signage next to the tub reads: do not get into the tub after consuming alcohol. This was pretty amusing to see. The best feature of this hotel is the walking distance from Khan market. The breakfast area was cramped and could have been more lavish. All in all, an average hotel with a pleasant stay. Nothing to talk home about.

Room Tip: go for a garden view of the hotel. My balcony opened up to walls of the other wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjeev2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your comment ‘big room and spacious bathroom’. With regard to signage next to bathtub, kindly note it is purely for the safety purpose of our guests.

Your comments regarding ‘cramped breakfast area & could have been more lavish’ have been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager & Executive Chef. They would personally look into the same.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and that your visit is an enjoyable one in every respect.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#57 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#30 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing