We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #67 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and sis in law for our short trip to Delhi..we choose this hotel as it is located next to ambience mall..location wise..if u r looking to spend alot of time in the mall or close to airport then its worth it..otherwise it will be wise to stay in central delhi...the ambience of the hotel is good..breakfast was good..however the room was abit of a let down..the bathroom concept is not very good..when one shower water tends to flow everywhere..well overall its an ok hotel but for price we paid i expected better..

Room Tip: Consider the location before booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parvinkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Parvinkaur,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grand New Delhi. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We really appreciate your positive comment on our location which is still as popular among both our business and leisure guests, presenting great alternative options for dining, shopping and entertainment.

We look forward to another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    373
    157
    57
    47
See reviews for
197
171
71
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is in South, Delhi, which worked well for me. You are close to the airport and to several shopping malls. The room was oversized with a nice marble enclosed tub and shower. The closet was a little small. Both me and the window washer were shocked to see each other when I stepped out of the shower naked! The staff should notify guests when they are coming. I also got a wake-up call at 3 am, instead of 8 am. Other than this, it was a great place to stay. Included in the rate was a delicious comprehensive breakfast buffet. I will stay here again when I can get a good rate. In October the rates were very expensive!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firecrackerbaby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Tigerss47,

Thank you for your review of The Grand New Delhi, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your compliment on our breakfast spread and location! Do come and visit us again when you are next in New Delhi, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.


Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was on a business trip with my colleagues recently and chose to stay at this hotel for the following reasons:
1. Close proximity to airport only 30 min away if the traffic is smooth.
2. Close to shopping malls and away from the noisy city centre.
3. Value for money for 5 star hotels.

Indeed, the rooms are cosy, huge and tastefully decorated. I enjoyed the TV channels - a good range from international news and sports channels. The wifi is reasonably fast and I have no issue with the room. The reception staff is efficient and helpful. I had difficulty with my door card. Upon approaching the front desk staff, he changed a new one and went up with me to open the room for me. Great service. They are also prompt in answering my request for extra mineral bottles and ironing board.

The breakfast is good and I particularly like their oriental corner which serves fried rice and teriyaki fish. The Indian dishes are delicious and yet not too spicy for us. The nearby shopping malls are just 5 min walk from the hotel. There are three malls which you can get almost everything. One worthwhile buy is at samsonite shop. The prices of the luggages are almost 50% cheaper than what we can get back in our country.

Overall, the experience at the hotel is comfortable. Strongly recommend for business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Chan K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grand New Delhi. We are delighted that you were comfortable and felt well-looked after during your stay.

We very much appreciate your feedback on our guest rooms and our Breakfast spread that highlighted your experience with us.

Our location is still as popular among both our business and leisure guests, presenting great alternative options for dining, shopping and entertainment.
We look forward to another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We came upon the Grand after we checked out of our previous hotel the Royal Park Plaza New Delhi. We were so disappointed with the Royal Park Plaza we moved to the Grand the next morning. This hotel is a little out of the way from the main part of Delhi but with transport it was a great location close to shops etc. But one really does not want to leave this hotel it is an oasis. It was clean, pleasant, spacious with well appointed rooms and the food and buffet is excellent and vast. The gym facilities were very good. The gardens are lovely to walk in away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A great recovery from an initially bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaveri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear itravel0007,

Thank you for staying at The Grand New Delhi, it was our pleasure to have you with us.

We are delighted that you were all comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. My team truly appreciates your kind feedback on the service and are happy that you felt well-cared for while you were with us.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to having you again on your next visit to New Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely gardens to stroll around in and a large pool to lounge by. So many hotels in India that I have been to, especially the big ones, don't have free wifi and that is annoying. The room was quite nice with coffee/tea maker, and long soft towels, hairdryer for the modern bathroom. The food was delicious and moderately priced. When I got stuck by myself in the elevator they got me out quickly and were apologetic. The room only had one lock on the door - no chain or other kind of lock. The breakfast was very good, but I missed not having bananas and other take-away-for-later items, that many hotel buffets have. All in all, a nice place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Beverlz,

Thank you for your positive review of The Grand New Delhi, we are delighted that you enjoyed a great stay experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, which gives us great insights on what is important to our guests.

We value your continued patronage and as always, remain at your service whenever you visit us next.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We started our trip to India at this hotel. We spent the first night in a ordinary room. The plumbing was abismal. After having a shower the whole bathroom waas flooded.
We upgraded to club class . The room was on the club leval and an improvement. The club lounge was very ordinary.
We spent 2 more nights there.
We were overcharged for one night as well as for wiifi which we were told came free with a club room.
The staff were not particularly pleasant either when dealing with our queries.
It is in an aweful area and far out of the city.

Room Tip: If you do go there get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Ireneandstan,


Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grand New Delhi.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to plumbing issues in the bathroom. Please be assured that this was a rare occurrence and we have since addressed this matter.

Please allow me to take this opportunity to clarify that we did not over chrage for the one night and also we have waived off the Wi-fi charges as well from your bill at the time of settlement.

We hope that there will be an opportunity in the future to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for your staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

An awesome facility with good choices if restaurants at a very prominent location id the Grand Vasant Kunj.
The staff in each department is very courteous and i must say that they really know how to treat a guest. Food is good there. Plenty of open space...well maintained and of course reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnsoJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear AnsoJacob,,

Thank you for staying at The Grand New Delhi, it was our pleasure to have you with us.
Whilst I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for commending my team members for their attentive service, which made you feel well-taken care of during your stay with us.

We look forward to another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#35 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#74 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
#37 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#24 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
#33 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing