We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad”
Review of Vivek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivek Hotel
Ranked #221 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Vilnius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really bad”
Reviewed December 20, 2009

This was the worst hotel we stayed in India.
It started with really bad surrounding area.
Lately we got quite a dirty room, where we were not able to switch off the light the way that the fan would still be on. There was one switch, but it was so old and inpossible to pull. So we slept with the light on all night. As well it was a dirty room. Service was also bad. The people from the hotel cheated us with offering us a taxi to the area which was nearby by asking 150 rupees, when other taxis were taking there for 50 or less.
They also offered us a map, and it appeared that they want us to pay for it.

Really the worst expierience with a hotel in India

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikestravelVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    81
    93
    48
    66
See reviews for
16
100
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We arrived in Delhi at around 4am and were picked up by the Vivek staff. On arriving at the Hotel we asked to see our room before paying. We were shown a horrible, dirty room. The bed was a short, misshaped double with a thin bit of grubby foam for a mattress, a window was hanging off, the bathroom looked awful. We had booked a standard, not economy room, on the strength of photos on the website. We expected te actual room not to be as good as the photo, but this bore no comparison. We were shown another room that was much better, a (worse) variation of the photo on the net but was told this room was 1200R as opposed to the 650R agreed online. We managed to argue the manager down to 800R for the better room but felt we had been conned. It wasn't a good start to our first India trip after 24 hours travel, it made us expect to have similar problems at other hotels, luckily this experience wasn't repeated.

The resturant was quite nice. Staff were friendly, food fine, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Poland
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2009

I agree with mharley86 - the hotel is awful! The staff was not friendly, we arrived at 1.00 am and the check in was a real absurd - we had to pose to pictures holding our passports by our faces :// All the rooms we have been shown were dirty and sordid, before we entered the man from the hotel kicked off bags with rubbish. I guess they have various rooms, but the ones we saw and the one we already took were horrible... When I saw a new Vivek webpage, I thought I was going to die from laughing - it seems to be at least 4 star hotel!
Last year I heve been had...

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank olamanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Travel to delhi often and not on a very high budget. Its basic and clean I think they are refurbishing so ask for the newly renovated rooms.. Its got a nice restaurant and is centrally located.. cant ask for more for the amount I paid..
Cheers..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Really, this hotel was completely awful. We arrived in Delhi at 4am, and were met at the airport by someone holding our names on a sign, as we had paid the hotel for a taxi pickup. However, all the guy with the sign did was call a taxi for us, which took nearly 30 minutes, and it was a complete rip-off as it was more than double the price of our return taxi to the airport. Having to wait for 30 minutes after travelling for 20 hours at 4 in the morning wasn't great either. The hotel was a complete dump, with the manager insisting we had to fill out all the forms there and then despite how tired we were, not letting us see the rooms and insisting we had to pay up front for our stay. We were so tired we decided to chance it, which was a massive error. The rooms were absolutely filthy, unquestionably the worst we found in India (we travelled in India for a month). The 'air-cooler' didn't work, the shower was non-existent, in one of the rooms the toilet didn't flush at all, and there were bugs everywhere. When we complained we were met by shrugs and indifference by the manager, who clearly did not care at all what we thought of his hotel. The rooms were so hot and disgusting we gave up trying to sleep and got the earliest train we could find to Agra that day. I'm pleased to stay that every hotel in India after Vivek was much better. I've travelled to Morocco, Australia, and throughout South-East Asia, South America and Europe, and I've never encountered a worse hotel than Vivek. I could not more strongly recommend that other travellers avoid it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mharley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in a so-called luxury room which was ok to stay at. It was clean, had tv, a fridge and a/c. You could also use the internet (for a few rupees) and book a tour to the Taj Mahal in the hotel's travel agency for a good price.
The hotel is located in a busy market street near Connaught Place. There, you can get anything what a tourist's heart desires - from saris to henna tattoos. However, I would recommend not to eat at the hotel's restaurant and instead look for an alternative e.g. at Connaught Place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeKKs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The location is good and we were picked up by taxi as promised. We had a club room with a quite new bathroom (room 103) but it did not have a window. The check in is slow but the staff were helpful. Sam's cafe on the roof was a good place to eat and it is being made bigger. I think this hotel is a safe bet for quick stop overs in and out of India (I stayed for the first and last day of my trip only). If you want to chill out in your room go somewhere with a window but pay more.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poppyshrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Avtar
#377 of 715 in New Delhi
51 reviews
Hotel Shivam International
#394 of 715 in New Delhi
18 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#81 of 715 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Payal
#210 of 715 in New Delhi
162 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#319 of 715 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#142 of 715 in New Delhi
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Property: Vivek Hotel
Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vivek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing