We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #66 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good but out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here twice over a 3 week period & found the hotel to what you expect from an upmarket hotel. It is a long way from mid town.
Service was always good.
Food excellent but they never had any lamb!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartessaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    367
    156
    55
    47
See reviews for
195
168
70
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were only 15 min from the airport which was a blessing when we had to be up at 3am that last morning. We stayed here 3 nights and the breakfasts and staff in the dining room are beyond fantastic. We also had pizza our first night at the hotel due to our late arrival and it was quite good.
The bathrooms have been remodeled and everything is wonderfully spacious, the only thing we weren't used to was the lack of a shower curtain which made it harder to stay warm while showering, and we ran out of cold water once- that was a surprise. There were a couple massive weddings during our stay so we weren't able to use the pool or grounds area but it didn't spoil our visit any. Room was very peaceful, lovely layout.
Our nicest surprise was in finding that there is a multi storied mall right behind the hotel with even McDonalds and Pizza Hut on the top floor. (barely a 5 min walk) There was what I would equate to a India style Walmart on the ground floor near their restrooms which was perfect for polishing off the last of my rupees. The only mar to our lovely visit was the breakfast boxes they gave us the morning we left, the 4 of us all ended up tossing it in the trash- truly deplorable. But their breakfast buffet is fantastic, our flight was just to early to enjoy it and unfortunate since it was part of our room rate. But that was the only disappointment. Just bad luck for us. I would look to stay here again if I was in Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-2SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, U.K.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed one night while in transit through Delhi. A business man's hotel. Everything expensive and hotel is way out of the centre of Delhi and surrounded by a wilderness of derelict land and little else. You have to take taxi to get to decent restaurants, shops etc.
Hotel clean and efficient with helpful staff. Bedroom large and comfortable. Great for one or two nights but, if staying for longer, look for a more central hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Very efficient and helpful staff. Large, very clean swimming pool. Hotel clean, modern, attractive. Restaurants offer good choice. Bedrooms of a decent size and very comfortable. Ideal location for International airport.
We arrived to find the hotel had no trace of our booking from agency but staff provided us with soft drinks(free of charge) in pleasant surroundings, asked us about our choice of rooms, were extremely helpful and everything was sorted out very quickly. Rooms good size, bed very comfortable, immaculate bathroom, pleasant garden view. Internet access in rooms or business centre if you haven't brought your laptop. A good choice of restaurants and cuisine. Large swimming pool, gym, spa etc. This was our second visit and we would certainly use it again. Cons - In an unattractive area, nothing much near the hotel, to get to shops etc you need to take a taxi which takes a while to get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at The Grand for 3 days while in Delhi. We were on the club level floor (at the Expedia rate) and used several of the hotel's services.

The grounds and pool are beautifilly kept, with fountains and landscaping. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful with our every request. I couldn't even push my luggage across the lobby without at least 3 staff members offering to help.

The room was plush, and the bathroom facilities were very western and modern. The rain head shower was wonderful, and we had ample closet space for our things. Also, for international travelers, the rooms have built in electric adaptors in the wall.

I would EASILY give The Grand 5 stars, and would most definately stay there again!

Room Tip: Club level is worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

As the name suggests it is Grand. However it could have been anywhere so if you are looking for something authentic and indian, this place is not it. Having said that the food was super and same goes with the service. The bedrooms are well proportioned but big let down was the shower. The water just flows through and can be annoying. The pool side is not well attended in terms of bar snacks etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safari98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is a good stay for leisure trip and family holidays. There was no coverage in the 1st floor of the hotel and in the room one fixed line not working. This never helps when you are on a business trip. though the room decor was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidd_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#39 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#72 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
#35 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#16 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
#33 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing