We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sufficient shelter”
Review of Vivek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivek Hotel
Ranked #210 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Allahabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sufficient shelter”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed one night here. Not very clean and not very welcoming or service-minded staff. I stayed here in december and there were no warm blankets. Bedsheets were used before me. Location is OK if you need shelter close to the trainstation. All in all good enough for one night, but not more than that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkfelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    81
    93
    48
    66
See reviews for
16
100
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived quite late and asked for a room, they said they had rooms for 600 or 800. He said he would give us the 'special price' of 550 for the cheaper room. We went to look at room 211, it was next to the stairs on the 3rd or 4th floor. It was the dirtiest room I had seen in India, after 5 weeks of travelling!
When I looked closer, I found dried rat droppings on the bed and on the floor. The sheets were filthy, thef loor and walls were filthy and the bathroom was gross and full of bugs and ants! We said that if they gave us clean sheets and towels and cleaned the room first we would take it. There were now two guys on then check I desk and the new one wrote out our details and the price of the rooms which was now, magically, only 500 a night! Obviously the price it's meant to be or maybe it was only supposed to be 400?!!!
So we checked in and waited for our clean bedsheets and room to be cleaned - what a joke! It took about 3 hours to get our clean sheets and towels.
The hotel ma have nicer rooms for more money and we were only staying for one night and arrived too late to traipse around looking for an alternative. By my advice would be - stay somewhere else! This was not typical of hotels in India, and a real let-down at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeegalpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked this hotel for 3 different stays in Delhi. The first time I was by myself and I arranged for the hotel to collect me from the airport. The taxi was reasonable and the room I was given was perfectly acceptable for one person. It was nearer the back of the hotel so quieter.

The second room was an upgrade apparently so slightly nice inside with free wifi but due to its location at the front of the hotel is was incredibly noisy and we had dozens of little flies on the floor around the door which increased overnight as the corridor outside was open to the balcony area allowing flies into the hallway.

The third stay had us in a room with no windows but quite large however it took a whole night for them to bring me another pillow as we only had one between two guests.

On the whole this was a good value, safe and helpful hotel for a female guest in this part of Delhi. It is well located and has a rooftop restaurant that is cheap and cheerful with a more expensive and much nicer restaurant next door.

The staff are helpful, at time overly so as there was one particular member of staff who kept coming to my room on 2 of the 3 visits to offer water or tea but didn't seem to fully understand our polite refusal. His major flaw was calling our room 3 times on the morning of our final departure as he thought he was being helpful giving us a wake up call even though I had asked not to be woken.

My only other criticism was the quality of taxi that I took to go back to the airport. The car was awful and the driver tried to pick up a friend enroute which I wouldn't allow as I was travelling alone and was uncomfortable with other men being in the car with me. This however I think is more reflective of the driver than the hotel. The moment I said I would tell the hotel, his friend got out of the car and we got to the airport.

All in all, a good choice but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building with screened windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alli7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Room was excellent. Bathroom was clean. They have a roof top restaurant with delicious foods and have room service too. Also there are some activities to do like pool, table football etc. It's in walking distance from New Delhi railway station and has many places to shop nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Rooms are clean enough, the staff are friendly and helpful, hot water had a mind of its own though, Sam's on the roof for food is excellent (it could do with a lick of paint)

All in all I think it is very good value for money.

Be prepared to be approached by touts as soon as you leave the hotel as it is on the main Bazaar (the address gives it away) however, if you can handle these guys you'll be okay :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

It is a nice central place to stay on the main bazaar and the rooms are clean and modern. The staff are mostly friendly and helpful.. Especially the bellboys.
Hot water can be a bit of an issue, and other people that were staying there during both of our stays found the same.. but be patient because it did come on for us once after we ran the water for 10 15minutes.
All in all, not my favorite place to stay but I would stay again if your after a clean, central room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is good however the room we were given was full of bugs. Small bugs that looked like lice. The bathroom had very bad smell. Some staff helpful however when asking directions to other bars they will say we have bar here and wouldnt help. If you stay ask for a room away from the street as very loud from the hussel and bussel of the streets below

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Avtar
#368 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#126 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#135 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shivam International
#387 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#28 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Hotel Delhi City Centre
#188 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Property: Vivek Hotel
Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vivek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing