We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, lovely garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #67 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed twice at Grand during February 2014 while on holiday in india. It set the standard for other Indian hotels, pretty gardens, efficient staff, good restaurant, clean and well equipped bedrooms, good location for the airport and the centre of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear LizS

Thank you for your kind review of The Grand New Delhi, we appreciate your feedback on your recent stay experience with us.

We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Delhi
Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    360
    151
    53
    45
See reviews for
188
163
70
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and at a right location. I happen to visit this property frequently. The staff is really nice and they do cater to all your needs. There is this restaurant called Indulge which serves exigent meal but quite less on staff and also there is a Awesome Pastry shop there where this cute little lady works, she is really good and sells awesome bakery stuff. That girl keeps that lone shop as cheerful as a amusement park, like you can stand for hours and talk to her. over all this lady and the hotel is awesome. Her Name is Karishma Kumari and she is someone whom the hotel can leverage.

Thanking you

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Alaa H

Thank you for your kind review of The Grand New Delhi
It is such a pleasure to know that we have created a lasting impression on you from your recent experience with us! Thank you for all your kind compliments to my team especially Karishma Kumari from Bakery, for their warmth and attentiveness. To know that their level of service highlighted your stay is a great achievement for them.

We are grateful for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home on your next visit to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'm so please I've found this Hotel in Delhi ! Close to airport and not far from diplomatic district so for me a great location. The basics are all good, airport collection, welcoming and fast reception, great food, great room, great gym etc. Concierge really helpful when organising transport, drivers all good, large Mall next door, few mins walk. Definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear London_Kent_UK

Thank you for your generous review of The Grand New Delhi.
We aprreciate your kind compliments on our location, being close to the most luxuious malls in delhi and in close promoxity to the airport, our hotel is very popular amongst both our business and leisure guests.

I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay experience with us.
Do come and visit us again when you are next in New Delhi, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

It is palatial and elegant. Beautifully set out with large marble reception area and beautiful garden surrounds.As i swiped the card and entered the room, I was impressed. A spacious room with an amazing view of the large swimming pool and the greenery beyond. I liked the huge and comfortable bedroom with a bathroom.
But not all things are GRAND.
Front desk is chaotic.Breakfast is good, but i didn't liked.(May be my choice is different)The hotel lacks proper service.Two bottles of mineral water promised, not replaced on the second day. Used shower cap left hanging on the bath-tub, no replacement given.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Pritam2014

Thank you for staying at The Grand New Delhi, it is our pleasure to have you with us.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to few service issues, Please be assured that this was a rare occurrence and we have since addressed this matter with my team members.

We truly appreciate your compliments on our Lobby, spacious guest rooms and the view to the swimming pool and greenery. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay experience with us.

Thank you for your staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A grand hotel with friendly staff and good food. Hotel is centrally located at vasant kunj and close proximity to airport. Nothing negative, except the bed. It's too small, definitely not a king size one and for double occupancy it's not at all comfortable. Hope the management takes care of this before alloting the rooms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kumaresh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Kumaresh b,

Thank you for your kind review of The Grand New Delhi, we appreciate your feedback on your recent stay experience with us.

We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Delhi
Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our first trip to India and we relied on the Grand Hotel to provide the service, tour guides, pick up and drop out to the Airport and 5 star vegetarian food, well kept rooms, etc etc. Their service was outstanding, food was simply awesome and I put few kilos as well, the staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us in every way possible. I also take this opportunity to thank them for holding our luggage at no cost while we attended other business meetings away from Delhi. overall very good experience, well done the Grand and the staff, see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Vandana S

Thank you for your generous review of The Grand New Delhi, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased that my team took good care of you during your stay and you were comfortable in our guest room.
Do come and visit us again when you are next in New Delhi, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

A massive driveway, neatly done-up lobby and a bright corridor greeted me as I walked to my room at The Grand, New Delhi. As i swiped the card and entered the room, I was impressed. A spacious room with an amazing view of the large swimming pool and the greenery beyond. Have never seen a larger bathroom in any star hotel, with 2 sliding entrances, a bath-tub and mirrors all round.

The Grand Club Lounge where breakfast is served is a large area and one never gets claustrophobic even when there are many hungry people around. The spread is good and I was particularly impressed by the typical south indian taste of the idlis and sambar. The Fitness centre styled 'Oasis' is also about space and one gets to work out comfortably.

Must be a great hotel you would think? Well not exactly. Quality of sleep was poor on both nights I stayed here. Do not know if it was due to the very soft pillows or the air-conditioning, which seemed to be going on and off.

In the morning when I wanted to take a shower, found that water had stopped. I was shocked but within 5-10 minutes, the flow started again.About room service, less said the better. I had to request 2 times over the phone for the empty tray to be cleared but there was no one coming. As I had to go to sleep, Had to carry all the plates,bowls,etc and place them outside my room. Two bottles of mineral water promised, not replaced on the second day. Used shower cap left hanging on the bath-tub, no replacement given.

As I was checking out, I was given the bill pertaining to some other room. When I pointed this out, the staff member apologised and brought out the right one. Certainly not intentional, but the carelessness was shocking.

The hotel lacks soul and what is missing is the most important requirement in the hospitality industry i.e. SERVICE. The management would do well to get their act together in double quick time. Remember, the guests have other options too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Contking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Contking

Thank you for your warm review of The Grand New Delhi, the pleasure was ours to welcome you at the hotel
Your special mention of our spacious guest rooms, saloon and fitness centre is truly appreciated.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Please be assured that I have addressed the concerns with my Team.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us. Do come and visit us again when you are next in India.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#35 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#78 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
#30 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#17 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
#32 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing