We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Colonial Character”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to this hotel and this visit was as good as the previous visits, in fact I was upgraded to suite which had 4 seperate rooms.The hotel is a character hotel and the rooms and corridoors give a feeling of antiquity.
The rooms are well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities mini bar and Iron etc.
The hotel is well placed a few minutes walk from Khan market and a number of restaurants and shops.
Approximately 30 mins from the airport and close to India gate and the presidential residence its ideally suited as a tourist base.
The small retaurant Yellow brick road offers a hearty breakfast both european and local food available and the bar serves a variety of local and european beers.
Staff are friendly and helpful and only to pleased to provide support when necessary.

Room Tip: See if you can get a free upgrade suites are large and have evrything you need. Rooms on the outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    321
    142
    49
    31
See reviews for
150
112
96
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This character hotel is approx 25 minutes from the domestic airport by car and well positioned for touring New Delhi's main attractions. Khan Market is less than 5 minutes on foot. Its a great building and the communal areas are full of charm. The staff are friendly and service in my experience was superb. Bar service and snacks excellent and a good choice (particularly Asian food) at breakfast. My room was getting a little bit tired, it was still clean and comfortable, but I suspect you could get better value for the same money in other hotels located nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed at Vivanta Ambassador for several nights for a work trip. The service throughout the week was truly exceptional - particularly by front desk / reception (Simrit Singh and Jitesh Budhraja) and by the bell service (Manphool). I was given an upgraded / renovated room at no additional charge - which was very stylish and well appointed (and huge!). I was also allowed to check in very early (5am) and leave very late (10 pm) for additional 1/2 day rate on either end which I found to be very fair. The location near Khan Market / Lodi Gardens was extremely convenient for my meetings. The food in the hotel was quite good - but it was really the kind, gracious, lovely smiles and greetings by all staff throughout the week that was really special. As a single female traveler, I felt extremely safe in the hotel and looked after. Would absolutely stay there again...

Room Tip: Ensure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenaJKimball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I was there on the 9 and 10 of February. Came at 5 in the morning because of a night flight. They were there waiting for us even though we were late of an hour and and half. Good reception, smiling at that time of the night not easy!
The room was the only disapointing thing about it. Be aware that for a 5 stars hotel, it is very old ...everything. Furniture, bathroom, bed, even towels, everything is out of fashion. Diffinitely in needs of renovation and revamping especially when we think how much we pay for it.
However the service was 5 stars. The breakfast was excellent, the terrace is quite nice. We also had dinner and it was excellent. Overall good, as we did not spend so much time in the room to busy visiting the city. 4 stars are mainly for the service....

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire308272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Location near Khan Market excellent for shoppers. Service very friendly. We indicated we would like a nicer room and would of course pay, but they upgraded us for nothing!

Very good bar with great bar snacks. Service at breakfast could be erratic, but a friendly conversation with manager worked wonders.

Room Tip: Basic rooms lack character. If on holidays spend a bit more to get something with more amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful property, excellent location,but badly in need of renovation! The staff also needs sprucing up! The rooms are uncarpeted,floors bare and cold! The air conditioning also needs looking into! The television was too far from the bed so had to turn up the volume which I'm sure must have caused disturbance outside. The lift was old and insufficient! the chairs in the Chinese restaurant need to be upholstered immediately! The food was overpriced! Overall can be a great hotel if Taj renovates it to it's normally high standards

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having stayed at the Taj Vivanta Yeshwantpur in Bangalore this hotel left me confused by the brand values of Taj Vivanta as in Bangalore it was a high quality international standard modern hotel with high standard modern finishes, in Delhi the Vivanta was a old hotel with ageing infrastructure and generally felt in desperate need of refurbishment so having experience two Vivanta hotels at opposite ends of the scale I now have no idea what the Vivanta brand stands for. On the Taj website is says Vivanta stands for contemporary luxury but I can't see the contemporary aspects of this hotel.

Check in process was fine and my bag was taken to my room in the tiny elevator that only held two people, I then walked for some time down old wood panelled corridors until I got to my room. I did have a lage flat screen TV with Tata Sky but that was the highlight. The a/c was very noisy, the bathroom was from the 50's, the whole experience was of a mid range local Indian hotel and nothing like a Taj.

I had dinner in the restaurant and although the service was not great the food was actually very good. With breakfast I was catching an early flight so only had some cerials but they let us eat at 06:45 when they don't open until 07:00 which was good.

I would not recommend this place until Taj have upgraded it to fit within the brand although the food and the staff are generally good.

Room Tip: There are much better options in Delhi but if you want a period hotel with good staff this may work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alx-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#52 of 715 in New Delhi
548 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
1,994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,693 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing