We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel best in class in Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb hotel best in class in Delhi”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have waited to write this review as I have stayed 4 times in the past 5 months at this hotel so have a pretty good idea of its qualities. I have to say that this is this one of the best hotels I have stayed in across India, indeed globally (best in class globally, for sure) . Spacious well appointed rooms, many with balconies, imnpeccably kept, lots of amenities, great Taj service, excellent inhouse coffee shop and retaurant and a very good and personalised breakfast. Room service is willing to accomodate off menu requests, too The wifi connection is excellent and management is always on hand to look into guests needs i learnt that over 60 per cent of guests coming here are repeat customers... i would not dream of stayinfg anywhere else, and I grew up in delhi and know the city its hotels and what it has to offer well.

Downsides: (1) Many of the rooms are under refurbishemnt but this should soon be complete (2) This is not the place to say if you want a spa and I am not sure if they have a pool.
(3) The bar is badly lit and little used and has a rather charmless band most of the time but there are plenty of excellent watering holes next door at Khan Market

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT overlook the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rathin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    327
    144
    50
    31
See reviews for
156
112
96
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 5 days at Taj Vivanta in Delhi (this is popularly known locally as Ambassador hotel) and were very happy with the hotel. The deluxe rooms have a living room and a bedroom with a large attached bathroom plus a small balcony. Given that we were there with 2 kids, the size of the room + 2 TVs turned out to be a boon. In-room dining food quality was excellent and so were the hotels and bar in the hotel. The complementory breakfast was sumptous.
What could be better is that the swimming pool was under renovation and the spa was very small. They did make up for the swimming pool by allowing us to use the facility in the other Taj hotel which is closeby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

TAJ vivanta has been my home away from home since 31 years, Vivanta taj Has been Very Favorite hotel for many of my buisness asscoates from Canada, Hotel Has Excellent Coffe Shop 24/7 ,Great food ,Very Personal service by staff,One of the Best Chiness restaurant In Delhi Is In vivanta Taj ambassdor,Call Larry's China,and Great Lounge.
Rooms are very comfortabel .
Taj Ambassdor Gm Mr.Sumit Taneja and his team has done great job and continue to do so.
Staff has very personal approach towards Guest and very help full.
I strongly recomend Taj Ambassdor for your next stay at delhi.
My Big Kudo's Taj Ambassdor keep up great work . Keep Smiling
Hemant M Shah
Winnipeg Canada

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemantShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Truly relaxing place to spend a few nights if you re stopping over in New Delhi, I nearly always stay here and this place is like a second home to me. I recommend this Hotel to everybody because, even though it is big compared to other hotels its nice and cosy and its a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Arrived at Delhi Airport from London on 27th June 2012 for a one-night stay. A taxi had been booked via the hotel, which had been confirmed it, but none turned up at the airport. Had to ring hotel from the airport (someone from another hotel was most helpful in lending me his phone for this call) but they had no knowledge of any taxi having been arranged! As this was not my first trip to India so knew were to get a registered taxi.

When I arrived at the hotel the Manager met me and apologised for the issue and informed me that such bookings are made via the head office who are then supposed to let the hotel know, looked like lack of communications - however this does not create a first good impression. Suggest one check with head office to confirm any such arrangements. However, a nice touch was a cool glass of juice with mint – really appreciated.

The Manager did come to my room later and once again apologised and informed me that a complementary taxi would be provided for my next day morning flight – a nice touch.
Overall the room was of good standard though the so-called balcony is little more that a small space outside window. There is working space but the Wi-Fi is not free. Good size bathroom with lots of space to put things and good supply of hot water (though not really used in the high temperature).

The restaurant – Yellow Brick – offers a variety of foods at a reasonable price and the service is very good. As I had a very early flight the next morning the restaurant staff offered to arrange breakfast for me without any extra charge – this to some extent eliminated the first poor impression.

Checkout was without any issues and the taxi was ready, with another apologise from the morning staff. I feel that the hotel staff should not have to deal with customer complaints that are clearly due to lack of training/communication at the head office. So, well done to the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was truly a back in time kind of an experience the decor is very retro , takes you to may be around 70's .

Very well maintained old furniture and fittings give a very homely the feeling.

Nice place to cozy up, there is good privacy for every room .

Staff is good and attentive, the breakfast has a superb spread and get you ready for a full day ahead.


Though the location is a little away from the main road the accessibility is not difficult .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvidhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A great place to stay. Breakfasts are great. Friendly staff are keen to introduce local dishes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviamoxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,038 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#54 of 716 in New Delhi
561 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 716 in New Delhi
2,745 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,726 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
#1 of 19 in Faridabad
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing