We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable- in location, stay and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Even though it is old building the environment is very comfortable also it is located in the center of Delhi - very approachable to south and central Delhi. The staff is efficient and helpful, very accommodating. they attend to even the smallest of your request within minutes. The rooms and bathrooms can do with some renovations. The breakfast area is small and usually crowded in the morning but the buffet spread is delicious. The fresh fruits every day in the room is very refreshing. The over all stay of a week was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SparkleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 968 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were two of us on a Business Trip to New Delhi and found this warm and friendly place near the famous Khan Market in New Delhi. This place is literally sandwiched between the two big brothers the Oberoi and the Taj Mansing which are within a kilometre on either side. This place reminds you of the old British Raj days like a Governor's residence. It is not too tall and it just spreads out.

The reception at this place was very warm and friendly. During our stay we encountered many young trainee staff who very sharp and pleasing too. Their vibrant attitude was so different from the stiff attitude seen with many other luxury hotels including from the Taj Group itself. The staff were fast and efficient. Thus the check-in was very pleasing and not painfull.
Now coming to the room descibed as a Superior Charm view room had twin beds and ample furniture. It had a large Balcony connecting two doors opeing out of the room. The entire get up had well polished woodedn furniture. It had two seperate cupboards for use by each guest. The usual fridge, minibar and the self service Coffe/tea maker were good in the usual Taj Style.
The room by todays standard was huge with wonderful air conditioning. It was almost a suite.

I had breakfast at the Yellow Brick Road which is a cute little Coffee Shop where there was a generous Beakfast Buffet spread. The place had few tables but the appearnace was like being in a cafe in any quaint European retreat with placards of old advertisement posteres carried on the. Here again the staff was very quick and receptive.All in all it was a very memorable and affordable stay at a Taj Property in upmarket New Delhi. I will certainly like to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have to go to Delhi and stay in an upmarket loation with Value for Money go to this Hotel. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dankishor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

An old hotel that has undergone a facelift and is expecting the undergo another set of face lifts soon. The rooms are very spacious due to their colonical origin. Next to Khan market, so there are shops and restaurants close by as well. I liked the hotel cars as they were not overly priced for the kind of distances one has to travel in the NCR region.
I loved the Chinese restaurant and the lounge in the hotel!

I often stay at this property during my visits to Delhi.

Room Tip: Take a roo that is facing the road or the exterior side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NaveenRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel offers a welcoming environment despite that the standard is rather average, or to a certain extent out dated; hairdryers are old and broken, bathrooms are in general shabby, windows can be opened, but not always closed again.
Breakfast buffet is rather poor and breakfast room is small, when there are a lot of guests it is definitely not a pleasure to eat there.
The staffs are very friendly and service minded. To some extent you get some little extras like fresh fruit, night sweets and a fresh rose in the bathroom.
The hotel is situated in a nice place, close to Khan Market and the Lodi Garden.
I can still recommend the hotel, because the staff makes up for the shabbiness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Well Taj by its brand calls for quality and something different, but this was like a normal 3 or 4 star hotel. best part is its location its right in heart of city and ahas easy access to south delhi, Cp, india gate and all the VIP areas of delhi.

rooms are decent but view from rooms is nothing great to say the least. i was upgraded being a epicure plus member sso luckily my room was a bedroom with living room and that was good to have. hotel serves breakfast in a small cafeteria located on right corridor from enterance. again the breakfast was not taj standard and was not lavish..

one thing that was surely Taj standard was their service and cleaniness.

if you are business traveller need place in central delhi, need brand to back it up this is the place do not expect anything fancy by TAJ brand in this hotel though. if you need fancy stuff book Taj Mansingh 5 mins from this hotel but you ll pay almost double for that fancy stuff :)

Nice value for money hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SameerBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for four weeks. During that time I never had a problem or a request that wasn't handled graciously and immediately. Service is fantastic and the entire staff goes out of their way to serve you. The rooms and baths are spacious and nicely appointed. Little extras like fruit in the room and a fresh rosebud in a vase made one feel very well cared for. The location, just down the street from Kahn Market, is central and very convenient to most attractions. The food at the Yellow Brick Road is good and the breakfast buffet is lavish. The dining room staff is attentive and remembers your preferences. It is worth going to Delhi to stay here! It is probably the most positive experience I have had in a hotel in any city anywhere.

Room Tip: There are rooms of all sizes. Some are quite spacious--let them know what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wood32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Was here for a night on 29/30 July and it is very close to other five star hotels including few blocks away from towering Taj Mansingh - but this surely is royal and majestic - and preserves the old world charm... and presents a refreshing grand experience of old times!

the lush green garden will surely catch your eyes, the reception interiors doesn't really spill the beans till you reach your room. the natural lights in the room and bathroom, the play of white and colours - and old world furniture and decor - wedded beautifully with modern world technology and gadgets will surely leave a lasting imprint.

The coffee shop is absolutely brilliantly done up - it extends into an open space too if weather permits and has an air conditioned part as well. The food did NOT impress me - which is really a downside given other aspects of this hotel that does impress the guest.

It is an old property - and very old construction - but very well maintained too.

It is hardly 5 min walking distance from Khan Market (very posh Delhi market which is full of shopping and dining opportunities too! very close to India Gate area/ Lodhi area - so central for work too.

Room Tip: the room windows are really low - so be careful and draw curtains when required :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,119 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#49 of 715 in New Delhi
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 715 in New Delhi
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,879 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
#1 of 20 in Faridabad
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $138 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing