We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“18 months of staying at this hotel during my Sheffield - Delhi commute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #41 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“18 months of staying at this hotel during my Sheffield - Delhi commute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have just finished my secondment in India and returned back to Sheffield after 18 months of commuting to and from Delhi. One of the things I miss the most about my time in India is the wonderful experience and hospitality I received from all the team at tis hotel. Ten things I would happily tell all travellers:

1. The team are incredibly polite and helpful.........but know when you just want to say hi and bye

2. The food at yellow brick road is amazing and in the evenings I felt I was eating with my own family because the whole place gets invaded with families. Try the chote Mayan biryani

3. Housekeeping are amazingly attentive and considerate of weekend sleep ins

4. The tailors near the reception desk does amazing tailor made shirts and trousers

5. The drivers at the hotel are the most polite and patient people

6. The hotel is near khan market ....which is the best place for food, shopping and general chilling out. Especially good earth cafe

7. The rooms are perfect and have an Indian charm about them......not bland and corporate like others

8. Room 419 is beautiful ........perfect......with a balcony........fireplace.......ask for that room

9. The team will do anything that is within the realms of possibility to ensure guests are happy.....they booked my stay at the taj in london, birds of paradise flowers for my partner when she came to India

10. I will never forget how everyone made me feel like I was at home. It's a cliche and perhaps an overused phrase.....but I know exactly what that means

To the team at Ambassador .....thank you from the bottom of my heart for a wonderful 18 months and for looking after me. I will be back one day again and as promised will tell everyone about this gem of a hotel in the heart of Delhi's establishment

Liton Ullah

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room or room 419
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liton U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Ullah,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have made a note of your compliments regarding the food and services . We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like this is a great source of motivation for all of us.

Your kind words for ‘tailor, chauffer & staff at Housekeeping’ have been shared with them. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help our team to strive for the better.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again. My team and I look forward to your continued visits.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    314
    134
    47
    30
See reviews for
145
108
92
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador last month on a business trip . The positives first : Good location , large rooms, comfortable bed , courteous staff , good food.
On the flipside - Not a business hotel - you get better amenities and secretarial assistance in lower grade hotels . Although this is a part of Taj Hotels, you don't get the feel of a "Taj" property . The bathroom fittings leave much to be desired. The restaurant for breakfast - Yellow bricks - is too small . Not recommended for business travelers !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raks59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have made a note of your comment with concern regarding ‘secretarial assistance’. Request you to please let us know any specific incident, for us to look into. Your feedback is valuable for us to take corrective action at our end. Also your suggestion regarding ‘Yellow Brick Road’ has been noted.

Your compliments regarding location of our hotel, food & services have been shared with our team. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help our team to strive for the better.

I thank you once again for your response.

Kind regards,


Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a charming property right in the heart of Delhi. Its truly old and yet regal in its own way and well maintained. Room Service was good. The bed rooms were large ( Since its an old hotel ). The USP would still be the location and neighbourhood, very tony. Very near Khan Market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi.

Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest level of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Comments such as yours are welcomed as they assist us in evaluating our operation and our success in generating happiness of our guests.

We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and that your visit is an enjoyable one in every respect.

Best regards,


Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Colonial old world atmosphere of this property immediately attracts. The staff make sure the experience is extremely personalized. The front lawn is a rarity in this day and age in a city hotel.

The rooms are huge, the bathrooms spacious and the balconies add a lovely touch. Yet all Creature Comforts are well provided including the large screen LCD that matches the room size.

The Coffee shop again has atmosphere and an extremely friendly and courteous staff. Only minus point is the buffet area for breakfast which is too cramped.

The location is perfect- central and in the best part of New Delhi.

Overall, highly recommended for a pleasantly different stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review for our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have noted your comments on the location of our hotel & services. Your feedback has been shared with the team. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help them to strive for the better.

Your comment regarding ‘breakfast area too cramped’ has been noted and taken up with our Food & Beverage Manager. I hope you will not hold this against us.

We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Whenever I travel to New Delhi I stay at the Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador. Great location - walking distance to Khan Market. Khan market has great restaurants, banks, supermarkets. Staff at this hotel are the biggest asset. Friendly and helpful. This is not a standard business hotel so don't expect flash, modern rooms. This is a heritage hotels with rooms that have been refurbished to reflect this.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have noted your comments on the location of our hotel and the staff. Your feedback has been shared with our team; this sure would encourage them to strive for the better.

I am glad that we could make your stay a pleasurable one. Positive reviews like this are a great source of encouragement for all of us.

We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for our first 2 nights in India. The room was a great size with 2 kids with us (3 and 1 years). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The arranged airport transfer was perfect with us arriving very late. Would stay with them again if we are in Delhi.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden at the front. The hotel is set back from the road so it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like this is a great source of motivation for all of us.

We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hotel was built in 1947 but is in a great shape. The rooms are very large - very unusual - and the maintenance is quite good. The staff is so friendly trying to fill all of your expectations that you feel home all the time. The food is a special topic: breakfast is very good, combining both Indian and western food and the rest of meals are always a very pleasant experience. The hotel is only 200 meters from Khan market where you can find a myriad of stores.

Room Tip: 4.o floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldoMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made a note of your comments on the location of our hotel, food & services. Your feedback has been shared with the team; this sure would help them to strive for the better.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like this is a great source of motivation for all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#56 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#25 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing