We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, charming, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #41 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Elegant, charming, and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

My son and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of a three week backpacking holiday in India. After a long flight we were very pleased to arrive at this lovely hotel and acclimatize to Delhi in comfort. The hotel is an attractive older style colonial property set in gardens. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome right from the start. Good size room, comfortable beds and cleaned to a high standard. Food excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSEYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    314
    134
    47
    30
See reviews for
145
108
92
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

I loved this place. Really great service.
Welcome drink to checkin to room size.
Great Food.

Not very modern look but really neat, clean and professional.

I would prefer to live here, when I am in Delhi.

Also good rates were offered to us as a business house with regular staff visits to Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

this hotel rooms are Huge sized , you could play football in these rooms , just kidding ,
but i have not yet seen any other hotel with these size rooms ,
Food is great here they have a Chinese resturant with excellent dishes, Taj service has allways been suberb

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeshGMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. I initially booked a double deluxe room but i thought i'd try and ask for an upgrade on check in. I was offered a suite which had twin beds which could be pushed together. I asked to look at both rooms before deciding. The suite had a seperate living area but the furniture and bathroom looked really dated. The deluxe room also had twin beds which they did not tell me. I then asked to see a room with a double bed and the standard room was shown which looked just the same as the deluxe. I decided to go for the standard but had to ask to pay the standard price and not the deluxe, which they then discounted.
Overall the room is not that bad but i found the bathroom needed a major revamp. The floors were filthy and there was water dripping from the basin. Also the towels had seen better days.
The buffet breakfast was really good with lots of variety and the staff jumping at your feet for anything you needed. Khans market is very close and we had dinner there instead.
I had a back massage in the spa which was very good but was disappointed to see previous users disposable underwear in the bathroom!
The hotel is priced well for delhi. The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Generally we had a pleasent stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluerose09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

What they don’t have in grandeur (usually associated with the Taj group), they make it up for that, in style with their service.

We had booked this hotel for one of our business trips to Delhi. The CEO during her last visit had stayed at this hotel and wanted to stay here again. The hotel building is from the colonial era and is listed as a heritage building as well. The hotel is next-door to Khan Market as well as the Khan Market Metro station. The stay was for two days. The hotel’s got a lovely little coffee shop that is as quirky as its name ‘Yellow Brick Road’. The hotel has also got an in-house Chinese restaurant and a bar as well.

The room was comfortable, with all the standard fittings. The room that I stayed in had a complimentary fruit platter and a well-stocked but pay-as-you-use minibar. The comfort however was marred by the absence of a remote to control the A/C. Every time I had to change the temperature, had to get up, walk across the room to the wall-mounted panel.

The room service was prompt and efficient. There was always someone at the door within 2 minutes of a request being placed. The staff was courteous and knew what was expected from them.

Pros:
1. Old-world charm.
2. Efficient staff.
3. Good connectivity.

Cons:
1. Lack of remote to control the room A/C.
2. Limited Gym facilities.
3. Paid internet connection.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed here for just one night. Chekecd in close to 10pm as my flight was late so ended up ordering room services which was perfect in terms of quality of service. The room was nice as they upgraded me to an executive room which had a sitting room too so space was not an issue. The bathroom was also clean and well stocked and the bed was great. The next morning I had breakfast which is fine but the restaurant was a bit of a squeeze and very old style. Needs to be upgraded since this hotel is now under the Vivanta brand - maybe they have changed things around in the last 12 months.

All in all a good business hotel in the center of town which is useful. Would recommend it for business travellers looking for a moderatly priced high quality 4 star property.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharastra, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

I had visited Ambassador many years back... was apprehensive of staying in a old property after recent bad experience but I decided to book any case as the location was excellent from work point of view. Was pleasantly surprised by the good service and the rooms have been redone and upgraded to be very nice and "business hotel like" which is all one wants while traveling on work. The prices of all food and drinks are reasonable... including the hotel airport pick up and drop which for some reason many hotels charge almost half of the room rate in Delhi... I recommend this hotel for sure......... and the food is awesome :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atq66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#56 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#25 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing